We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal”
Review of Locanda San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda San Marco
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unreal”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We booked on the basis of its great price and were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation and the place in general. Pai is a beautiful place, not on the lake exactly, but this is a good thing! The food in the hotel is superb and there is a relaxed atmosphere in the bar, great for relaxing. We had the pleasure of meeting Stefano, a native of the Piazza who settled in the USA and returns home every year. Staff were very helpful and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaeilgeoir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

What a Amazing time we had in Lake Garda. Arriving from Verona via train, we took the local bus up to the hotel. Getting offf at Torri del Benaco by mistake we waited for a Free hotel bus they have that goes to different areas ( seems the lake in whole has these to offer people ) Pai is 6km from Torri, so make sure to get off the Pai stop or ask the bus driver. Once we arrived this little square a top the wonderful lake was so cute & peaceful.

Check in was rather quick but harder than most our stays as the people running it don't speak english or spanish. We managed to check in and had a great room with cold A/C and large bathroom. Hotel rooms are clean and well managed, as for the rest it could use a refresh. It is showing its age and the backyard and pool area needs work, gardening and new furniture.

The night we arrived they had live music in the square in front of the hotel, so we enjoyed dinner at the hotel out front in the plaza. Pizza, Pasta, & Wine, so very Yummy. Seems the lake area is very influenced by the Austrian, German, etc. Reflects this is in the people and food.

It is a steep and easy walk down the mountain to the lake, fresh water, rocky small beaches, restaurants lakeside. Its a work out going back up, bring water and go slow.

This place was so Wonderful, you must take a bus up the coast to Malcesine. The bus runs right at the bottom of the mountain in front of the hotel and runs often, you can buy tickets in the bar next door. We went to '' Monte Baldo '' AMAZING and the little/large town was so delightful, must try eating at '' Re Lear '' the owner is so Friendly ''Andrea''.

This hotel is a family runned place I think, the staff was friendly and welcoming. The young hard working lady with blonde hair is very sweet. Breakfast is a nice spread and has a lot to offer.

I recommend this hotel and will be coming back soon. This was a Wonderful stay :)

Room Tip: Far up the mountain, be prepared to walk up/down, free bus comes every 45 mins.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NycPhoto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed a mere 2 days here in April, but wished we could have stayed the week...The warm welcome, the spotless and cozy room, the delicious breakfast, the laid back atmosphere, and above all: the quietness and total silence at night (apart from the church bells...), it was pure bliss. If you want to relax and enjoy the lake without the tourist bustle and the traffic noise, then this is the place you were always looking for!
And all this for 60 Euros for a double room, including breakfast...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Just returned from a wonderful stay in Pai (Torri del Benaco) Lake Garda. This hotel/restaurant was one of my favorite of a 2 week trip through Italy. I booked the room through HostelBookers.com. I was a little concerned about booking because I couldnt find many reviews. After some research I found it listed also under San Marco Hotel. It is an adorable hotel in a tiny town square above a wonderful local restaurant. The owner and her daughter who speak minimal English, did everything to make our stay wonderful. We were fortunate to be there on a Thursday night when the tiny square ,up on the hillside, offered dinner/ music and local fun for the evening. The room is air conditioned, clean and tidy, parking available, small bus shuttle into town, pool great breakfast etc. GREAT STAY! I was looking for a nice way to see Lake Garda without all the tourists and this is it. LOVED IT! The room for two was around 60 euros which includeed a wonderful breakfast. We had lunch there and dinner and our entire bill...including room was under 100 Euros!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italianwantabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torri del Benaco hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pai
Hotel Pai
#2 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
187 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel delle Rose
Hotel delle Rose
#12 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel del Porto
Hotel del Porto
#6 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
116 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Marina
Hotel Garni Marina
#8 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Albergo del Garda
Albergo del Garda
#14 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda San Marco

Property: Locanda San Marco
Address: Piazza San Marco 22, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Torri del Benaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda San Marco 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Locanda San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda San Marco Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing