We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Majahua Hotel Selva
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Reviewed 7 June 2006

My husband stayed here for one night in March as a side trip from Puerto Vallarta. We were traveling with my in-laws and decided to take a night for just us in the middle of the our vacation. It is certainly off the beaten path and we enjoyed a relaxing and wonderful stay. We stayed in what I can best describe as a "treetop" room, with open windows to the treetops and the beach below. It was beautifully and simply decorated. If you want to hear the waves crashing on the beach and feel the breeze as you fall asleep this is the place to do it. There is electricity, but candles are also provided in the rooms which gives the place a nice romantic feel. Our outdoor shower also had a view of the beach. The staff were helpful and attentive, bringing us bottled water and towels when we arrived.

Even though we were warned that the town/village of Chacala closes early at night, we were a little surprised that we were some of last people eating dinner in a beachfront restaurant at 6pm. For those who want to eat later, you can arrange to eat at the hotel. We had breakfast in the morning, which had a variety of choices. I had a mexican omlette and my husband had pancakes.

The beach was fine enough--we were there over a Mexican holiday weekend, so it was absolutely packed with local families who were camping for a few days. There are no lounge chairs or umbrellas to rent, per se, as at many other tourist oriented beaches, and no real shade on the beach, which was a bit of a problem for my fair skinned husband. Other than lie on the beach, read or walk along the small cove, there is not much to do in the town or the area (the town is a bit of a drive from the highway). That was exactly what we were looking for, but its not a place with tons of activities. I think you can arrange to rent the hot tub for an hour or so, which we did not do, but looked very nice. they can also arrange for massages, etc.

All in all, it was a lovely and relaxing break for us from PV. It was one of the unique and beautiful places I have stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Berkeley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mirelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank erapase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Majahua S, Gerente at Majahua Hotel Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank richarte83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Majahua S, Gerente at Majahua Hotel Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank sandsaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Majahua S, Gerente at Majahua Hotel Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Majahua S, Gerente at Majahua Hotel Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Por la denso de la vegetación, no todas las habitaciones tiene vista al mar. Aclaren esto con el Sr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Majahua S, Gerente at Majahua Hotel Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacala
9.6 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
461 reviews
9.6 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#2 of 4 in San Francisco
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#6 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
29 reviews
24.4 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
249 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Sayulita
Hotel Eden Sayulita
#9 of 10 in Sayulita
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majahua Hotel Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majahua Hotel Selva

Address: | South end of Chacala Bay, Chacala 63715, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Price Range: £89 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majahua is located by the sea at the south end of Chacala bay built into the flank of the hill. It has magnificent views of the ocean being within a few steps from the sandy beach. In its construction, a mindful effort was made to disturb the natural environment as little as possible.Colored in tones of ochre so that they blend into the terrain;the rooms are constructed so as to follow and fit into the natural inclines of the terrain.Majahua is situated on about 2.5 acres,an exclusive setting for its six guest quarters, their terraces, our restaurant,the Gallery of the Jungle, and an intimate, splendid spa.The jungle-like forest surrounding the buildings has been preserved.The guest quarters provide guests with an ideal place for resting, reading, writing, or meditating without interruptions.Their design is playful and arty, reflecting the whimsy of their creators. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Majahua Hotel Chacala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing