We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfsong Villa Resort
Nearby Hotels
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
US$134
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sea View Hotel(Road Town)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
276
18
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
276
18
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boardstrellis baychef davidvirgin gordabeach houseour honeymoonclose to the airportprivate beachvery special placerental carsurf songhonor barbeef island airportmeal planthe entire staffpersonalized servicebedroom and bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Our second stay at Surfsong in the same year - and even better this time. We took the Seashell Villa, where the bedroom is about 5 meters from the sea. That soundtrack is extreeeemely conducive to sleep. We stayed in 2nd week of December, intentionally to get away from the Christmas madness in Dallas. Was that ever a good call!

Cate, Simon, and Marina will do anything to make your stay better - they know everything about everything in the BVI (and USVI). One day our Plan A fell through, Plan B, even Plan C - so Cate whipped up a Plan D - better than any of our three plans... a half-day motorboating through the BVIs with a Captain. That turned into lunch/beer on Cooper Island, snorkeling just off Salt Island (HMS Rhone site), snorkeling at the Indians just off Norman Island, a quick stop at Sandy Spit (where all the Corona ads were filmed), then drinks at Foxy's on Jost van Dyke. Not bad for a Plan D...

You need a rental car - it's delivered. You want to go hiking - they can tell you where. You want groceries - they'll shop and deliver. You want to visit Virgin Gorda? They know everybody over there as well.

Chef Suzanne served us dinner in our room three nights. Her ability to blend flavors and textures is amazing. Every night I had to ask, "How did you do this?"

Finally - what can I say about Dougie? He provides transportation for Surfsong's guests. One trip into Road Town we took the scenic route over the ridge (highest points in the BVI), stopping frequently for photos and getting lots of island wisdom. At some point I realized that Dougie is in fact running Tortola from his car. AA lost one of our bags and Dougie made it his personal mission to find it. You need anything done, he knows how.

On top of all that, the BVIs are insanely gorgeous. Boating across from Jost van Dyke back to Tortola and you are surrounded by about 6 other islands. Just incredible!

Looking back - this was the perfect vacation. The only thing that went wrong is that it ended. We've already booked for next year...

Room Tip: All the villas are fantastic - you can choose on number of bedrooms you need. But we'll always be in Seashell
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobLTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Thanks so much for such a long and entertaining review! We always appreciate the mention of activities as many guests shape their trips accordingly. It is the greatest gift of our work to meet new friends and welcome you back to your “home away from home”. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Our group wanted a place to celebrate a 50th birthday, and after much searching, decided on Surfsong....totally thrilled with our choice...definitely would return! The property is idyllic...it truly took our breath away everyday. Everything from our pre-trip communications with the staff through their suggestions/arrangements during our stay was fabulous. Thanks Cate, Martina, Simon, and Dougie for your hospitality...until we see you again...Giselle, Duane, Judy, and Sherri

Room Tip: Seascape villa was at the end of the property and therefore very private...also had a great patio for total outdoor living
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJohn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

We love a celebration! Thanks for choosing Surfsong for such a special occasion – we are always thrilled to hear that guests enjoy our special place. Thank you for taking the time to write a review – we enjoyed meeting you and helping with your activities during your trip to the beautiful BVI. Happy Holidays!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here at the end of a two week sailing trip. Surfsong was a great location for the airport (EIS), and really was a great "last night". We elected to have a private dinner (prepared by Suzanne) and it was fantastic! All the staff were great - from checkin to checkout. Massages were great given the number of muscle knots from the sailing (and the massage location is superb!). All in all an awesome place to stay - thoroughly recommended - you feel really spoilt!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Our_Man_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Surfsong. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back….and spoil you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Our family of three (two adults and one toddler) stayed here for a glorious ten days at the end of October/beginning of November 2011. The villa was awesome (we stayed in Surfside), the staff was helpful and pleasant and the ocean was calm and warm. It's a lovely, intimate, quiet place where you are made to feel special. It's so cozy and comfortable that it's like staying with close friends.This was our second visit to Surfsong (we got married there in 2007) and it was even better than the first for one simple reason: the food.

On this trip, we opted for the five night meal package, supplemented by a few groceries and a couple of restaurant meals. The food was nothing short of phenomenal. Suzanne, the chef, met with us early in the visit and custom designed a menu for our whole stay. We got to pick from a wide variety of choices and she tailored everything to fit our needs. My wife is a vegetarian and I am not so when I had fish or steak, she was having tofu or shiitake. Meat or no meat, it was delicious. We had all kinds of different cuisines: Thai, West Indian, Italian, Steakhouse and all of it was amazing. Suzanne is a fantastic cook and I can't recommend her food highly enough. These were some of the best meals we've ever had. Our little joke is that she has ruined regular food for us now and pretty much every meal we've had since getting back has included the phrase "Yeah, this is pretty good....but it's not Suzanne good!"

If you are on the fence about going, just do it. Surfsong is a wonderfully laid back resort and the people are fantastic. And definitely get the food....you won't regret it!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

What a joy it was for all of us at Surfsong to meet your daughter – it is so lovely that she has seen where you were married and we so often reflect on your beautiful wedding day. We are thrilled to have Chef Suzanne with us – thank you very much for sharing your experience. I am now using “…it’s Suzanne good” as a way to describe delicious meals! Many thanks also for your comments about our dedicated staff. They truly want everyone to have their ideal vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The most fabulous, comfortable and hidden treasure in Tortola. We were there from 9-14 to
9-18-2011, and truly didn't want to leave. After arriving from a late flight, arrived to dinner including a bottle of wine. The A/C and ceiling fans had been turned on to make our home away completely comfortable. The staff is most concerned with your comfort and privacy and goes above and beyond to make your stay the BEST! Small private beach villas with lots of room, comfortable beds, top housekeeping and management that checks in with you to ensure you have everything you need. We are smitten with SurfSong! Definitely will bring the family back.

Room Tip: All of the villas are superior -equipped and comfortable. This is our 5th time staying here- and we are always pleased with the accommodations. Email the manager and let her know what you are looking for - family- couples- romance. She will suggest the perfect villa.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kristinekraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Surfsong! Thank you for noting that we have different designs of our villas and while each is beautiful they do have different features – we are always happy to help find the perfect fit and are absolutely thrilled that you have enjoyed your stays at Surfsong. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews