We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandcastles on Currumbin Beach
Nearby Hotels
Little Cove(Currumbin)(Great Value!)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Rocks Resort(Currumbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
30
29
7
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
29
7
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managersthe kitcheneach morningbbq areapenthouse apartmentlaundry facilitiesfamily holidaylocal shopssea breezepool and spa areathoroughly enjoyed our staybrianlorikeetsgrocerycomplexviewslounge
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It was a beautiful stay with break taking views. We would stay here again definitely. Our room was stylish and updated with a very homely feel. We highly recommend to stay here. The beach was literally out your back door and it had a local park close by for the kids. It had local shops very close by for your convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracylc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at sand castles. The complex is small, well maintained, and a very relaxed vibe with it. My accomadation was average-dated alittle but totally clean. I believe there is more updated accomadation available.I would return. Thank you to the owners, ye should be proud.

Room Tip: Ask for updated accommodation!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great location close to the beach and stores/amenities of the small town. It was extremely clean and linens and towels were exceptionally white. The staff (although I mostly met only security guards) were super friendly. If you're looking for luxury this is not the place, but for travelers who care more about experience, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGIFguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A pretty complex with a great pool & spa. I mean stunningly beautiful. The grounds are very welll maintained, and the place is very inviting. The management are very patient & helpful. Sand Castles is in a brilliant location, very close to the beach and across the road from the Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary. Off-road, secure parking is included.

On seeing all of this on arrival, we were super excited to be at Sand Castles. And then we entered the unit. It is dismal at best. No air-conditioning for a start which just crazy in Queensland, even in April. How this place can have 4-stars and describe itself as "boutique" but yet have a couple of decrepit ceiling fans hanging from the ceilings in beyond me. Many of the appliances appear to belong in the museum (the microwave that is dark beige and barely functional), the oven that couldn't hold its heat etc.

The kitchen was quite well equipped (new cutlery and crockery) but was let down by lousy cooking utensils and dismal pots & pans (one 2000-year old blunt knife for cutting and a pan with a wobbly handle waiting to fall off).

The beds were comfortable and the place generally clean.

One thing that I have to point out is that the fire alarm was missing from our unit (unit 12). The backing plate was attached to the wall, but the device itself was missing. Not good enough.

In summary, fine if you know what to expect. Unit 12 is definitely not of 4-star quality in anybody's wildest dreams. It's the only unit we've stayed in. Perhaps others are better?

Room Tip: Avoid unit 12. It's stuck in a time-warp from around 1985. No aircon, and the obligatory ceiling fans sound like they may fall off the ceiling. Also, fire alarm was missing. First and second floor units have sea-views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I would recommend Sand Castles. Close to beach, park, walking paths. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and surf clubs. Management are helpful and whole complex is extremely clean and well maintained. Great value, secure parking, all amenities. Close to bird sanctuary so bird visit regularly. Beach or park views. Excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merilyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews