We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but unit was tired and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crystal Beach Holiday Apartments
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but unit was tired and dirty”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in unit 27 which was a 3bedroom apartment. There are no lifts in the building so had to walk up 6flights of stairs from the car park to the unit.
Whilst the location and swimming pool/spa was fantastic, the unit itself was dirty. The rubbish bin in the ensuite bathroom hadn't been emptied, the bathrooms were filthy so much so we had to go out and get cleaning products to clean them before we used them. The floors were filthy -within 5 mins of walking on them in bare feet our feet were black.
The blankets provided in the second bedroom had a really strong smell of perfume so these hadn't been washed.
We also had problems with hot water in the ensuite which the manager attempted to fix but didn't completely resolve the issue.
We did raise the cleanliness with the manager but was told he had good cleaners!
The sliding doors onto the balcony didn't lock properly which meant that our toddler kept opening the doors. The width of the balcony railings meant that our son couldn't play on the balcony for fear he would slip through them.
The kitchen was barely equipped. The cupboards were dirty and the cutlery draw had large food remnants .
A number of windows couldn't be opened.
The two stars were for the location and swimming pool if not for these I would have given it one star.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    9
    13
    14
See reviews for
47
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I am writing this to inform people out there of the standard of room that my family and I were given. In no way did it match the lovely photos that you view of the web page. We were given Unit 4 at Crystal Beach Holiday Apartments and from the time we entered it didn't match the photos. The lounge consisted of nothing more that 2 lounges - one on the same wall as the TV stand, dining table and chairs and a cheap as TV stand and TV. There was no accessories eg cushions, decorative items. The wall art was as old as the complex. The kitchen too was as old as the complex with the chipboard on the cupboards rotten, swollen from moisture and the laminate lifting. The bench top was lifting near the sink. The vanity in the ensuite was in even worse condition. And in the shower of the ensuite, hair was covering the floor waste. The walls of the apartment had scraps and really needed a coat of paint to freshen it up. The beds are made up with a top sheet and a runner only. Not one bed had a bedspread or doona cover The linen provided was towels and floor mats only - no facewashers. I have never stayed anywhere and no been provided washers. The tiled floor feel dirty under foot. There is no privacy from others units. Although the ensuite had 2 plugs in the cupboard the kitchen had no plug that fitted the large sink. And to top it all off - there is a noise policy however nothing was done about the group of people that were somewhere on the above floor and continued to party well after midnight making excessive noise and waking us several times on Saturday night. We were that disgusted, we only stayed the one night of the two we paid for.
I believe what was given to us would not make even two star rating. I now feel that if we were given that disgraceful apartment because the booking came thru Wotif - I will rethink before I ever book at Wotif again. Reception is supposed to be opened till 5pm however on the Saturday I was messaged at 2pm about locating the keys for the apartment.

Room Tip: Never ask for Unit 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MAT052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tugun hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I came across this property by accident and could not be any happier.
Crystal Beach Apartments is and will be our new destination when my family travel to Queensland.
We booked in and stayed in an ocean front apartment right on the beach at ground floor. It was perfect for my family, walk out access to the pool and spa and literally a stones throw to the beach, the beach is not patrolled directly out the front but it is only a short walk either way along the beach.
The property has a pool and a spa which are well looked after and perfect for families not wanting to take on the surf.
Our apartment was a 2 bedroom, it was clean and well looked after, it was open and airy with perfect views from inside and out on the verandah overlooking the beach and surf (so relaxing).
There is everything included inside the apartment from stove, oven, dishwasher flat screen tv (foxtel included) and ceiling fans in every room. Washing machine and dryer and 2 bathrooms plus wifi is available at a very reasonable cost.
Security underground carparking is available.
Crystal Beach is only a 5 min drive from Coolangatta Airport but you would not know as Aircraft noise is very minimal. Also once you get onto the motorway the theme parks are only a 30min drive which is so handy, Surfers paradise is 15min up the road which is nice as its easy to visit.
There is a local shop next door which do wonderful takeaway foods and sell the basic groceries if you need last minute supplies. Also there are many more shops and cafes located a nice walk in Tugun main street.
The managers of the property are Eva and Greg, let me say they are genuine down to earth people that are very approachable easy to talk to and no problem you have is too hard to rectify.
We booked our stay directly through Crystal Beach which worked out way cheaper than booking though a 3rd party company, Many of the 3rd party companies have alot of hidden fees and costs (no linen supplied) and with the outside companies they only deal with private Apartments located in the Crystal Beach Property, where the privately managed apartments (3rd party managed) the furnishings are not the same standard and quality as the other property managed apartments.
Overall if you have a family and looking for an excellent family apartment located right on the beach close to everything with out the hassle of the busy surfers ratrace, Don,t look past Crystal Beach Apartments @ Tugun.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the ground floor are excellent for families with kids to access the pool with out h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mayergeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We love staying here.. Away from noisy, too much tourist's surfers paradise, we feel peace in here.
Plus close to Goldcoast airport, it is convenient for family travel.
Staff was kind.
Beach in in front of here was very quiet and nice.
We all enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danielMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

booked a ocean view apartment received a ground floor back corner apartment no 4 would have been worst apartment in block! accommodation itself was ok but if you enjoy noise until late night and breathing in someone elses smoke don't come here! wont be back myself! gazza!

Room Tip: pick a room high up and close to ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryRigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We can highly recommend this resort. We have just returned home from a fantastic week at this establishment. The managers were great and the 3 bedroom apartment was clean and very well presented. The view from the apartment was awesome. The closeness of the beach was a hit with the children as well as the pool and spa. Highly recommended for a family holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at Crystal Beach last week and we have nothing to complain about.Greg and Eva went out of their way to be helpful.Unit was nice and clean.Pool and barbeque area is well maintained and clean.Great views of the ocean from unit.
We will be staying here again.Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tugun
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Resort
Oceanside Resort
#2 of 4 in Bilinga
38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gold Coast Airport Motel
Gold Coast Airport Motel
#9 of 12 in Coolangatta
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Riviera Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandbox Beachfront Apartments
0.3 mi away
Bilinga Beach Motel
Bilinga Beach Motel
#3 of 4 in Bilinga
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Costa Motel
La Costa Motel
#1 of 4 in Bilinga
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Beach Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Beach Holiday Apartments

Property: Crystal Beach Holiday Apartments
Address: Crystal Beach 329 Golden Four Dr, Tugun, Gold Coast, Queensland 4224, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Tugun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Tugun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Beach Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Crystal Beach Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Beach Holiday Apartments Australia/Tugun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing