We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great.”
Review of La Porte Verte

La Porte Verte
Ranked #21 of 118 Restaurants in Robina
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nicely decorated in a French bistro theme, but we went on a quiet night, so no real atmosphere.
Heart set on a dish that was on the menu but not available. Still the food we had was fine, but not memorable. We last visited 10 years ago in Southport. Same owner, so he has survived the peaks and troughs of the Gold Coast so he must be doing something right. Would we go back again? Yes we would, but they wouldn't be our first choice if we were limited on budget or time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardcc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our Favourite French Restaurant on the Gold Coast”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a beautiful restaurant if you are seeking French cuisine. Reasonable prices and go for the 4 course meal deal mid weed its fantastic
Paul, Narelle & Oscar

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HoteliersGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Dinner for two on a very quiet night. We were the only two........ But, we were treated fantastically with great service and enjoyed an exceptional meal. Very, very French. This was our second visit in 18 months and the Chef remembered us from our last visit and even told us where we sat! He's a great guy and had a lovely chat after dinner. But down to business. We were lucky enough to be dining on a night where the four course $60 special was available. We both ordered the pate as entree. Unusual to order the same entree however the pate is divine and very generous. Next up was the Chicken Parisienne for her and the Steak Aux Poivre, medium rare, for myself. Excellent! Dessert was Profiteroles and Creme Brûlée and coffee.

Verdict for the second visit........just wonderful, I shall return!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CC_Diners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bit of a hidden gem. Not the cheapest but excellent and authentic French restaurant. Ate there midweek so was quiet, only 3 tables occupied. Service was friendly and prompt, wine list was adequate but the clincher was the food. We couldn't remember the last time we had escargot and they were as we remembered. Heaps of garlic butter and French bread to mop up with. Lapin was great, fish was flathead and it was perfect. Crepe Suzette, another wonderful trip down memory lane. The décor is that of a simple French restaurant but very well done. Ditto the menu. Didn't know about BYO so a bonus for next time. Well worth a visit if you like authentic French cuisine and/or have spent time in France.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank peter_a60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tres Bon, cuisine exceptionnelle”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

First, the prices are high, but the quality, taste and presentation is what you expect for the price. Monsieur Raymond is an artist, a fine chef and an entertaining patron with a good sense of humour. This is the essence of the experience of dining at La Porte Verte.
He is very French, very meticulous, but very easily deals with the Australian sense of humour - which makes this a French restaurant which has all the qualities you are looking for, but with a humility, and sense of comfort in the surroundings.
The food is truly excellent. We had the Canard aux Cerises (Duck with Cherries) and the Poulet Parisienne (Chicken, stuffed with Salmon and Asparagus) - both of which were excellent. Our entree was a special for the night, Moreton Bay Bugs in a Beurre Blanc sauce. It was fabulous.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Crawfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Porte Verte also viewed

 
Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 
Carrara, Gold Coast
 

Been to La Porte Verte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing