We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mermaid Waters
Certificate of Excellence
western australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Quality Hotels always need to be approached with caution. Put simply, the brand management is a bit pear-shaped and quite often Quality = crappy & dated (I've been caught before!). This isn't the case for the Quality @ Mermaid Waters and hopefully it is setting the benchmark for other Quality Hotels to follow.

We booked the hotel over the web for a special rate. If we hadn't gotten a special rate I must admit that we probably wouldn't have bothered staying. Ours was only a one night stay and was designed to energise us up for a long drive to Noosa after 12 or so hours flying.

From the outside the place looked a bit dubious. On the inside it has been fully refurbished and really does look the 4 star business.

We stayed in a newly refurbished club room with a superb king sized bed. The room, bathroom and overall facilities have been renovated to a high standard. The pool, although not renovated at the time of our stay, could do with some love, but was quite big for a hotel of this class.

Our room came complete with a voucher for the restauraunt and a complimentary drink. Unlike many hotels, the restauraunt/gaming lounge is all pretty new and really delivered the goods. Well priced and tasty food. Just what we needed.

All in all, we enjoyed our short stint at this hotel. It is a hard one to summarise though. Being in Mermaid waters it is still a bit of a hike from Surfers so probably wouldn't be ideal for the holidaying traveller. Perhaps best suited to the business market or people like us who just needed a darn fine bed after a hard day in the air.

Would we go back? Yes.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank foxy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    92
    30
    14
    5
See reviews for
45
64
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, SA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We booked the Quality Inn Mermaid Waters over the internet and arrived early around 9.30am on our check-in day.

There were several signs in the reception area advising check-in time was 2pm but I thought I'd take my chances. The front desk girl was friendly and cheerful and checked us in no problems. We were given a printed list of information regarding opening hours of hotel and nearby facilities as it was Good Friday which I thought was very thoughtful, as well as a voucher for a free drink each and $3 gaming coupon for the pokies.

The room was a good size, as was the bathroom, all clean with neat modern fixtures and fittings. The bed was really comfortable with nice linen.

The hotel is located out of the Surfers Paradise area tucked back amongst the suburbs which suited us fine as a visit to Surfers revealed it to be infested with teenage ferals. The beach is only a short drive away. Another plus is the ample free secure carparking accessed by using the room card. We didn't use the pool area but it looked pleasant.

The only detracting comment we would offer is that the housekeeping staff are quite loud in the mornings, yelling between rooms which would disturb you if you were trying to enjoy a holiday sleep-in but otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely visit again.

  • Liked — Value, nice room, comfy bed
  • Disliked — The Lone Star tavern attached was fairly pricey but seems par for the course at the GC
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2008

It was clean. It was affordable and it was near a lot of the sights that I wanted to see. No problems and the staff seemed friendly and helpful.
I also met the love of my life in the lobby, so maybe I'm partial.

Great place to be picked up for tours. It seems like it's a base pickup spot for treks into the rainforest, etc.

Stayed August 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2008

We stayed at this Hotel as it was the closest we could get to Draculas.

When we went to our room it smelt of cigarette smoke so we immediately went back to reception to advise them.

I told them I could not sleep in a room that smelt of smoke so they upgraded us to the Spa room. This is a much better room and it was clean and fresh.

The coffee we bought it the restaurant was terrible so they need to fix this and offer better coffee.

Other than that the hotel was quiet and clean

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank rosenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2007

Extensive renovation work being carried out. More of a building site rather than a quiet hotel. We opted not to stay here when we saw the extent of the building work with its accompanying dust and noise.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna-MariaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2006

Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters is located in a quiet neighbourhood. There are a couple of neighbourhood shops that sells fruits, groceries and eateries. However, they appear to close around 6-7pm.

It is near to Pacific Fair (approx 5mins by transport or 15mins walk). There are only 2 surfside buses, but do take note of their time table as it is around 30mins intervals.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean.

The down side of this hotel is that there is pretty nothing much else to do if you are not going for any day tours. It is quite far away from the town area of surfers paradise and there are no eateries or convenience stores available if you are hungry at night. Besides, there are not much hotel amenities other than the pool.

Overall, it is good if you want peace and relaxation.

  • Liked — Peace and solitude
  • Disliked — Lacking in amenities
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Super4bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2006

We first entered this hotel through a corridor that was not yet fully renovated so we were prepared for the worst.

But when we saw our room, we were pleasantly surprised. It was all fully renovated, clean with brand-new facilities. The TV and bed were big. Toilet and bathroom were clean. We could ask for nothing more from a 3+ star hotel. In fact, the room rivalled some 4-star hotels I've stayed in.

The only downside was the distance from the nearest shopping centre. Luckily we drove so transport was no problem. The hotel had a pub and sometimes there were some drunk people who staggered out, so we had to watch out when driving past. However, the car park was huge so we could easily park far away from the pub.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Waters
1.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,787 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,522 reviews
3.3 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,118 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters

Property: Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Address: Sunshine Boulevard | Corner Markeri Street, Mermaid Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Mermaid Waters Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Waters
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mermaid Waters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters is a 4 star hotel located just 5kms from the surfing beaches of Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise. With the clean golden sands of local beaches, and pockets of lush green parkland, Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters is ideally located. The hotel offers accommodation and provides guests with access to a diverse range of hotel facilities including restaurant, wagering facilities, sports bar and gaming lounge, conference spaces, pool and BBQ area. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service for all in-house guests to Pacific Fair, Broadbeach, Surfers Paradise and Robina Town Centre eight times daily along with free WIFI facilities & secure parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing