We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional experience.”
Review of Ditholo Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ditholo Game Lodge
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An exceptional experience.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I had an exceptional stay at the Lodge. If you are looking for a break from the hustle and bustle of city life this should be your chosen destination. The management, the chef and all the staff make you feel special and give you personal attention.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Henk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi Henk

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Ditholo Lodge. We thank you for you kind words and compliments which will be passed on to those you have mentioned. We agree that Ditholo is an escape from the madness that is the city life.
We cannot wait to have you over again.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Ditholo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    19
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband, children and I visited the Lodge last weekend. The Lodge is in a lovely setting, beautiful gardens and some lovely areas to sit and read a book, rest and watch the hippo's. We saw a few buck, giraffe, buffalo but not much more. Rooms are very pleasant and clean - not sure what the purpose is of having kitchens when it is not a self catering lodge. We took a nice walk around the property in the morning. The dining room staff are very pleasant. The "bar man" John who is also one of the game rangers is very nice and extremely professional. The lounge and bar are are very pleasant and a nice place to relax, watch TV and play some pool. We thought that the game drives were expensive and for the price you pay, lunch should be included too. Unlike other lodges neither are included in the price. Did not use the spa as I thought the treatments were very expensive. However, the Lodge offers a pleasant experience and a good restful weekend but would need to up the game to get to the standard of other 4 star lodges we have visited.

Room Tip: Rooms are all much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashley_labuschagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay at Ditholo Lodge. Thank you for your kind words with regards to our facilities as well as your comments on John-we will definitely pass on the compliments. You have raised a few points which will be discussed and reviewed. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Ditholo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was here with business partners just as the African summer holidays started. Located in Limpopo province, near Bela Bela town and owned by the Orion hotels group. The lodge was extremely quiet and filled with sounds of birds, with giraffes which could be seen if you have luck in the distance. The included game drive with our always smiling ranger John who was not just a good bar man but also very knowledgeable expert on the animals in the bush. Impala were everywhere and the giraffes were a little shy but also came out of nowhere to look at us as we looked at them. The hippos are really close to the chalets and mainly in the water, I did not even see them out of the water, so a return trip is needed. even seeing the 1 week old bay sit on its parents in the water was just beautiful.
As far as the accommodation is concerned the room I had was real nice as inside the room was the thatched bathroom and outside I could see the monkeys before they saw me looking and escaped. The raised veranda are was spectacular at night to enjoy a nightcap and watch the stars.
Do not expect internet connection to fully work, remember we are in the African bush and not there to be online non stop.
Excellent choice of food and wine from a changing menu. The chicken curry was excellent along with this tasty white wine called B.... (tripadvisor does not allow me to write it) wine. Service and breakfast was all you can really ask for, tasty and good choice.
From here we were able to also go on short trips to other safari areas which included seeing and stroking white lions and riding elephants at Thandeka lodge adventures with elephants near Bela Bela.
One of our friends arrived late and the immediately the hosts offered to wash his clothes and make him comfortable as his luggage was lost.
Thank you for a memorable weekend in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJT_on_holiday_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful establishment. We hope to see you again with more business partners in the future, giving them a chance to experience Ditholo Lodge.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Ditholo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Beautiful african bush escape. Took my husband there for a weekend getaway for his birthday.
Its right in the middle of the bush, the lodge is quite and small, so every guest gets special attention. The rooms are unique huts that are beautifully decorated. We saw some giraffes on our 2nd day while we were chilling by the ppol having drinks from the bar. our lunch was served on a cute lil table ouside our room. Food was delicious and the chef came to our table everytime to ask how our meal was. the staff members are so friendly and welcoming. The game drive was fun and informative, we stopped in the middle of the bush and had dinks while enjoying a beautiful sunset, so romantic. Just need an off road car to get to the lodge because you'll be travelling on a bumpy gravel road for about 8-10kms before you reach the lodge but overall the experience was amazing. Will def go back with a few friends and family next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabatho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Mabatho,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is with great pleasure that we can pass such positive reviews onto all staff in our morning meetings.

We look forward to seeing you and your friends back at Ditholo Lodge for another relaxing “City life escape”…

Warmest regards,
Staff and Management at Ditholo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked at Ditholo for our Anniversary getaway. We arrived at the gate on Friday 16 August. What a great way to be received, we felt welcome from the start and got the same treatment at reception and the whole weekend through from all the staff. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and perfect. The outlook deck is devIne overlooking the hippo pond, beautifull sunsets and sunrises. The restauran, swimming pool and bar area just added to this great experience. We will definately visit Ditholo again and will take the kids with next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditholo L, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Madelaine

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is reviews like your that remind us that we are continuing on the right path. We pride ourselves in providing a great service to all our customers. We look forward to seeing you and your kids soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management at Ditholo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Room/Chalet was clean but this lodge is definitaly not more than a 3*. Food was inclusive in our price and of poor standard- either raw or under cooked. No service at the bar in the evening. Beautiful setting but little wildlife and game vechiles to small to accommodate all guests. Will not go again.

Room Tip: None- go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceangypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditholo L, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review of your stay way back in April 2012. We are sorry that you had a mediocre experience at Ditholo but it should be noted that we took over the property shortly after your stay. I am more than sure that you will be pleasantly surprised by the changes and would love to have the opportunity to win you back under our newly managed and successful property.

I am sure you can see by all the positive reviews that things have certainly changed and this is a definite case of "chalk and cheese".

Welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management at Ditholo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2012

And that coming from an inveterate traveller, who's been treated royally at hotels, bush lodges and guest houses around the country for years, should tell you something. We Crash Test Mummies know great things when we see them! Thanks so much Yolande and GP. I hope to be back in the not too distant future...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrashTestMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditholo L, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Melanie,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We aim to please and are always overjoyed when that arrow hits the mark.

Warmest regards,

Yolande, GP and the Ditholo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bela Bela hotels
26.9 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
117 reviews
15.0 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bela Bela
79 reviews
8.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
24.4 mi away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
24.0 mi away
Klip & Kristal Guest House
Klip & Kristal Guest House
#2 of 21 in Bela Bela
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ditholo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ditholo Game Lodge

Property: Ditholo Game Lodge
Address: Kromdraai Road, Klippoortjie, Bela Bela 0147, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Bela Bela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ditholo Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Limpopo set against the beautiful backdrop of the Waterberg Mountains lies a natural oasis nestled on an 1100 Ha private game reserve. The stunning Dithõlõ Game Lodge & Wildlife Estate is the perfect bush getaway. Enjoy warm personalized hospitality, savour culinary temptations from the Lodge’s Chef, sip sundowners on the unique cocktail deck, and watch the wildlife around the waterways. Dithõlõ means “the place of many Kudu” and is home to a large variety of African wildlife as well as being a bird watchers paradise. Not only does Dithõlõ care for the wellbeing of its guests, it also cares for the wellbeing of its wildlife and runs nature conservation breeding programs for Hippo, Buffalo, Sable and Nyala. Guests can expect an authentic African bush experience, excellent service, elegantly decorated rooms and a tranquil ambience. Dithõlõ - the perfect retreat from the stresses of city life. Each room is en suite with shower facility only, mini bar, T.V, ceiling fan, air con, mini safe and tea & coffee making facilities. Family rooms may be requested which include kitchen and TV lounge.Meals (breakfast and dinner)are included in the rate as well as a 90 minute game drive. Kids are welcome, jungle gym and solar heated pool will entertain them all day whilst you relax on the loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ditholo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing