We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Go coach trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Baeren
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just Go coach trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here recently on a Just Go coach trip. When we arrived we given the most disgusting small attic room. As, I am slightly disabled, we had to climb a very narrow and dangerously steep staircase as there was no lift up to there. However when we complained we were helped to move to a room in a modern block at the back of the hotel. Our new room was lovely, bright, and spacious and the bathroom alone was bigger than the original room! The staff were friendly. The food was ok but too much salt and we had to wait a long time in between courses as they concentrated more on selling drinks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    38
    26
    20
    10
See reviews for
16
49
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

A group of 12 UK bikers spent 5 nights at the hotel in May '12. The hotels was OK but not exceptional. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were comfortable but were nothing special. The shower in one of our rooms broke resulting in the occupant being moved to another room. Another of our group got bitten by bed bugs and was moved to another room.

We didn't eat in the main restaurant (other than breakfast) but had a couple of meals on the terrace on the other side of the road to the main hotel. Again, the food was fine but not exceptional and we preferred eating in the restaurant next door.

Parking for the bikes was fine and the hotel supplied brochure with recommended rides was good.

The hotel is a good base for touring the Black Forest but only if you are only looking for a bed for the night and a decent breakfast. If you want a hotel based holiday then think carefully.

www.old-gits.org

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David-K1200S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights late April. All facilities more than adequate, spacious rooms, helpful staff,
food good (if basic), wifi, entertainment in house or neighbouring hotel (don't expect Elton John).
Niggles would be no english tv (except CNN), no cofee/tea facilities in room, usual fight with the shower to find correct balance of flow and heat, heard complaints from those in the annex about confusion regarding the shuttle but all in all a pleasant experience at a budget price.
I'm sure you could pay much more and gain little.

Ed and Pauline

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwardj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here as part of a coach tour the rooms are nice and clean but thats about it the meals are full of salt and there is no choice except for the main course where there is a choice of two meals but they are mainly pork and chicken.The drinks are quite expensive as he was the only one open in the village and you had nowhere else to go .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kr8476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chilton co.durham.England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Spent a 3 night stay as part of Nation al Holidays Christmas Markets package.I found this hotel to be very good. The room was spacious and extremely clean and warm. There was a plentiful supply of hot water but the shower pressure was poor. There have been many crticisms about the food at this hotel but I found it quite good. especially as it was a budget holiday There was a choice of main course but not entree and dessert and the breakfast was more then adequate with scram bled and boiled eggs, a varied choice of meats, fruit , yoghourt bread, pastries and jams. No one couldask for more. The service was friendly and the hotel staff very helpful at all times.Most staff speak excellent English and though my German is n ot fluent I think it helps to say Guten Morgen, Guten Abend and Danke Schon (good morning, good evening and thank you) At least it shows that you are making the effort..Now the downside is this. I was puzzled with the appearance of this hotel as the image on line was different to the hotel'spublicity! The image I had was of a tyrolean sandstone chalet type residenace which appeared to be in the middle of nowhere. On the other hand the Hotel Baeren Stube was in the village but looked nothing like thephotograph I had of it. I took me sometime to realise that the front e ntrance to the hotel was actually at the side i.e.not facing the main road and what I had taken to be two different hotels was in fact only one. I had already rung the hotel asking to be put in the main part and n ot in the annex which means walking between buildings mornings and evenings. I was assured I would be in the main building but of course I was not. I was with the rest of the coach in the annex. It is only a few yards but it slopes downhill and is extremely poorly lit. It was also snowing so was slippy Trying to pull a suitcase along in those conditions when you are in your eighties is no job for a cissy. Fortunately the other coach members were very helpful. but National Holidays needs to take this up with the hotel, There were other coaches in the hotel, German French and Spanish all of whom seemed to be accommodated in the main hotel. I wiuld have preferred to pay a little extra for the convenience of being in the main building (no problem in the summer) The entertainment at this hotel is excellent but unfortunately there is n o lounge in which to sit. Satellite TV is n ot much good when the only En glish programme to be got is CNN news..One other drawback is no telephone in the room; a must for emergencies. To all those who are going on a visit to the very beautiful Schwartzwald area have a lovery holiday and take care!!

Room Tip: I believe the rooms were much the same. I was on the ground floor but there was a lift to the olthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marnie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We have just returned from a visit to the Black forest christmas markets, and stayed at the Baren Hotel.We found the food very good, the service excellent and the rooms clean and spaceous. I would recommend it to anyone. Trevor and Pam H

Room Tip: in the rear yard is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrevorH816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

very dissappointed at the brochure for hotel as this was not the hotel that was allocated to us, we had to cross over busy road for food as our hotel did not cater. The food was crap, pasta,pasta,pasta, the prices of drinks varied each night, and the bar service was nil. we also had to pay for the water we had at the meal. The waiters were very arrogant, and i would not recommend this hotel to anyone. please check around and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: do not book at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oberharmersbach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberharmersbach
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Gasthof Freihof
#3 of 4 in Oberharmersbach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Klosterbraeustuben
Hotel Klosterbraeustuben
#1 of 3 in Zell am Harmersbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Dollenberg
Hotel Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Pfeffermuehle
Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 5 in Gengenbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Faisst
Hotel Faisst
#9 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
5.0 mi away
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
#1 of 4 in Oberwolfach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Dorf 35, 77784 Oberharmersbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Oberharmersbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oberharmersbac...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and HRS so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baeren Oberharmersbach, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing