We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms”
Review of Hotel al Caminetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel al Caminetto
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Torri del Benaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

For the price we paid the room was so small, probably 3.5 x 3.5m, we had expected much more!
On the bright side, the hotel interiors were nice, the room had a small balcony, air-con and a decent bathroom with a shower corner. Around a 5-min-walk from the center. The breakfast was good but don't expect anything fancy, wi-fi free of charge but you need to ask for the password.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taupe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just got back from Torri last night The Hotel Al Caminetto is fantastic!
It is a small family run hotel with a lovely homely feel. The rooms are a good size and we had a small balcony facing the front. The bathroom was quite big and very modern. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is lovely, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, boiled eggs, cake, cheese, meats! Delicious!
We stayed bed & breakfast and had our evening meal at the hotel one night which was also delicious. We had 4 courses all homemade fresh produce. I could'nt fault it. The bar prices are reasonable and the mojitos are excellent! Overall we were very impressed with the hotel & service we recieved from the staff. Id recommend the hotel for anyone visiting Torri which is a real gem!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

My Wife and i were lucky enough to stay at the Hotel al Caminetto for three nights in July 2010, The Hotels position was great for walking into Torri del Benaco in the evening to soak up the freindly atmosphere, the Hotel itself was fantastic, clean and very friendly the owners could not do enough for us.Our room had two balconies that opened up onto a view of the lake and made the room very light and airey.
The food was fabulous throughout our stay and the service was brilliant, this coupled with our regular late evening chilled glasses of Gin & Tonic mixed to perfection summed up our fantastic stay and made for a very relaxing time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

Situated 100 metres from the edge of Lake Garda in the small lakeside town of Torri del Benaco, the Hotel Al Caminetto stands in its own grounds with terrace area and parking at the front.

Torri del Benaco is one of the smaller and consequently less touristy lakeside towns but it does boast its own Scaligeri castle and sufficient shops, restaurants and cafes for most visitors.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the centre of Torri with it’s small harbour around which a cup of expresso or a glass of wine can be taken in shady comfort whilst watching the lake and the people.

This small and comfortable hotel has 16 rooms and is well maintained by the Consolini family. They all have roles in running the establishment: Giacommo organises breakfast, serves dinner and manages the business; his wife, Vanna, does wonders in the kitchen and oversees the cleaning staff; whilst their son, Marcello, has developed a passion for wine and sources the majority of their wine-list locally.

All the major European languages are spoken including French, German and English.

The rooms are modern, clean and all en suite. There is a lift to the upper floors and many rooms have balconies and views towards the lake.

The buffet style breakfasts are rather more substantial than the typical Italian expresso with cake and are geared towards their German customers who form the largest part of their market.

During our visit, when we were a group of 17 English people, there were French, German and Dutch staying there.

Dinner is served at 19.00hrs and there is usually a choice of 2 dishes for each course. Those served when we were there included:

• Rocket with parmesan shavings, mushroom risotto, thin slices of marinaded beef with cauliflower cheese;

• Baby artichokes, cream pea soup, trout covered in parmesan and strips of zucchini then grilled;

• Parma ham, cream cheese and bread stick lollipops, pasta with bolognaise or tomato ragu, veal cooked in balsamic vinegar and zucchini au gratin;

• Carpaccio of marinaded beef, cream of mushroom soup or pasta with tomato or vegetable ragu, chicken steak with gorgonzola served with tiny onions cooked in balsamic vinegar or casseroled rabbit with polenta. Dessert of fruit salad, strawberry ice cream, chantilly and green sauce. (red, white & green representing the Italian flag!);

• Carpaccio of marlin on rocket, tomato soup or spaghetti with ginger sauce. Veal cooked with cheese or in an aniseed sauce served with fennel au gratin.

The wine list put together by Marcello focuses on local wines mainly from the Veneto wine area. It includes selections from Ca’ Rugate, Le Tende, Cavalchina, Balestri Valda, Valerio Zenato and Ca’ La Bionda, all of whom were visited during our group’s stay. These are all high quality producers, mostly family run businesses, with a passion for producing the best wine that they can. A few days stay at Al Caminetto certainly confirmed that fact.

As we left in the middle of October 2008, the hotel was closing for the winter. Giacommo was starting the off-season programme of maintenance and considering what should be done to improve the facilities before the start of the 2009 season in April or May

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tallsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer Seeblick oben, sonnig, schöne Aussicht, leises Rauschen/Straße. Balkontüre zu total ruhig. Zi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank officeprofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Man geht auf allen Etagen kein Risiko ein.Trotz der Lage an der Durchgangsstraße ist das Hotel ab ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kheinemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torri del Benaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Marina
Hotel Garni Marina
#5 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#17 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#16 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
57 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albergo del Garda
Albergo del Garda
#14 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baia dei Pini
Hotel Baia dei Pini
#10 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel al Caminetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Caminetto

Address: Via Gardesana 52, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torri del Benaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torri del Benaco
Price Range: £89 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel al Caminetto 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the slopes of Monte Baldo, known as "the Botanical Garten of Europe", on the Riviera degli Ulivi of Lake Garda, Hotel Al Caminetto offers its guests a pleasant and relaxing holiday favoured by its mild Mediterranean climate. Good Italian food, lovingly prepared by the landlady Mrs. Vanna herself, and a large selection of wines with a guarantee of origin can be enjoyed in the inviting and comfortable dining room. The whole place is clean and well looked after which shows the traditional quality and simplicity of a family-run hotel. The bedrooms, which are tastefully and elegantly furnished, have a balcony and come with bathroom, direct-dial phone, safe, Satellite TV, radiator and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel al Caminetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Caminetto Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing