We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area.Dreadful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Reviewed 8 January 2014

On a coach trip. Dingy rooms, fire doors propped open. Noisy guests throughout the night and early morning. When we complained to Management they just shrugged their shoulders. Often not much food left at our allotted breakfast slot 8am. as German guests got there before us and breakfast food not replenished to accommodate us. Dinner was again served at a different time to other guests. We had to wait 50 mins. for 1st. course,. portions were miniscule, and of poor quality often uneatable. Some German guests laughed at our meals, and some advised us to complain saying, ´they would not accept such food´.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms within sound of church bells! Avoid this hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baeren
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel was broadly OK and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Cleaning was patchy. When I arrived the room was clean enough. However, the bathroom shelf was subsequently not cleaned all week and twice an item from the bathroom bin was left lying on the middle of the floor, due to lack of attention by the cleaning staff.

With the exception of the breakfasts, the food was average at best and sometimes poor. The sauerkraut was bland and I have not seen sprouts so boiled to death since the eighties. The rest of the food was pretty mediocre.

A group of Germans staying at the hotel said they were embarrassed that English people would come to their country and think that this was normal German food (and having previously lived in Germany myself I can confirm this).

The hot and cold buffet on the last night was a health & safety disaster. It was held in the main entrance to the hotel, where there was not enough room. Due to poor location planning and an absence of crowd control, the serving area for the hot food was overcrowded, the hotel entrance became blocked thus presenting a fire risk. The overcrowding also meant that cardigans, elbows, etc. got shoved into the trays of food, so the result was hardly hygienic!

Room Tip: Don't be next to the lift. Take ear plugs!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed 5 days as part of a coach party in October 2013. Stayed in room 620 on the 2nd floor. Room was drab and dingy the net curtains and windows were dirty although the floor and walls were generally clean, bed was comfortable and room warm. Shower room had a chipped shower tray with a broken / dirty shower door which did not close correctly. We were given one sachet of shower gel and a mini bar of soap to last duration of our stay. I doubt if the shower and basin was cleaned at all during our stay. We shared the dining room with 2 coach loads of German guests who had paid for German singing star Frank Petersen to appear for them and we enjoyed each other's company. When the Germans left things went downhill very fast ! We were asked to dine across the road and a self service buffet was set up in the narrow entrance foyer with a carvery along one wall and a cold food bar along the opposite wall leaving just enough space for a line. Approximately 200 people then attempted to serve themselves with just the help of one chef at the exact moment an arriving coach party needed to access their rooms. Result was complete and utter chaos, laughter and disbelief soon changed to anger as the arriving guests tried to barge through our party many of whom were frail. The hot food started to run out at this time and waitresses tried to service the servery carrying hot food high above their and our heads.
At this point I gave up and didn't eat on this day as I was now too angry and I joined the queue of people trying to complain, again a waste a time as being a coach passenger they know you are unlikely to return.. In forty years of traveling this was my single worst experience.
On returning to my room on last day found that room door had been left unlocked by the chambermaid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great hotel. Stayed as part of a coach trip. Quirky hotel - lots of bears - unusual. Good food - vegetarian options offered. Clean and comfortable. Lovely village with nice church to visit. Staff very friendly and helpful. I would stay again if in that area. Entertainment in the German restaurant only.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do not hear the church bells so loudly
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Excellent hotel with all the charm of the Black Forest. Food very good and plenty of it. Catered for my wheat and gluten allergy. In a great location to tour the area. People were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johntrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here in July 2013. Had a room on first floor opposite the Church. The Church bells start chiming at 6 a.m. however they do have a nice sound. The road starts to get quite busy with timber lorries at that time anyway. Our room was large and the bed comfortable. It was clean but needed some renovation as it was looking a little worn. The owners and staff were very nice, very polite and helpful. The evening entertainment was fun. The barbecue night was good with a band, but the food was pretty dreadful on that night. I thought the idea of a barbecue was that you could choose what you wanted, but not so, it was brought to you on a plate which contained a mushy piece of meat covered in gravy and onions and a jacket potato covered in a garlic sauce, which mingled horribly with the gravy, with a large sausage, piece of chicken and a salad garnish, none of which tasted particularly nice. However saying that the rest of the food during the week was excellent. The breakfasts were good too and plenty of choice. I could have done with less bears in the way of cuddly teddies in glass cases to a large stuffed bear in a glass case by the front door, with a story and pictures on the wall of how it got there. I didn't mind the bear statue outside or the statue in the garden, but please get rid of all the teddies and the monster by the front door. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like church bells, then ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights on a coach trip to the Black Forest. The owners were very friendly and made sure everyone was ok. Meals were very good, staff very efficient, polite, helpful and no waiting for our meals. They even catered for awkward guests without hesitation. Hotel itself was extremely clean and comfortable. Would not hesitate to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delaware186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberharmersbach
5.0 mi away
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
#1 of 4 in Oberwolfach
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Freihof
Gasthof Freihof
#2 of 4 in Oberharmersbach
16 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Faisst
Hotel Faisst
#8 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Hubertus
Hotel Hubertus
#5 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
20 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Dollenberg
Hotel Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
269 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pfeffermuehle
Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 5 in Gengenbach
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Address: Dorf 35, 77784 Oberharmersbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Oberharmersbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oberharmersbac...
Price Range: £64 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baeren Oberharmersbach, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing