We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Landison Hotel Huzhou
Ranked #87 of 161 Hotels in Huzhou
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is very pleasant and is a relatively low rise development by Chinese standards. Whenever I have been there (maybe 4 times now) it is very quiet and peaceful. The staff are helpful, but not many (reception do) speak English (not a problem for me as I can order a cold beer in Chinese which is all I need). The rooms are nicely appointed. Good quality beds, clean, nice bathrooms, balcony. However, don't leave the balcony door open, there are lots of mosquito's around this area near the lake. Good views over the lake.

Breakfast is not the best I've had in China by a long way, it is a little too Chinese for my tastes. However, it has coffee, toast, cereal and fruit so it's fine.

My tip is to leave the hotel around 7pm, turn left out of the hotel, within 100 metres go through the gate on the left beside the little guard house. This short walk through trees takes you to the promenade. Turn left, you will see the light show in the distance, and walk for around 15 minutes until you get to the majestic Sheraton Huzhou Hotel. The light show on this amazing building lasts for about 2-3 hours, and if you are in Huzhou you MUST see it. There are lots of Chinese people around taking pics, and there are quite a few Chinese restaurants nearby.

A room at Landison is about 60USD. At the Sheraton about 250USD. The best bit of the Sheraton is the light show, the rooms are nothing special and wifi isn't free! So stay at the Landison and walk along to see the light show.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paperball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    50
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If Huzhou is going to become a weekend destination for the people for Shanghai, like Suzhou or Hangzhou its really going to have to step up its Customer Service. Less than 1 staff member at a time onsite can speak any form of English, a Concerige should at minimum understand broken Mandarin, English, plus another language, they didnt seem to understand anything. I asked for a bottle of water in Chinese, and they called me a taxi and got mad that I didnt want the taxi at that time. Also they made the mistake on the taxi but than the taxi charged me for the mistake 2 hrs later when I needed the taxi and it charged me 97.50 RMB for 6 minute drive. Go spend the money and stay at the Sheraton in Huzhou it will be worth every penny. The General Manager Jonathan is a lovely man, who welcomed us into a hotel we were not even staying at us, and hosted us a lovely party. Everyone that works at this Sheraton Speaks English very rare for China.

Room Tip: Dont Stay HERE, go to the Sheraton I wish we did, if we ever go back to Huzhou we will
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaShang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is a massive conference/corporate events property that is largely abandoned. It appears to operate at around 10 percent capacity and is staffed accordingly.

Food is dreadful and bar services are rudimentary. If you don't have your own car and driver then I strongly recommend avoiding it completely as it's isolated and inconvenient. Taxis won't venture near the place and there is no way of getting in and out of the vast hinterlands.

The entire acreage is surrounded by empty "investment" apartments and timeshares. As is the usual practice these are in a constant flux of construction and decline as some places fall apart while others are not finished being built yet. Likewise - while relatively new the hotel is showing it's age and appears 15 years old instead of 2 or 3 or however old this place is. Think typical 3 star property in China and you'll get the idea.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiJululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riyadh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I had a business meeting in Huzhou, and the Landison hotel was one of the best recommended hotel. I have to admit that I had an average experience. The location is nice, just near thye lake, but I may be went to the hotel at the wrong period, low season, the hotel was almost empty, and it's weird that when you arrived very late in the evening to find the hotel wiith light off and just 2 ladies to organise your check in... The day after, despite there was no many people the check out took too long time. Otherwise the quality of the hotel looks ok...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francois111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

the room i stayed in was begining to look its age already! peeling wallpaper and a very musky smell they advertised a western style resturant which wasnt open, found it very hard to find a member of staff who spoke english, when i did i was informed only the chinese resturant was open. i am sure if you are chinese this hotel is fine but if you expect western food or english speaking staff dont bother.
The hotel room A/C also didnt work and the internet access was impossible to use.

its also in the middle of nowwhere full of unoccupied houses and apartments.

on checking out the girl on reception started doing my invoice and then stopped to talk on the phone several times before finishing my invoice, so checkout took over 20 minutes, would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

To its credit, the quality of the Leidisen Hotel's rooms is quite high, and it serves a good quality western breakfast... but that's where it ends.

The hotel is stranded in an upmarket ghost town of unoccupied investment apartments and townhouses and abuts the vast Lake Tai Hu. There is no easy means of transitting into Huzhou City... and the hotel (which claims to be 5 star) does not offer a complimentary shuttle service. A 20 minute walk along Lake Tai Hu (not pleasant in a winter blizzard) gets you to Fisherman's Wharf, an restaurant precinct closer to the now almost complete Sheraton Hotel (July 2012). Although, only a 5 min commute on a shuttle bus, the hotel refuses to assist, instead recommending a RMB 300 driver (one-way).

The key problem with the Leidisen is that it is so stranded that it is avoided by taxis, and the hotel seems oblivious to the predicament of its guests.

There are two hotel restaurants (Western and Chinese). The Chinese option is obscenely expensive, and the western one is, quite frankly, cr*p!

Although by virtue of the age of the rooms, the facilities are clean, however, house keeping is rudimentary.

Although the hotel was designed with an executive floor and lounge, this has now been de-commissioned.

The entire experience was so frustrating that we checked out 5 days earlier!

I fail to see how this expensive property will be able to compete at any level with the proposed ne Sheraton Hotel, especially if they are oblivious to the expectations of most western business travellers!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Stayed here for a few nights during a business trip to Huzhou. The hotel is right on Lake Taihu and has great views of the water. The rooms are very spacious, including the bathrooms. The two complaints I have are the A/C and internet. The internet speed is lacking and is not always reliable to get on with VPN. The air conditioning is usually fine, but seems to turn off every night during the middle of the night. The cool air stopped blowing around 2 AM or so each night. Seems as though they shut it off so you wake up hot. The hotel has some nice amenities like billiard tables, ping pong room, big swimming pool, and tennis courts, so there is plenty to do in the evening. There is also lots of lounge space and plenty of trails around the hotel to walk/jog. Overall, if it wasn't for the A/C issue, I would consider it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammerdroogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huzhou hotels
Zhebei Hotel
#54 of 161 in Huzhou
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nanxun District
GreenTree Alliance Huzhou Nanxun Ancient Town Hotel
Motel 168 (Hongqi Road)
#57 of 161 in Huzhou
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landison Hotel Huzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landison Hotel Huzhou

Property: Landison Hotel Huzhou
Address: No.288 Meizhou Road, Taihu Tourism Zone, Huzhou 313000, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Huzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 161 Hotels in Huzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Landison Hotel Huzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Landison Hotel Huzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing