We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views!”
Review of The Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rocks Resort
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just wanted to thank you for the amazing room and that we had a wonderful stay at the Rocks Resort. Although only one night, we packed in a few activities. The resort was stunning and just loved every bit about it. Our room amazing and on the top level. - Best views ever! we got to watch the amazing thunder storm after running home from dinner down at Vikings. funny but great fun all the same. missed the storm but got a little wet from the rain.
Thanks again for having us and we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor! overlooks pool- amazing coastal views! gorgeous breezes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenebm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    30
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

If you enjoy the Gold Coast but without the mad crowds further north, Currumbin Beach is ideal. The Rocks Resort is just across the road from the beach, but also has an awesome pool.
It seems all units have views; those lower down have bigger balconies as the building is stepped back. Take your own tennis equipment and you'll have a ball! (pun intended)
Shame there's no restaurant on-site but the surf club down the road is a great experience, and there are nice cafes along the beachfront street. Nice foyer area and safe parking. Make sure you work out which lift tower you need and park accordingly. Nice BBQ's out the back to use.

Room Tip: From ground floor you can walk out to the beach & pool without worrying about the lifts. Also bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yambagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki H, Front Office Manager at The Rocks Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to publish your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Rocks Resort. Currumbin is certainly a beautiful part of the Gold Coast and just last week was voted the cleanest beach in Australia. We hope to welcome you back to The Rocks Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We just stayed at the Rocks and it has beautiful views and despite being an old building - the rooms were comfortable and spacious.

Our only gripe was the terrible attitude of the managers there. We only had 1 and a half toilet rolls and when we asked for more - we were told there was a limit per unit. The same happened with dishwashing tablets.

Then they tried to charge us $20 to rent a tennis racquet - and 10 dollars for the balls.

Every morning we had a slip posted under the door to say we were checking out despite a 3 night stay. It was a bit like Fawlty Towers really.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oztravel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki H, Front Office Manager at The Rocks Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The Rocks Resort is a self catering apartment complex. Complementry consumables including toilet paper and dishwashing tablets are provided for the first nights stay. The tennis court is free when using own equipment. Tennis rackets and balls are available from reception for a fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I live one hours drive from this hotel, and I have stayed at the Rocks 3 times this year for extended weekends, I love this part of the Gold Coast, it is quiet away from hussle and bustle of the noisy parts of the Gold Coast, the main living rooms and kitchen (very well equipped) in all three units we stayed at were very big, the bedrooms nice and quiet for a good nights sleep.There is a great surf club which is literally in the ocean overlooking the waves and serves good food and has entertainment just a short stroll across the road. The thing I love about Currumbin is that it has regular buses (cheap) at all times to take you if you all along the length of the Gold Coast so that you can have the best of both worlds if you want to go out for dinner or to the Casino further up, or if you like the night life. Nearby about 10kms there is a beautiful short walk in National Park and also Currumbin Rock Pools where you can swim, nice drive to both through Currumbin Valley. I would like to commend The Rocks Resort, the first time we stayed there we had a complaint about the room, the management telephoned us within 10 minutes of leaving, with an apology and offering to make amends, hence we stayed two more times. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, I would be happy with any, I do prefer to stay a little higher up for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were at a function at the Vikings, so The Rocks was an ideal location. Close to restauranjts and right opposite the beach. Good pool, small gym and a barbecue area. Staff were friendly at checkin and check out.

Bus stop to "The Pines" mall is right in front of apartments - use bus # 767. The mall isn't big but good fruit shop, two big supermarkets and of course a well stocked liquor store!

Room Tip: Each apartment is a different fit out so no consistency on the look of each and all look straight ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Marie_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a great place for a break. We were in 10J, very spacious & the most importantly the bed & lounge furniture was very comfortable & classy. A bit disappointed the Points restaurant is closed. But there is a cute cafe 'The Beach Shack' next door. The view is spectacular, we will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingaNinja48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Resort and were very happy with the large apartment and the facilities. The apartment was very clean and spacious and very quiet. The TV was very large (compared to most hotels/motels) and the reception was excellent. Unfortunately the pool was out of action for maintenance but we had stayed there before and the pool area was superb at that time and no doubt will be again. The gym and hot spas were available and lovely. We did not have time to utilise the Games Room, but know that it would be a great place if we take our pre teen grandkids next time. The staff were excellent and very helpful when I couldn't get the Foxtel working. Internet is available although not complimentary. I understand the Management would like to offer complimentary wi fi and this might happen in the future.

Room Tip: The n/e corner would be ideal especially in the winter, although in the summer you might prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whizzbang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Currumbin
3.6 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.8 mi away
19th Avenue on the Beach
19th Avenue on the Beach
#1 of 2 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Sanctuary Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Currumbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
#1 of 1 in Currumbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hill Apartments
The Hill Apartments
#5 of 9 in Currumbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Resort

Property: The Rocks Resort
Address: Rocks Resort 828 Pacific Pde | PO Box 318, Currumbin, Gold Coast, Queensland 4223, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Currumbin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Currumbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rocks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rocks Hotel
The Rocks Resort Currumbin, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing