We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit and loved it!”
Review of Villa Celeste

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Celeste
Ranked #8 of 10 Chacala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed for 4 weeks and loved it, had one of the rooms with an outside kitchen, perfect for us. Met some great new people and hooked up with those we had met in previous years. Zulma and Yesi took great care of us, they work so hard to make sure all the guests are comfortable. The beach is terrific, great swimming. Food in town the same as always, not a lot of variety but we had a car this year and we were able to get out and about to shop and explore.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juana51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

Both Villa Celeste and Chacala are hidden Gems. Villa Celeste could not have been better. We have stayed at many small hotels and inns in Mexico and this has to be one of our favorite places. The hotel is so well maintained, the gardens so colorful that we always felt in a little Oasis. We stayed in a Garden King room. We did not have a view of the ocean from our room but from the patio in front of our room we did and even though they were pretty much full when we were there you would have never have known it. The 2 young women who work there could not have been more accommodating. We had a beautiful fruit basket with cookies on our arrival and we received a box of chocolates as a holiday gift as well. They also provided a very nice coffee that is from a local coffee company. the rooms were cleaned spotless every day and we were provided with fresh towels each day too. We also were provided with separate beach towels, another nice touch. We cooked breakfast each day in our kitchen and ate most dinners out at the local restaurants. We enjoyed Chicos quite a bit as well as Las Brisas and the great little coffee house restaurant Choc Mool. Went to La Penita and Rincon Guayabitos and although they are a bit larger I really preferred the little town of Chacala.We already have inquired about next year and hopefully will bring some friends with us. I have already bought Rosetta Stone to get my Spanish up to speed !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockymtn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Not someone who posts allot on the internet, but I wanted to share my
great experience at this small hotel. We arrived in Chacala with reservations
at another hotel with a nice web site. To be truthful we chose it because it
was cheap. We were so disappointed when we arrived, far from the beach
and not at all as described although the owners were very nice.We went
to the beach to Las Brisas and ran into a couple from Arizona and told
them about our experience. They told us to follow them back to their hotel.
Wow what a little Oasis and the manager Maria was a gem. We went and
got our things and moved into our new Chacala Home.Villa Celeste was
relaxing, comfortable, very clean and well kept. The Housekeeper was
forever tidying up. Our Room had AC but did not need, Was provided
bottled water and fresh towels and sheets as needed.Room was
cleaned every day and a nice fruit assortment provided too. Building has
a hacienda feel especially on the outside. Lots of great plants and
flowers.Truly a very special place. its obvious the owner really cares
about his guests.Check Out Chac Mool (?) Restaurant great coffees
and breads. Enjoyed Las Brisas too..Cooked allot in our kitchen at
Villa Celeste.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relaxinthesun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Shared the front 2 bedroom unit (#1) with friends for 1 month. Perfect. Short walk to swimming, the best beach on the coast. Rooftop deck spectacular. In our room hot water in shower only, but lots of it. We did spend 2 extra nights in #2 which has an outside kitchen. Fun. Drinking water provided continuously. Mari, the manager, a truly wonderful woman and always helpful. Use of the BBQ and courtyard was great, made for special times and a few communal meals with other guests. Plenty of fish caught and eaten. I went whale watching, saw humpbacks. Chacala a wonderful destination and we were very comfortable at the VC. We would definitley return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juana51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

This is our first stay in Villa Celeste and our second stay in Chacala. The manager broke his pelvis recently and so there was a different person looking after the place who was there supposedly between 10-6, but not always. The current person who is managing, Mari, doesn't live on site and didn't explain anything, like where to get things on the premises, like toilet paper or drinking water, or kitchen stuff. That said, everything else is really good. Room six, the only one with a view of the water, is the best, despite what the other person said (there is a light switch to turn off the light that shines in your eyes!). The other rooms are a bit darker, but probably cooler when the heat is really fierce- room 6 has two windows, the other have one). The showers are wonderful, the decor is colorful, and the fans work just fine to cool off the rooms. One of the best things is the shaded patio overlooking the ocean, no matter what room you are staying in.
There are several levels of accommodation in Chacala, just to let you know. If you want to be on the beach, there is the Mar de Jade, and one other place that are most expensive and on the south end of the beach, a VRBO property right in the middle of the beach that looks lovely, is expensive, but is lacking in privacy, and the places on the north end, just above the beach, of which Villa Celeste is one.
Off the beach, there are two other sets of places: the Techos de Mexico, and other hotels. The Techos de Mexico are rooms that local people rent out, so if you want to help the local mexican economy, those are what you want. This is a great idea that has been supported by expat americans. They vary from basic to less basic, and can be extremely inexpensive. We stayed in one last year, and it was $60 a night for a whole apartment one block from the beach. Then there are a few other motel sort of places that are Mexican or American/Canadian owned and can be very cheap or up to around $85 a night (2009 prices). I am going to write elsewhere about Chacala itself and why it is worth visiting, but I think Villa Celeste is a place I plan to go back to.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OMG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We spent an amazing romantic week at Villa Celeste listening to the waves crash, eating fresh fish we prepared in our own immaculate kitchen. Our room was romantic and gorgeous. We found ourselves back in a simpler time of authentic Mexico. The setting was spectacular. Chacala is a little remote, and expensive to get to, we paid $200.00 for two of us each way, but it was worth it for us. Chacala has a monopoly when it comes to transportation from the airport. Hiking to the volcano crater and walking the deserted beach every day for a week was more than soul satisfying. Timing is everything as is location, location, location. What we were NOT TOLD was Chacala is a tourist beach for the citizens who live inland, the Guadalajuara area. We happened to be there during an "off" time so we found ourselves wrapped in serenity for almost a week. There is no nightlife and restaurants are minimal. At the end of our stay we found ourselves in the midst of a Mexican holiday inundated with busses filled with passengers seeking a day getaway in the true tradition of a Mexican celebration party time. We loved the festivities; families joyfully came to swim, play music, eat local fare and just take some time to enjoy the ocean they lived so far away from. The downside was that they left every single piece of garbage for us and the ocean to clean up. This meant large quantities of dirty diapers, pineapples with lunch remains, and sadly, papers from "snack" foods only the USA could introduce to another country, were left all over the beach and floating in the water, sitting on the stairs to our hotel polluting everything. Beer bottles are recyclable so they were not a problem. We could not understand why trash cans were not set up on the beach and why the bus drivers did not give instructions to their passengers to please "tire el basura". This is a gem of a spot, gorgeous beach, beautiful hotel, and we hope the locals will find a way to encourage their visitors to be respectful and appreciate what is their own land. The idea of "leave a place cleaner than the way you found it" would transform everything. If you go, find out the festivity calendar!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggsypablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

Just returned from a week's stay at Villa Celeste in Chacala. I agonized over where to stay, read countless reviews and asked lots of questions, and ended up at Villa Celeste. It was terrific, really glad we chose it.

As it happened it was an unusually slow time in Chacala, and we were the only ones staying at Villa Celeste, which has 7 rooms. Perfect! While there I took a quick look at many of the other places in Chacala I'd considered, and while many were fine, we're glad we chose Villa Celeste. The proximity to town and the beach, the grounds and little sitting areas, the cleanliness and layout of the roooms were good for us. Many of the other properties were right next to a really junky property - of which there are a lot here - and this was just a bit better.

A couple of notes - the bathroom does have an 10" x 2' open window into the bedroom, up 7' high or so. Never understand why they do this in Mexico, personally I think the bathroom should be more private. But it wasn't too bad, and there was another bathroom downstairs - nice and clean - that all the rooms could access if more privacy was needed. Like so many Mexican places, the mirror in the bath was miniscule and the lighting bad. Oh well. The shower had great pressure and was really big, and they provided lots of nice towels.

The rooms were not huge, but they were plenty big enough and worked well for two of us. The beds were hard, but the firmness wasn't a problem and my back didn't hurt as it often does on hotel beds. No views from all but one of the rooms, but it wasn't an issue an all as the upper patio has an incredible view and patios on two other levels also have views. The view room is definitly less private.

The house right next door that was under construction was nearly finished while we were there, the workers and noise did not bother us. In fact they rushed to finish it to hold a wedding while we were there, it was fun to hear the professional Mariachi band and later the dance band.

The rooms were clean and well-kept. I did get bit- a lot - by something while there, perhaps fleas, over 100 bites, but my boyfriend did not so we don't know if they were in the rooms or it was because I petted the cute dogs on the beach.

A note that while we were there over Thanksgiving, it was quite slow in town, and usually only one restaurant was open in the evening past 6 or 7 p.m. There is absolutely no night life in Chacala! And our Verizon cell phones did not work there, though there is an AT and T tower right in town. Oh, and Villa Celeste does not currently have wifi, everyone takes their laptops to Las Brisas for access on the beach. Can't beat that!!

There is no one on-site at Villa Celeste, no reception or check in, so arrange for your key before you get there. If the maid hadn't shown up later with our key, we'd have been stuck since our cell phones did not work.

We found out the last day that Chac Mool, a new restaurant slightly up the hill, has fancy coffee drinks and pastries. Wish we'd found that earlier!

Trini Moya gives wonderful Spanish lessons, on the beach, which I highly recommend. Plus she's a delightful resource.

Have fun!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank timetoexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chacala hotels
0.1 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel - Restaurant - Bar
0.1 mi away
Casa Chacala
Casa Chacala
#2 of 10 in Chacala
25 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta Mar y Selva
Hotel Quinta Mar y Selva
#4 of 10 in Chacala
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Celeste

Address: Calle Oceano Pacifico, Chacala 63708, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chacala
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Celeste 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Celeste is an Ocean Front Mexican Inn located 90 mins N of Puerto Vallarta in the small quaint seaside community of Chacala. All rooms with full kitchens. Property remodeled in late 2006. All Rooms with AC, Private baths, outdoor patios and maid service. White sand beaches, great for swimming, Palapa restaurants line the beach serving the best local seafood, surfing, swimming, fishing, coastal and archaeological tours just a few of things to do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing