We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,246)
Filter reviews
1,246 results
Traveller rating
658
454
92
30
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
658
454
92
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan parkwildlife centreprivate ablutioncoffee shopnature reservewhole familykids and adultscountry housecamping experienceget awayfamily weekendentertainment areaquad bikeswonderful weekendgame driveslong weekendall ages
Filter
Updating list...
1,095 - 1,100 of 1,246 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Last minute booking, thank you Sheila and Jenny, we had a lovely room , beautiful view, everything was aranged for us, just as we wanted it,Jenny is a great chef, would love to go back there. Great value for money. A touch of class, and so much peace. A great get away out of the city.

Room Tip: The room facing the pool area, was a good view
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Estelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

As a family we always love to go to Sondela! It is close to Johannesburg! Beautiful chalets with everything you would need! Very clean and looked after!
We love to cycle there! Enjoy the wild! Wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank chlssbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

friendly helpful staff with all matters. setting up camp was a breeze with helpful knowledgeable staff to help. MTB park was fun and signage was easy to read and navigate. great getaway for the weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 474cvppvts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I booked 24-26 July 2015 because of a trail run Sondela hosted. The run was cancelled so we moved our weekend to the end of August. I had to pay in R360 because of a special that was on in July. A week before the end August weekend, it was announced that on the end August weekend, there is a special again. We asked for the R360 discount back, but was told it does not apply because we booked in advanced. That weekend the trail run was hosted which was cancelled and advertised before. I was very disappointed in Sondela that we were told that we do not qualify for the discount.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 857cvppvtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

We booked one of the thatched houses for a long weekend and we're totally taken back by the size and beauty of the place.
Can highly recommend this place for family or friends time out.
The animal rehabilitation centre is very interesting and the staff do a fantastic job.
Ate at both the restaurant and is was ok - basic food and reasonably priced.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Burnland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews