We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect spot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Majahua Hotel Selva
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Augsburg , Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect spot”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The Majahua is a perfect hideaway! Beautifully integrated into the surrounding nature. Lovely hosts. Fantastic Massage!!!!!! A real find if you want to "retreat". My stay was ideal. Thank you Jose, Carmen, and staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogaAugsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    19
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
218 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The plus's....this hotel is in a sweet little beach town of 300 people. Because the town is so small there aren't many choices for hotels. This place is priced mid-range between the in town on the beach economy hotel and the fancy spa hotel next door to it. The setting is lovely, especially the dining area. The restaurant service and meals were excellent. Breakfast is included in the price and it is delicious. Staff is friendly. There is a pool but it is not much bigger than a hot tub.

The minuses. The beds were harder than even most Mexican beds. If you have even a slight mobility or balance problem it would be dangerous to stay here. You have to climb over rocks on the beach to get to the path to the hotel. The path is very steep and rocky. The rooms were pretty, but architecturally poorly designed with several trip hazards in the room. We had the "tower" unit which is two bedrooms and a mirador. The spiral staircase to the master bedroom is treacherous. (However, once you get up there the room is very pretty). The access to the mirador is by a ladder that is bolted to the outside wall. There is no handrail or way to hoist yourself up to the mirador.

The place is on a cliff. They will provide you with a beach umbrella and chairs but you have to carry them yourselves down the rocky patch and across some boulders to get to the beach.

I probably wouldn't stay here again because of the mobility issues.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the tower room unit if you need two bedrooms. It is more expensive than just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Majahua is almost too special to adequately describe. Unique, artistic, unlike anyplace you've seen are all good words for a start but to really know what anyone who has stayed there is talking about, you really must stay there for yourself. Jose Enrique, the owner with a vision, is a man with a passion for architecture who took his degree in engineering. The merging of the arts and sciences, coupled with Jose's unique sense of working with the natural lay of the land to create a beautiful work of art and present it as a "Hotel, Restaurant and Spa," is on full display at this truly wondrous gem, nestled into a gentle but rocky hillside above a pristine, white beach cove. It's almost other-worldly.

To read that it is "dirty" made me laugh out loud. It's created from the earth, using as little man-made, foreign to the environment products as possible. The attention you get as a guest is first class, as are the accommodations. But the 5 Seasons, it isn't. For that, you must go south, to Punta Mita, where that particularly sterile resort was built on a piece of land overlooking the ocean, while incidentally, displacing an entire village of families in a vicious land-grab. No, sterility isn't on the menu at Majahua. The integrity of the dirt, land, rocks and ocean in all their majesty is exactly what makes this place magical.

Check out the restaurant's public restroom, a cave built into the side of the hill. It's a piece of art. Walk the natural paths and steps, loving carved into the hillside and you will find yourself stopping every few feet to take another photograph of the magnificent beach, cove and ocean. Turn your camera up toward the village and you you will capture the little, truly Mexican town of Chacala. Have lunch or dinner along the beautiful, white beach, under a palapa, at one of the seven restaurants that line the beach. Walk the streets of the town, visit the school, ask if you can help with anything there. They will ask if you can come later to sing for the children, play basketball with them or show them how to work a math problem. Ask where Trini lives and sign up for a Spanish lesson. You will not only learn more than you ever knew you could but along with the other Canadians and Americans, You will laugh at Trini's natural comedic talents.

At Majahua, it is all about being one with the natural elements. There are many who find ourselves returning to Chacala every year. Even if we can't afford to stay at Majahua, we are drawn to go there in the morning for coffee, to sit in the afternoon and sip a lemonade, to have a glass of wine at dusk because there is a pull to be in that setting of feeling the aliveness of the earth and to just be real for awhile among the lost art of taking notice of birds singing, ocean waves splashing and gentle warm breezes against your body. Go between Nov and May or it's too hot, humid and wet to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandie947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2010

This is a beautiful, artistic and adventurous place located on a mountainside inside the jungle and near the beach. It is not your typical resort without soul, but rather a place which is truly alive with it's gorgeous surroundings and very much a part of the community in which it resides. When we arrived, the owner had been out planting trees in the nearby village and is clearly a well-respected, integral member of his community. The food was outstanding and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancemonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2010

If you are after a resort with 'make-your-own-omelets', stay in Puerto Vallarta. If you are after a romantic escape that is off the beaten track, this is the place for you. Well appointed on the peninsular overlooking the bay, Majahua is a boutique hotel set amongst the canopy of the trees. The hotel's earthen architectural features compliment the surrounds which features a wonderful restaurant (notify the staff if you intend to dine at night). The owner was charismatic and helpful. Highly recommended for couples you want a romantic and peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitenoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

It's an incredible place for relaxing and perfect for going with your partner. If you're looking for extreme adventure probably this is not what your looking for, but if you like nature and your wish is to find an exclusive place in an exotic environment, Majahua is just perfect. We came back home really relaxed. My husband and I had been dreaming of having vacations like these for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellenmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New MExico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Majahua in Chacala, Nayarit, Mexico at http://www.majahua.com was a disappointment. We've stayed in +100usd accommodation in Mexico before, but Majahua is run-down and unfriendly. Majahua is not worth the money, although the owner "thinks" he's running a 5 star retreat. The room we had was probably nice when it was built but it needs renovation and deep cleaning. The owner seems nice at first but there are under-laying issues that arose during our stay. We managed to stay the 3 nights which we had paid for up front in cash. Once again don't stay at Majahua. Mar de Jade next door seems a much better option. On a positive note: the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voyageur336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacala
9.6 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
316 reviews
9.3 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
9.9 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#2 of 4 in San Francisco
49 reviews
24.4 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
194 reviews
9.9 mi away
Posada Real
Posada Real
#5 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majahua Hotel Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majahua Hotel Selva

Property: Majahua Hotel Selva
Address: | South end of Chacala Bay, Chacala 63715, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majahua is located by the sea at the south end of Chacala bay built into the flank of the hill. It has magnificent views of the ocean being within a few steps from the sandy beach. In its construction, a mindful effort was made to disturb the natural environment as little as possible.Colored in tones of ochre so that they blend into the terrain;the rooms are constructed so as to follow and fit into the natural inclines of the terrain.Majahua is situated on about 2.5 acres,an exclusive setting for its six guest quarters, their terraces, our restaurant,the Gallery of the Jungle, and an intimate, splendid spa.The jungle-like forest surrounding the buildings has been preserved.The guest quarters provide guests with an ideal place for resting, reading, writing, or meditating without interruptions.Their design is playful and arty, reflecting the whimsy of their creators. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Majahua Hotel Chacala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing