We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memories are made of these...”

Le Gemme di Artemisia Cooking school Weddings & Accomodation
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$139 - US$268
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Memories are made of these...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I travelled to Italy to celebrate our 40 wedding anniversary and attended a two day cooking class at Gemme di Artmesia in Torri del Benaco as part of our adventure. We booked it sight unseen from the internet and didn't know quite what to expect, but since we love food and wine and enjoy trying our hand at making new dishes in the kitchen, we thought it might be fun. Much to our surprise, the cooking classes were fully private, just for us.The lessons were fun, informative and the food was absolutely delicious. The restaurant is gorgeous, perched high on the hilltop overlooking Lake Garda, with a spectacular view. Meeting the owners Lara and Andrea was a truly great experience. They are are very kind, welcoming and a pleasure to spend the day with. Andrea is a very experienced chef and was tremendously patient teaching us many delightful dishes. Lara took us to a local olive oil museum for a tour and tasting, which we enjoyed very much. The whole experience was a truly great highlight of our trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I thought about writing a complete review of our stay at Le Gemme, but I decided otherwise. Why? I don´t want to write any spoilers here. :)

So I´ll keep it short.

We were there June 3rd 2014 as a wedding party of eight guests. We visited the place one day before i.o. to get to know the place, the hosts, the menu, etc...

We were stunned! The location is awesome. Located on a hill/mountain in Albisano, above Torri del Benaco, it grants a spectacular and mindblowing view over Lago di Garda.
This, one has to see himself. Pictures can´t show how it looks in reality.
Furthermore, the place himself is arranged heavenly. The building is placed in a beautiful garden where ones mind can get to ease because of the peaceful atmosphere and the silence.

The hosts are wonderful, so decent and kind.
One meets such nice and passionate (about their work especially) people pretty rarely.

Lara and Andrea are offering an incredible experience.
Everything is perfect in its own way. One does more feel to be with friends or something like that because they care only about you and you only. The place was closed respectively it was a private circle only.
The service, the presentation and layout of the whole place, the cover of the table AND of course the culinary part, the food!
As is told them myself, the expression: "Atelier del Gusto" stands for itself. The cooking skills and the food, well it is an art!

Ok, this sums it up pretty accurate I think AND we will come back for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Cooking Class, Once-in-a-lifetime Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had the pleasure of taking Lara and Andrea's private cooking class with my girlfriend on our recent holiday to Lake Garda, and I'll start by saying it was one of the most memorable experiences in my lifetime. The restaurant is in a picturesque location overlooking the town of Torri del Benaco and Lake Garda and the venue is beautifully decorated by the owners. The cooking class itself was a treat. Lara and Andrea made us feel right at home and got us involved hands on in making pasta, fish, appetizers, and desserts. Lara nicely took pictures throughout the class for us to have to bring home afterwards. After completing the class portion, Lara and Andrea served us the 4 course meal we had prepared in a relaxed setting accompanied with wine. The pacing was great, and we never felt rushed. The food was also equally amazing. Most importantly, it was a great experience getting to know Lara and Andrea. They were even so friendly, as to give us a ride back to our hotel in Garda after the event. I can only give such people and such a place the highest reccommendation. I would love to go back again on our next trip to Garda.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izhevsk, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top of the hill,apogee of satisfacion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

4th of May is a special day for me -it is my best friend's Michael birthday.
Michael by nature is a think-tank,due to that the honor to organize anniversaries belongs to his friends and beloved wife Olga.
My secret weapon of restaurant choosing is a mix of three components:
Michelin book+TripAdvisor+asking locals for something special.
As we happened to be at Torri del Benaco at 4th of May,we have chosen the best restaurant in terms of TripAdvisor rating for this location.
Actually it really was fantastic in all terms, just listen!
Located on a top of the hill,with a magnificient view,only three tables tiny restaurant with Andrea in the kitchen and Lara serving dishes and communicating with the guests, this place really deserves a special visit!
They serve only fish dishes,but only highest quality, accompanied by a great wine from best wineries.
My special advice is Miclaus from Friuli.
To make a long story short, enjoy Lago di Garda, it is a real saucerful of pleasures!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DragonEater4172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The first of many visits, we hope!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We received cooking instruction in June, 2013. (Sorry for taking so long to post this review!)

The cooking class was a top highlight of our two weeks on Lake Garda, and we're making plans to have dinner at the restaurant in October, 2014. The return for us will be a no-brainer! (We hope that they can fit us in!)

My comments are organized by describing the setting, the cooking class, and our hosts, Andrea and Lara.

The setting was beautiful, perched above the town of Torri del Benaco. We took a taxi from our hotel in Torri; the drive took between 10-15 minutes to ascend upward. The view of the lake was beautiful (see photo). The cooking class took place it their kitchen's restaurant, which is also Andrea and Lara's home (I think). The home/restaurant is small, as they have only three tables at the restaurant. There is also a beautiful outdoor patio, on which we ate after preparing each course.

The cooking class lasted a generous half-day. It started at about 8:00 AM and the taxi picked us up at about 1:00, after we finished our dessert and espresso, and conversed with Andrea and Lara. What was especially nice is that all classes are private, so we had Andrea's and Lara's full attention. While one of them was providing instruction or helping you with a technique, the other was taking photos of us and the food at different phases of the preparation. We tried to take notes along the way, but the photos were incredibly helpful - and they got some really fun candid photos of us too! We never felt rushed and the pace was relaxing. We prepared a course or two, and then they finished it off, plated everything, and then served the food and wine to us as we looked out over the lake. There were about six courses in all. Oh, and the food was some of the best that we ate during our three-week stay in northern Italy. The class was expensive, but cheaper than a class that we took in Bologna.

Both Andrea and Lara were very hands-on. They started with a demonstration of everything and then let you try the technique on your own (or with more of their help!). Both were patient and provided thorough explanations, taking time to explain why we were doing something a certain way or why we were using a certain ingredient. Also, a lot of our discussion was related to the locale of the food. It was evident that both Andrea and Lara are passionate about food, cooking, and hospitality. They were warm and friendly, and we knew immediately that we'd be returning upon our next visit to the lake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DLM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Gemme di Artemisia Cooking school Weddings & Accomodation also viewed

Torri del Benaco, Province of Verona
Garda, Province of Verona
 
Torri del Benaco, Province of Verona
Brenzone, Province of Verona
 

Been to Le Gemme di Artemisia Cooking school Weddings & Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing