We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warning!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majahua Hotel Selva

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Majahua Hotel Selva
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Vashon, Washington
1 review
“Warning!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

You cannot drive to the site. An uphill slog from beautiful Mar de Jade, next door, to the dining area, which does have a fine view of the beach, far below. From there, to get to your room, there are 63 steps cut into the steep hillside. Steps that are of uneven heights, uneven stone, poorly lit, and with no banisters. Dangerous for little kids and anyone with knee or breathing difficulties.
The room had thick walls and small windows, at least half the lights and plugins did not work and wi fi was unavailable. There was a rundown, overall feel of not caring.
However, the stalwart, cheery Francisco was great and Rosa is an excellent cook. We were there six days and spent most of the time at the welcoming Mar de Jade.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Majahua S, Gerente at Majahua Hotel Selva, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your comments Sir. , as they will help other travelers to understand more about the concept of Jungle Hotel that “Majahua” is and choose the right place for their vacations.
Yes warning! Please read the information and look at the many pictures that are on “Majahua” web page before booking.
“Majahua” Jungle Hotel is built on the flank of a hill by the sea, it is not possible to have a flat hillside. There are many prides of being only six rooms in 2.5 acres, one of them is that you do not park the car by the door of your room ( motel like) ,this is that you walk thru nature from the parking area to get to reception and more to go to your room. If your knees hurt when walking or have breathing difficulties why choose a hillside hotel ?, of course when you get to your room you won t even see the windows . TWO of the SEVEN windows that Suite “A” has measures 1.20 m ( 4 ft ) wide by 2.15 mts (7 ft ) high each.
Yes Francisco is a cheery stalwart, if you have told him any problem in your room he was there to listen to you and to solve the problem. Thank you again and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    19
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gordon, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I spent 9 days in Chacala over Christmas break and happened upon Majahua on our first afternoon exploring. We rented a house in town so do not have any experience with the hotel aspect of this place. What I can vouch for are the dynamite margaritas in a magical setting overlooking the water, as well as the attentivenes of the host and owner. We were with another couple and there were few days in the whole stay that someone in our party didn't walk the beach and end up for a beverage and sunset at Majahua. The setting is so unique and tranquil - very intersting architecture and design with killer views. The paths can be tricky to navigate in the dark so come prepared with a flashlight and wear sturdy shoes if you are walking from town. We spent our last evening enjoying the seafood paella we had heard so much about from the owner, as well as an octopus starter. FANTASTIC! We ordered ahead of time (you need to tell the owner a day in advance or at the very latest by 3 the afternoon of your dinner if you want the paella). By ordering ahead of time, we substantially cut down the wait time that some reviewers mentioned. Everything was ready to go when we arrived.

Last but not least, the owner gave us a map and gave us excellent instructions on climbing to the crater on the hilltop behind the hotel. We had heard tell of this nice hike to the crater and could not find any sort of path until the owner helped us out yet again! He let us walk through the interior of his property to access the road/trail to the top. Highly recommend checking out this place, at the very least for sunset drinks!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Majahua was recommended to me by friends based in Mexico. It is at the more private/select end of the pristine Chalaca beach .. at a safe distance from the 'colourful' beach resort.

The rustic chalets are hidden away in the jungle right at the edge of the ocean (don't expect tv in your room you would not hear it!!). Bring a flashlight or phone that can act as one .. the sun sets fast and it can get really dark on moonless nights!

Majahua has private access to the beach and thro the day service with drinks and some food.

I thought the value for money was extremely good .. and was really made to feel at home by the team of 4 who run the hotel and its little tapas bar on the beach.

Ideal for the more adventurous tourist!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loss-leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have spent much time at Majahua and have always found it to be excellent. Jose Enrique, the owner, is always there and attentive to guests' needs.

The food is above average. When we had guests coming to Mexico, we always take them there for the superb food, accomodations and service.

There's nothing better in the region!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickhelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We struggled over whether to stay at Majahua or a cheaper, more traditional hotel in Sayulita or Chacala. The reviews we read seemed mixed (jungle utopia or lackluster wannabe?) In the end we went with it and were pleasantly surprised. The room we stayed in, Suite A, was spacious and gracefully set in the mountains with a killer hammock out on the terrace. The whole place has a kind of hippy glow and warmth to it, from the jazz music they play at the main lodge to the candles they set out at the tables overlooking the ocean. The owner Jose built this place so he could scale back to five rooms and cook for his guests—ie it’s kind of a bed-and-breakfast in an exotic setting.

If you like your privacy though, this place is hard to navigate. You have to walk through the outdoor restaurant every time you want to go to the beach or to town. We were there during the holidays when the five rooms were fully booked, and meals took a long time to be served. Not necessarily a bad thing, but you should be prepared to be accommodating to the slow-paced nature of the place. Also the pool, while an architectural feat, never seemed realistic—it’s the size of a hot tub and the water was cold (at least in December). You can pay to heat it up somehow, but it seemed not worthwhile.

That aside, we had a great time here. Beach and town are really accessible, and you are getting a version of Chacala that no one else is through the canopy of the jungle (bring bug spray!). Also Mar de Jade is literally next door, so you can drop by their bar, yoga classes and restaurant, which came in handy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Incorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Majahua is a spectaculart! Set above Chacala Bay in its own private jungle it is a world away from Puerto Vallarta. Jose and Carmen have built a place of simple luxuries in tune with nature.
The views from the restaurant terraces are breath taking, especially at sunset. The food is expertly prepared and presented. And, they now have a tapas bar on the beach where you can enjoy toes in the sand! We live in a near-by town and come here when we need a get-away or a special treat. One of our favorite places in all of Riviera Nayarit!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickmarilyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I heard about Majahua from a friend. She said it made her cry, it was so beautiful! This boutique hotel is one of the most charming places I've seen in my travels. Everywhere I looked my eyes caught an unexpected delight of beauty. The organic curves of the architecture blend in with the jungle. Unlike some other reviews mentioned I had a 100% positive experience in every way. The owners and the staff were most friendly. The room was clean and beautiful, the food delicious, there is art, soft music, ocean waves.. Would go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Arbol and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetrinaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacala
9.7 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
10.0 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
9.4 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#11 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#14 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#1 of 4 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
24.5 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majahua Hotel Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majahua Hotel Selva

Property: Majahua Hotel Selva
Address: Sur de la Bahia de Chacala, Chacala, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majahua is located by the sea at the south end of Chacala bay built into the flank of the hill. It has magnificent views of the ocean being within a few steps from the sandy beach. In its construction, a mindful effort was made to disturb the natural environment as little as possible.Colored in tones of ochre so that they blend into the terrain;the rooms are constructed so as to follow and fit into the natural inclines of the terrain.Majahua is situated on about 2.5 acres,an exclusive setting for its six guest quarters, their terraces, our restaurant,the Gallery of the Jungle, and an intimate, splendid spa.The jungle-like forest surrounding the buildings has been preserved.The guest quarters provide guests with an ideal place for resting, reading, writing, or meditating without interruptions.Their design is playful and arty, reflecting the whimsy of their creators. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Majahua Hotel Chacala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing