We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mermaid Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Currimundi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a nice quiet night on the Gold Coast away from surfers, But this is another one of those hotels which thrive on Confrence/Event hosting & they seem to take priority.
Stayed on a Friday night & there was a work event on & a family reunion. Check in took about 15mins due to the new staff member having to locate the booking. We got put in one of those adjoining rooms with a paper thin door between us. There was a older couple next door & every time they spoke or made any noise it would echo into our room. We requested a change of room with no luck due to the place being full. The meal at the steakhouse was great but that's where it ended. We got back to our room at 10pm & could still hear noise/talking from next door, than at 12am we start getting knocks on the door from children staying for the Family reunion as a prank, it happened twice than we rang reception to complain. They said they would investigate. 2am arrives and the tavern next door closes & the alcohol fueled people return to there rooms & start yelling & making noise outside our room. Again called reception & it was fine for 15mins. After that they where out & about again making noise. 3am we call reception again to complain to pretty much be told that we are one guest & they are apart of a larger group, meaning they are more important.
The king bed was nice, the room tired & old. The shower didn't drain at all.
We ended up checking out at 7am

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback - we are sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties and frustration during your recent stay at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters. This is certainly not the standard we pride ourselves on. We have raised your concerns with our Management and Front Office team members for review and action and hope that you consider staying with us again in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    91
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
43
64
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The room was spacious and we enjoyed a nice dinner in the steak-house downstairs.

We saw a nice pool but did not have an opportunity to use it. There was an hours free wifi in your room and also available in the foyer.

We would definitely stay here again when in the Gold Coast as this was an excellent location.

Room Tip: How can one improve on perfection? We could not have asked or expected anything else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UniquePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your kind feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters. Your personal comments are much appreciated, and we will be sure to pass your praise onto the team at Mermaid Waters.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Had a one night stay, to echo others' comments: friendly and informative check-in, secure parking is appreciated, rooms are perfectly suitable. I thought everything about the room was great. I had dinner at the steakhouse next door and asked for some Tabasco sauce - to be told it was an extra $1.50 "unless you only want a few drops". What else am I going to do, bathe in it? The next morning I was the only guest having breakfast so I had to order direct with the chef. George made me an amazing breakfast including a plate piled high of beautiful fresh fruit. So in short: the hotel is great, I will be coming here again. Maybe eat elsewhere in the evening next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelSkarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for choosing to stay at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters, and we value your personal comments. It is great to see that your experience with us was positive overall, and we hope that you choose to stay with us again in the near future. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Had driven for 9 hours. Tired. Checkin was spot on. Receptionist very helpful. Secure parking a real bonus. Rooms clean, modern, well appointed and large.
All mod cons and had obviuosly been renovated not so long ago.
Cable TV, complimentary 1 hours wfifi.
We ate next door at the Lone Star. It was great to be able to walk there.
Bed and pillows were spot on fir a terrific nights sleep.
Can recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurielMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters. We appreciate your kind comments and are happy that you had a positive experience with us overall. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

While adequate, this hotel is NOT a four star establishment - possibly 2 or 3 at best.

We had to request a change of rooms because the standing shower drain was clogged, causing water to overflow over the low threshold into the main bathroom area (where there was fortunately a second drain). The manager could not get a repair until the next morning, so he cheerfully agreed to move us, but without any compensating gestures.

The furnishings are dated and mid-range, the towels and linens are coarse, and simple additional items (like requesting extra towels) costs extra.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golemB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear reviewer, we thank you for your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters. We are sorry to see that your experience with us was not entirely positive. Regarding the issues you had with your room and in particular the shower, we will review your comments internally for continued improvement, and to ensure that your experience is not repeated with future guests. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crookham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed here for one night during a medical repatriation of a patient back to the UK.
I arrived late (23.00) but was still given a friendly welcome, and getting food from the room menu was no problem.
I didn't get a chance to use the facilities as I was just passing through very quickly, but there was a swimming pool, BBQ area and a pleasing looking bar next door.
Big thanks the Andy who shuttled me from the hotel to the Hospital next morning, and helped me out when I couldn't get cash out of the ATM machine.
If you stay here, head out across the road towards the small shopping arcade and check out the shops. There is a
If I come back to the Gold Coast for a longer visit, I will def be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonHausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for providing us with your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters. We appreciate your kind comments, and will be sure to pass these on to the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay on the Gold Coast. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just stayed one night but must say very friendly staff clean room and good steak at the restaurant / tavern .Very close to the pacific fair shopping centre and surfers paradise/ cavel mall .There is a bottleshop on site pool and safe parking.would stay again .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurt r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters. We are happy to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Waters
1.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,624 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,479 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,651 reviews
3.3 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters

Property: Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Address: Sunshine Boulevard | Corner Markeri Street, Mermaid Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Mermaid Waters Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Waters
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mermaid Waters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters is a 4 star hotel located just 5kms from the surfing beaches of Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise. With the clean golden sands of local beaches, and pockets of lush green parkland, Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters is ideally located. The hotel offers accommodation and provides guests with access to a diverse range of hotel facilities including restaurant, wagering facilities, sports bar and gaming lounge, conference spaces, pool and BBQ area. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service for all in-house guests to Pacific Fair, Broadbeach, Surfers Paradise and Robina Town Centre eight times daily along with free WIFI facilities & secure parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing