We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moganshan Howoo Life Hostel
Ranked #19 of 249 Deqing County B&B and Inns
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great little place to stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

stayed here in the dorms with about 20 of my mates and had a rad time! you get to do your own bbq in the evenings, get a bunch of beers and after sit in the bar area and play pool. its preet cool and the moganshan mountain views are awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NS1_2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The whole concept of Eco-friendly cabin up in the mountain sounded so good we had to try it. we were 2 couple with 2 toddlers. we booked 2 rooms in a 2 stories building. The room was very clean and nice with all the amenities, but it was made of wood which means you can hear every step, snore, whisper the upstairs made. I managed to sleep couple of hours and my husband was up the whole night. due to being sleep deprived it was very hard for to go hiking the next day and enjoy nature. we just basically walked around and had breakfast at the big restaurant of the hostel. the food was nice and the atmosphere was cool and stuff was friendly. To conclude our experience this hostel is very expensive (more then 100USD a night) and worth it. I defiantly won't recommend it.

Room Tip: no good rooms. maybe if you rent a privet villa or if you a very sound sleeper an nothing bothers yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Siv-Travel-Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We did not stay in the hostel but booked one of the family rooms which is set back from the hotel in the bamboo forest. We felt very neutral towards our experience here and found it hard to determine why we did not find it so good.
We have been spoiled in our lives and have been to some wonderful places, so perhaps we are the wrong people to review this. However:
- the houses are made of wood and on our first night we had the misfortune to be sharing with a group of people that seemed to be on a company team building or something. They partied until 2 am.
- the rooms are clean and very nicely appointed. There was a pink bathtub in our room with paint peeling off the base. A notice indicated that it was out of order. We presume there is no intention to repair it because of the lovely framed notice over the bath.
- the shower was hot which is important to us.
- the beds are hard in true Chinese style
- our room was not serviced during our stay (I don't know if that is hotel policy)
- the breakfast was OK.
- the restaurant staff were very nice, all older Chinese Aunties. Although they spoke no English they were very friendly and accommodating.
- dinner menu is all Chinese food - tasty enough. There is also a western snack menu with milkshakes and great coffee.
- we took a walk into the forest with the map supplied by the hotel, and were lost within an hour. We pride ourselves in being good map readers, so were frustrated that we could not find where we went wrong.
- during this walk we were overrun by mosquitoes even though we were wearing repellent, and by this time the children just wanted to return to the room. (I know the hotel is not responsible for the mosquitoes!)

I just think we have western expectations and this is a truly Chinese hotel. What riles me the most though is the price. I do not believe that the price of RMB 1200 per night can be justified. It is purely a case of charging a fortune to city people that wish to escape the city. For the same price you can get a 3 star hotel in London, for half the price you can stay in a Crowne Plaza in the middle of Beijing. In South Africa you can enjoy a magnificent country escape at a first class hotel for the same price with spa, swimming pool and gym.

In summary we found our family room experience very mediocre, but I do think if you stay in the hostel accommodation for a much lower price, it will be acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodfan2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We made a great choice for the capstone of our holiday week road trip when we stayed at Howoo. The staff were really helpful and eager to please, the accommodations clean, and all for a fairly good price (especially with breakfast buffet included). You can hike the mountain right out the back door, or you can head over to Moganshan proper. There's a Wal-mart in Deqing right before you head into the mountains, which makes for a great stop to load up on hiking snacks, fresh fruit, wine, etc.

Just note that the kitchen for dinner closes a bit early (7pm), there's a long walk up from the parking lot (300m, up a steep incline), and dorm rooms are noisy, which is mostly from neighbors walking in the room above you and can't be helped.

Room Tip: If booking a dorm, ask for top floor if you can, which will save you from the noise, but make it les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I was looking for budget lodgings in Moganshan that are both clean and friendly, and Howoo Life Hostel delivered.

The Moganshan area itself is quite a distance from the bus/train station, so we called the hostel to arrange a taxi pick-up. The pick-up came on time and, as we later found out, was also considerably cheaper than other taxis offering their services at the train station.

Very cozy hostel with pool table and an assortment of games (chess, checkers, etc..), with a quiet eating/resting area that looks out to a sea of bamboo. Great place to relax and have a coffee or to enjoy lunch or breakfast.

Mountain right behind the hostel that is empty and peaceful. Coudln't have asked for a better retreat. Hostel will help arrange transportation for you to go to Moganshan proper, and also offer entrance tickets at discount price (65 RMB).

Breakfast was great. Western and Chinese food freshly cooked, with a number of delicious dishes that would rival a luxury hotel. There's a little station to cook eggs as well, which I thought was a rather brilliant idea.

We stayed in the shared dorm, so for 90 RMB we had great hotel amenities and an amazing brekfast. The dorm was a bit loud and the showers a bit cramped, but the bed itself was clean and comfortable and--for the price--really a great deal. The private rooms are located in the far back near the mountain and, although more money, are definitely much cleaner and quieter.

Great deal for the money, perfect place to stay if you'r elooking for a Shanghai getaway without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Wow, what a hostel. Situated in bamboo forests of Moganshan, we stayed two nights at this wonderful hostel.

Tricky to get to, I'd suggest forgetting the multiple bus connection and ask hostel to organise a taxi pick up from the train station. Its a good 30-40min ride to the hostel.

We were in one of the deluxe rooms, mostly made out of bamboo and wood. 4-poster bamboo bed and a bamboo bath outside the room is a sort of out-house. Stunning.

A basic breakfast is served in the morning and there's a decent Chinese menu in the evening (plenty of bamboo dishes). However, (and you'll need to order 24 hours in advance), I'd highly recommend the hot pot feast for evening meal. We were served a large table of fresh meat and vegetables to cook in your own individual pot of broth. Most of the vegetables are growth locally in the village. Delicious.

There's a bamboo forest trail up the back of the hostel, you can hire bikes or ask the hostel to order you a taxi to take you further up the hill to the tourist area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deqing County hotels
0.0 mi away
Moganshan, Le Passage Mohkan Shan
Moganshan, Le Passage Mohkan Sha...
#3 of 155 in Deqing County
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unique Resort Moganshan Hotel
Unique Resort Moganshan Hotel
#32 of 155 in Deqing County
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Narada Boutique Hotel
Narada Boutique Hotel
#11 of 155 in Deqing County
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moganshan Solvang Village
Moganshan Solvang Village
#2 of 155 in Deqing County
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mogan Mountain Shuimo Shanju
Mogan Mountain Shuimo Shanju
#10 of 249 in Deqing County
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
OM Yoga Resort
OM Yoga Resort
#17 of 249 in Deqing County
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moganshan Howoo Life Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moganshan Howoo Life Hostel

Property: Moganshan Howoo Life Hostel
Address: No.52, Xiwu Li, Houwu Village, Fatou County, Wukang Town, Deqing County 313200, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Deqing County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Deqing County
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Moganshan Howoo Life Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moganshan Howoo Life Hostel China/Deqing County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing