We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City life escape”
Review of Ditholo Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ditholo Game Lodge
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Beautiful african bush escape. Took my husband there for a weekend getaway for his birthday.
Its right in the middle of the bush, the lodge is quite and small, so every guest gets special attention. The rooms are unique huts that are beautifully decorated. We saw some giraffes on our 2nd day while we were chilling by the ppol having drinks from the bar. our lunch was served on a cute lil table ouside our room. Food was delicious and the chef came to our table everytime to ask how our meal was. the staff members are so friendly and welcoming. The game drive was fun and informative, we stopped in the middle of the bush and had dinks while enjoying a beautiful sunset, so romantic. Just need an off road car to get to the lodge because you'll be travelling on a bumpy gravel road for about 8-10kms before you reach the lodge but overall the experience was amazing. Will def go back with a few friends and family next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabatho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Mabatho,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is with great pleasure that we can pass such positive reviews onto all staff in our morning meetings.

We look forward to seeing you and your friends back at Ditholo Lodge for another relaxing “City life escape”…

Warmest regards,
Staff and Management at Ditholo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked at Ditholo for our Anniversary getaway. We arrived at the gate on Friday 16 August. What a great way to be received, we felt welcome from the start and got the same treatment at reception and the whole weekend through from all the staff. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and perfect. The outlook deck is devIne overlooking the hippo pond, beautifull sunsets and sunrises. The restauran, swimming pool and bar area just added to this great experience. We will definately visit Ditholo again and will take the kids with next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madelaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditholo L, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Madelaine

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is reviews like your that remind us that we are continuing on the right path. We pride ourselves in providing a great service to all our customers. We look forward to seeing you and your kids soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management at Ditholo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Room/Chalet was clean but this lodge is definitaly not more than a 3*. Food was inclusive in our price and of poor standard- either raw or under cooked. No service at the bar in the evening. Beautiful setting but little wildlife and game vechiles to small to accommodate all guests. Will not go again.

Room Tip: None- go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceangypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditholo L, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review of your stay way back in April 2012. We are sorry that you had a mediocre experience at Ditholo but it should be noted that we took over the property shortly after your stay. I am more than sure that you will be pleasantly surprised by the changes and would love to have the opportunity to win you back under our newly managed and successful property.

I am sure you can see by all the positive reviews that things have certainly changed and this is a definite case of "chalk and cheese".

Welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management at Ditholo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

And that coming from an inveterate traveller, who's been treated royally at hotels, bush lodges and guest houses around the country for years, should tell you something. We Crash Test Mummies know great things when we see them! Thanks so much Yolande and GP. I hope to be back in the not too distant future...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrashTestMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditholo L, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Melanie,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We aim to please and are always overjoyed when that arrow hits the mark.

Warmest regards,

Yolande, GP and the Ditholo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and i decided to get away for a weekend and we came across Ditholo Lodge on the internet. We were not sure at all what to expect as we are not really the travelling Wilbury's type. Our vacations are usually South coast Dec.holidays. I have always wanted to go to a lodge in the bush and experience a game drive. So we decided as our children are grown up now it was time out for us. On arrival at Ditholo, it was WOW ! Yolande welcomed us with a welcome drink, checked us in, explained what there is to do etc. Then we went to the Chalet and again WOW ! 5 star !! Clean, beautiful and so welcoming. We started walking around to familiarise ourselves with the surroundings. We were then met by GP who was so friendly and we ordered our drinks and sat on the deck. The weekend was just perfect. Our game drive was brilliant at 7am on Sunday morning. What a way to end our weekend.
Everyone was so friendly. The chef outdone himself with the food. It was top quality. All the staff were amazing even the gate security guard left us with a smile. Awesome place. When we left it felt as though we were leaving family behind. Hats off to all at DITHOLO LODGE. Outstanding hosts , Yolande and GP !
Regards Paul and Carol De Koning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroldek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditholo L, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Paul and Carol,

Once again we are humbled by such a wonderful review. We hope to see you both back at Ditholo soon.

Warmest regards,

Yolande, Gp and the Staff at Ditholo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

After over loaded and busy year, we finally decided to get away from our busy city lives. We usually saved up all year to go to the Kruger Park and other more famous destinations; however most of those lodges are well beyond the average South Africans’ means….
Upon arrival at Ditholo, we were welcomed personally by the general manager, who was available all throughout our stay to make our long weekend an enjoyable and pleasurable experience. The lodge itself is only about 16 rooms and lends itself to a truly tranquil and relaxing experience. We enjoyed the game drive and firelight Boma dinner and the walking trails. The lodge has a wonderful bar area with a gorgeous 4 sided fire place. The breakfast was wonderful and the environment lends itself to complete relaxation, I actually picked up a book and read it, which is something I haven’t done in many years. Overall a hidden gem, if you are looking for “Posh” and overpriced game lodges, Ditholo may not be for you….. but if you are looking for a comfortable, quiet and relaxing bush experience, we have definitely found a winner and we are definitely coming back.

Quinton Putter

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quinzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditholo L, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Quinton,

Thank you for your kind words. We are humbled by such compliments and will ensure that credit is given where it is due. For us at Dtiholo all the hours and work are made worthwhile by a few kind words from wonderful people such as yourself.

Looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Yolande, GP and the Staff at Ditholo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I would just like to extend my thanks to the team at Ditholo Game Lodge, Limpopo. I stayed at the lodge over the long weekend just gone by ( 22- 24 Sept 2012) and had such a lovely relaxing time. The management team and staff are awesome and so friendly and helpful. Again, congratulations on great service and a great team at Ditholo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrmnvntndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditholo L, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your incredibly kind words to us at Ditholo. You had "an awesome time". We in turn had an equally awesome time serving you and all of our guests.

A warm thank you.

Yolande, GP and the Staff at Ditholo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bela Bela hotels
28.1 mi away
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
#31 of 52 in Bela Bela
22 reviews
31.4 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#22 of 52 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
26.9 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 52 in Bela Bela
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26 mi away
Thaba Pitsi
Thaba Pitsi
#10 of 52 in Bela Bela
53 reviews
25.2 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
23.7 mi away
Bonwa Phala Game Reserve
Bonwa Phala Game Reserve
#14 of 52 in Bela Bela
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ditholo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ditholo Game Lodge

Address: Kromdraai Road, Klippoortjie, Bela Bela 0147, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Bela Bela
Price Range: £64 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ditholo Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Limpopo set against the beautiful backdrop of the Waterberg Mountains lies a natural oasis nestled on an 1100 Ha private game reserve. The stunning Dithõlõ Game Lodge & Wildlife Estate is the perfect bush getaway. Enjoy warm personalized hospitality, savour culinary temptations from the Lodge’s Chef, sip sundowners on the unique cocktail deck, and watch the wildlife around the waterways. Dithõlõ means “the place of many Kudu” and is home to a large variety of African wildlife as well as being a bird watchers paradise. Not only does Dithõlõ care for the wellbeing of its guests, it also cares for the wellbeing of its wildlife and runs nature conservation breeding programs for Hippo, Buffalo, Sable and Nyala. Guests can expect an authentic African bush experience, excellent service, elegantly decorated rooms and a tranquil ambience. Dithõlõ - the perfect retreat from the stresses of city life. Each room is en suite with shower facility only, mini bar, T.V, ceiling fan, air con, mini safe and tea & coffee making facilities. Family rooms may be requested which include kitchen and TV lounge.Meals (breakfast and dinner)are included in the rate as well as a 90 minute game drive. Kids are welcome, jungle gym and solar heated pool will entertain them all day whilst you relax on the loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ditholo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing