We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect blend of luxury and natural beauty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchupureo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Joya del Mar Hotel y Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Buchupureo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at La Joya del Mar and enjoyed the bucolic scenery, super comfortable villas, and exquisite meals. The wonderful family who runs the place has a genuine passion for where they live and what they do. This means you are free to surf the great break out front, hike, explore the coast, or laze about, while knowing that the firewood is ready, the meal will be fantastic, and the pisco will flow. I look forward to returning soon, it was well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Follybeachguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Always in search of a home away from home while traveling, this place redefined my expectations. I went and I came back, and I can't wait to go back again, and again... A friend told me about La Joya Del Mar a few years ago. I feel honored to have gotten to experience the hospitality and high end service it provides. Each private abode offers breathtaking views and absolutely comfortable accommodations. They even rolled out a BBQ upon request! I could go on an on, but in short.. look no further, stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Chris (owner/manager), his family, and staff are the best. They go out of their way to make a stay at La Joya del Mar an incredible experience. The rooms/villas, food, drinks, and views are all great. If you are a surfer, you will likely get some fantastic waves nearby, and Chris will hook you up with all the info you need. If you are not a surfer, you will still love the beautiful beaches, horseback/hiking trails, and wine country a short distance away. The summer (Dec-March) brings long, sunny, warm days, and, during the winter (July-Sept), you can take day trips to world class skiing and hot springs.This place has it all. Go here now!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suneilthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at La Joya Del Mar multiple times, and now try to visit once a year. I stumbled upon it with friends, and we couldn't believe this oasis of comfort and hospitality could exist in an otherwise rustic community in Southern Chile. Of course the bucolic surroundings are part of the charm of La Joya Del Mar. This isn't a corporate, package-vacation type of hotel. Instead, you feel like you're staying at the dream estate of classy yet down-to-earth friends. Enjoy wine in front of the fire, eat gourmet meals, and explore the beaches nearby. The views are breath-taking from each villa. The staff goes out of their way to make your visit perfect, even lighting fires in your room each night while you dine. It's rare to find places like this where you can truly relax and enjoy a vacation away from the masses - I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We heard about this place after reading a review about this property in The Lonely Planet. The long road to La Joya del Mar is newly paved and makes the drive enjoyable and the vista is beautiful. We were immediately greeted by a very friendly bilingual couple from California who went out of their way to make sure we were happy and comfortable through out our stay. Our villa was perched up on the top of the property and offered a beautiful view of the beach below, above was a beautiful woodsy area. The room decor has a simple, clean and organic feel. The grounds are well groomed and abundant with beautiful flowers and native trees. The restaurant is clean and open with natural architecture and has a nice outside patio to view the property with an ocean view. Food was scrumptious, cocktails were tasty and we approved of the extensive wine list available. The staff is friendly. The beach is just a short walk away. It was sparsely populated with locals and had a friendly vibe. But be sure to slather on your sunblock, as I got scorched in 30 minutes! Don't forget to enjoy the infinity pool and hot tub, as well. Servers will bring you cocktails of your choice. We enjoyed original hand crafted cocktails. We are so glad we found this hidden gem!! We highly recommend making La Joya del Mar a destination on your list! It will be well worth your time and a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: There are larger and smaller rooms. Make sure to get a description of each!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed in La Joya del Mar for one night while traveling from Santiago de Chile to Temuco. The drive from Ruta 5 to the boutique hotel took 30 - 50 minutes - quite problematic if you're in a hurry or jet-lagged after a long flight and just want to get to your comfortable bed, but great if you have time to look out the window.
When we arrived we met the nice staff who showed us to our room. I would like to mention that I've never stayed in such dirty-floored room - our feet were gray after walking a few minutes barefoot. Also the water in the faucets and shower was salt water so you couldn't wash your face or use it for brushing your teeth. They give you a jerrican of mineral water in the morning.
Apart from the salt water and the dust the hotel was amazing: the staff was nice, the view to the ocean was beautiful, the food was great, the architecture and restaurant and room design was amazing, and if there would have been any problems with our reservation I'm sure there would have been no problem to solve them because the manager/owner was a nice man from California who spoke both Spanish and English.
Extremely recommended for those of you who like the outdoors.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the ocean (though I think it's the only option) and a clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 404AAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

La Joya Del Mar in Buchupureo is in an area less traveled, but it isn't hard to get to, and it's well worth going. The property consists of three villas and a restaurant above the Buchupureo beach. What a lovely and peaceful setting! The food is good and plentiful. Our two-bedroom villa was perched above the ocean and offered great views of the sea. One does have to cross a not-very-busy road to get to the ocean, but that was no problem. If you want to get away from the bustle of areas like Valparaiso and Vina Del Mar, this is the place for you. There is a beautiful, crescent bay - empty in March except for a few fishermen, the man with an ox team that pulls the boat out of the ocean, and a surfer or two.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lintb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buchupureo
0.6 mi away
Los Maquis Hotel
Los Maquis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buchupureo
37 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ruka Antu Ecolodge
Ruka Antu Ecolodge
#1 of 1 in Cobquecura
6 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Sirena
Hotel Punta Sirena
#1 of 5 in Curanipe
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Loberia B&B
La Loberia B&B
#1 of 2 in Cobquecura
16 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parque las Nalkas
Parque las Nalkas
#2 of 4 in Buchupureo
16 reviews
21.1 mi away
Lodge Casa Vieja
Lodge Casa Vieja
#4 of 5 in Curanipe
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Joya del Mar Hotel y Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joya del Mar Hotel y Restaurant

Address: Camino Buchupureo, KM 8.5, Buchupureo Region 8, Chile
Region: Chile > Biobio Region > Buchupureo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Buchupureo
Price Range: £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Joya del Mar is a family owned and operated boutique hotel and restaurant. We cater to an exclusive number of guests, ensuring quality, care and personalized service. La Joya del Mar en Buchupureo offers a bit of everything: relaxation and tranquility on the quiet Central Coast of Chile, a bit of excitement for the athlete, and a rich culture of warm and friendly people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing