We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene vacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Serene vacation”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This small resort is a great place to relax, enjoy good food, calm ocean waters, lovely staff and beautiful surroundings. There are local activities in which to partake if you desire but the environment is so calming that is hard to move from the beach or the lovely outdoor dining area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    26
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
43
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a completely wonderful week at Mar de Jade and plan to return again. Everything about the place created an environment of relaxation and comfort and the setting was magical - with a beach that is one of the best we have seen. The food was delicious, the staff were so helpful and accommodating, our room was clean and comfortable. Daily yoga and meditation in the beautiful studio with a view of the ocean helped set the tone for our daily activities. It is inspiring to be with Laura and her team and we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were attending an outstanding couples workshop at Mar de Jade. Our initial hotel booking experience was not very efficient as emails were not answered and eventually had to have my Spanish speaking p.a. phone to make the reservation. However, once we arrived we were pleased by the location right on the beach with crashing waves and warm inviting water. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and had an outstanding view of the water. The food was trustworthy and we had no experience of "tourista" and it was good to be able to eat lots of salad at lunchtime. Many of our fellow guests raved about the food and the kitchen staff were very accommodating putting up with all the vagaries of people's diets no gluten, vegetarian, no dairy etc. but we thought it was acceptable rather than amazing. We were very surprised that the bar was only open 5-9 pm in the evening despite being advertised in the room manual as being open all day as we would have liked to have had a drink at lunchtime as we were on holiday. The room where we held our retreat was beautiful and surrounded by lovely gardens. It was a great addition to be able to attend morning meditation and have a first class yoga instructor who was also one of the best massage therapists I have ever experienced. The spa is beautiful. They also arranged for us to see some outstanding whale watching. All the profits from the hotel go to support children in the local area so a lot can be forgiven. We certainly enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizardmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

After spending 10 days at a different resort near Sayulita, we booked here for 4 nights after discovering it as we walked up the beach from the small town of Chicala...

It looked great, and the prospects of having 3 meals a day from their farm was promising, as were the yoga and meditation classes.

It turns out that the centre was filled with people on a retreat. That is itself is not a problem, but we felt like outcasts and the staff seemed to cater to the large group more than us as individual guests.

Mealtime is announced by the ringing of a large bell, which left us feeling like we were part of a large Pavlovian experiment. The buffet is all you can eat, but the food was bland and there were very few options for someone who does not eat seafood, or is tired of the Mexican fare, or just looking for an alternative.

In the afternoon, the bar was not open, which is a bit of a downer while on holidays. In fact, my wife asked for a Coke, but because the bar tender took the keys home with him, she was out of luck and never got her soft drink.

The pool was nice, although the water was cloudy, but the best part is the beach and the ocean, which were spectacular for swimming and sunsets.

Finally, despite being told that they triple wash everything and drinking their bottled water, both my wife and I got a nasty visit from "La Tourista" and had to stay close to the bathroom after day 1.

We ended up checking out 1 day early and going to the Westin in Puerto Vallarta, for about one half the cost of the room at Mar de Jade.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcSTremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just returned home from a one week retreat at Mar de Jade and already we are planning a return trip with our children. The rooms are beautiful and clean, and the beach is peaceful and not crowded. I thought the food alone was worth the entire vacation. It is fresh, healthy, delicious and the staff is happy to make any dietary changes when needed (ie... gluten free, dairy free, vegan, etc..) I'm still dreaming of the Hibiscus water and all the different fruit juices. Best of all is to know that the proceeds from the hotel go to support the community, their organic farm, and the school for children in the nearby town. I can't wait to bring my kids!

Room Tip: Garden Suite King is spacious with two separate areas and private balcony. We also spent one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Channing M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Have been to Mar de Jade for yoga at least seven times. It keeps getting better...the rooms, the food, the grounds, and most of all the ambience...like coming home to a loving family who uses the income to improve not only the facility but the entire community.

A fabulous place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank share999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokena, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The rooms are spacious and clean. From the balcony there is an unobstructed view of the ocean. The staff not only is friendly and accomodating but they know your name and greet you by name. The food is fantastic, fresh and healthy. I ate all 3 meals and went for seconds at each meal. I thought I would gain weight but as it was healthy and fresh - i did not gain a pound. I came home refreshed, relaxed and reenergized. You can feel the love and you are surrounded by beauty.
Practically, they will arrange a taxi for you from the Puerto Vallarta Airport. There were are also several inexpensive worthwhile excursions - loved the whale watching and petroglyphics.You can also walk the beach to town which is charming and authentic. I will be there soon!!!

Room Tip: Request a second or third floor for a gorgeous ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgilmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacala
9.7 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
369 reviews
9.4 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
10.0 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
227 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Hotel Cielo Rojo
#1 of 4 in San Francisco
172 reviews
9.5 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#16 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation

Property: Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation
Address: Mar de Jade #1, Chacala 63715, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar de Jade (Sea of Jade) is a Retreat, Wellness and Vacation Center hidden away between the tropical jungle and the pristine sandy beach of Chacala, Mexico. This is an open home that offers wellness vacations, transformative retreats, healing Spa treatments, romantic weddings and getaways, and volunteering and learning programs with the local community. "A place to awaken, nurture & share the best within us..." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mar De Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation Hotel Chacala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing