We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Struer Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Struer Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Struer
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have stayed at Struer Grand Hotel twice and like the hotel and the restaurant.
There are nice people, good service, thinks are well organised, the rooms are right size, clean and well furnishings.
You’re a in the in the middle of a small Danish town very close the furnishings and the nice nature.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Finn_Landgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel was chosen for us by taberhols.co.uk with whom we were very pleased. Struer did not have much going on but it was the Home of B&O and we were going for their factory tour which lasted the best part of 3 hours and was completely free.They only do 2 per year and it was very interesting. We were in a renovated room, were extremely comfortable and found the staff helpful when I wanted a hot drink at night.
The restaurant was good for breakfast and fine for an evening meal which we did a we had arrived quite late after a long drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 108Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a pleasant older hotel in downtown Struer. Some rooms (not all) have been recently renovated. The lowest-priced rooms have not been renovated and have older beds in them.

The hotel has a very nice restaurant and bar. Breakfast is satisfactory - no hot buffet, though.

Internet is very fast (with huge bandwidth) and free. Only limited parking is available in the municipal lot behind the hotel, investigate this if you plan to stay in the hotel during weekedays.

The bars and discos in the neighborhood generate a lot of noise that continues until well past 2:00 AM in the morning, if you plan to sleep with the window open, let the front desk staff know this and ask them to do their best to get you a room that faces away from the party district.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stay here for business reasons but if I was looking for a family hotel or somewhere to stay if touring the area I would definitely recommend it. The hotel rooms are very clean if a little basic in their facilities. Free wifi throughout the hotel - very useful. The restaurant is comfortable and the food excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the walking street or away from the road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDReading12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel when visiting Bang and Olufsen. It is only a 15 minute walk to their offices from the hotel.

The rooms are basic. Nothing fancy but fine for a business hotel. Free WiFi throughout the hotel.

breakfast was fine. good orange juice, not nasty concentrate. had dinner in the restaurant one evening. The menu didnt have too many options but the food was very good.

will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

It is a very simple hotel, very clean, typical from what you can find in Nordic countries. They have a very good breakfast and at night it is very pleasant to have a walk near the fjord. Employees are very attentive and very nice. Wi-Fi is free which and price very reasonable. The funny stuff is that as they are very closed from Bang and Olufsen factory, all TV are from B&O :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

During our two week tour of Denmark we wanted to visit the Limfjorden area and found the Grand Hotel Struer to be one of the few options to stay in this area. The hotel is probably 10 years old (summer 2011), very basic but functionable. The front desk staff was very helpful suggesting walks in town and restaurants. We found the town to be rather depressing, especially since everything closes up after 5 PM on the main pedestrian street. The most interesting part of the town (to us) was the town cemetery located next to the main church. It was one of the most beautiful cemeteries I have ever seen, with each plot being a mini-garden with individual landscape designs worthy of a landscaping competition. Truly an oasis of serenity; not to be missed.

The main downside of the Grand Hotel Struer is the lack of screens on the windows. Since there are mosquitoes and lots of insects in this region (lakes and water everywhere) it becomes a problem at night. There is no AC in the hotel which would normally not be a problem, even in summer, IF you could leave the windows open at night which is not possible with the mosquitoes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Struer
10 mi away
Tambohus Kro
Tambohus Kro
#1 of 1 in Tambohuse
73 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Schaumburg
Hotel Schaumburg
#3 of 6 in Holstebro
70 reviews
3.9 mi away
Humlum Fiskerleje & Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Humlum Kro
#5 of 10 in Struer
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Struer Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Struer Grand Hotel

Address: Oestergade 24 | Parking at Smedegade 2, Struer 7600, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > West Jutland > Struer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Struer
Price Range: £116 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Struer Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Struer is located in the City center of Struer only 1 minute walk from the Marina. The Hotel is located only 10 minutes drive from Holstebro and 20 minutes from Lemvig and Vinderup.The hotel offers a nice restaurant Schous Brasserie & Bar as well as banquet and konference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Struer Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing