We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th Birthday Celebrations!”
Review of Hotel Benacus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torri del Benaco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Benacus
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Torri del Benaco
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Myself and 2 friend are all 60 this year so we decided to go with our partners to Lake Garda for a week of early celebrations. We picked this hotel as it is a family run hotel and within walking distance to the town. The rooms were very nice and large although if we had visited during the hot summer months we would have probably struggled with the heat as there is no air conditioning, but actually we didn't have a problem. Our room had a balcony and the views across the lake was stunning. Unfortunlatey the rooms at the front are directly onto the main road and the noise can be very disturbing, although we didn't let it upset our holiday. The rooms the back of the hotel are fine so it might be a good idea if the owners installed double glazing to mask the noise. The food was great and we were very impressed. Its a pity there was no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms but this was a minor point. The family themselves were really very nice and helpful.

We did find it strange that the hotel didn't take credit cards (which we didn't know beforehand) and we had to pay our final weeks drinks bill with cash, which did make it very difficult for one couple as they had to draw money from the cash machine.

The pool is quite small but adequate, although it was a bit bizarre that everyone had to wear a swimming cap - not very flattering!! The owners allowed us to take our room towels to the pool which they later replaced with clean towels.

Torri itself is a beautiful small town and easily accessible. The one problem is that the ferry boats only stop there twice a day so you need to take the bus to Garda if you want to go out of the early morning times. The buses only run once an hour and can get very full, so if you can't get on it, there is another hour wait until the next bus. We really enjoyed travelling around the lake on the buses and the ferries but some people may prefer to have the use of a car.

We had a fabulous time and really enjoyed our 60th birthday celebrations, especially as our four other friends had never been to Lake Garda before - this was our third visit. I would definintely go back to this hotel again as its in a very lovely town on the Lakes, although I'd probably book a rear facing room.

Room Tip: If you don't like road noise then I would suggest booking a rear facing room, but then you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wontstoptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

I agree with the comments of other travellers that this hotel is in a great position, the staff were great, and the food good, but be aware that in 34 degrees of heat there was no air con and the balcony door open all week made no difference. There are no Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room, and no pool towels so bring your own. Our room overlooked the car park and the hotels washing line and the standard of room was very poor, nothing like the brouchure so get a room at the front at the very least. I had occasion to get up at 0230 to secure a window on the 2nd floor that was banging open and realised that there was no staff on duty, so you are on your own at night.But the staff were great and if the above could be addressed it would a brilliant place to stay, so until then be prepared to sweat it out!

Room Tip: get one on the second floor, at the front the noise is worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsMac013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This family-owned property is a short walk from the adorable small town center of Torri del Benaco. Plenty of parking, nice outdoor pool and very pleasant staff. The room i was in was had a balcony and a super view of lake garda right across the street. There was some road noise but it subsided early enough. The compact historic town center offers many excellent restaurants and a quaint shopping area. I found it just the right location to walk to town for dinner and then 5 minutes back to the hotel. Overall very satisfactory.

Room Tip: Lake side view worth the price - 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

A great family run hotel. We were on a package but never felt like it. Great Italian food and the family who run it gave temendous and friendly service. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. We did ask for a fan and one was delivered within minutes.
We paid eaxtra for a Lake View , which we got BUT, and this is not a fault of the hotel, The view of the lake did not compensate for the road noise. Regulars who were there all had rear facing bedrooms. They obviously knew! But highly recommended and Torri is in easy walking distance and just the right size of village with a great atmosphere. However the bus service, appears to ignore the timetable so getting about is a bit of a challenge. Ok if you enjoy waiting for buses for 30 mins so we would recommend a car hire for a few days,as there are some lovely places to see around the lake. We would recommend this place but young families might find it hard work. Alan and Gillian Brailey Sheffield

Room Tip: If you insist on a lake view ask for rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors as trees obstruct some of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank braileyalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We've just been to Lake Garda for the first time, but it won't be the last. And we will stay at Torri del Benaco at the Hotel Benacus again. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the food was great, and above all, the family who owned and ran it were friendly and helpful, no request was ever turned down. Our friend must have gluten free food, and she was amply catered for. The hotel is right opposite the lake, easy for a pleasant stroll into town, (no hills, nice and flat) or a trip on the ferry.
Francisco, Christian and all the family will work hard to give you a great holiday, I guarantee you'll have a wonderful time!
Nadine

Room Tip: Back rooms are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nadine_naidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Have just returned from Torri, from the lovely Hotel Benacus. We felt like personal guests of the extended family who run the hotel. Lovely food ! Small room which under the circumstances (30c+ temps) would have benefitted from air conditioning ! However a fan was immediately brought and saw us through the heat adequately. Lovely view of the lake, which wasn't spoiled by the busy road. Crossing it was a challenge especially for my slightly disabled husband !
We plan to return, maybe earlier or later in the year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travelgran47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Hotel Benacus exceeded my expectations with its lovely food,perfect location next to the lake shore and its very friendly and helpful staff.The room was spacious (triple room), the beds were comfortable and the place was spotlessly clean. I found it a little hard to sleep one night due to the heat (No air conditioning in the bedrooms), but Francesco provided a fan immediately and that did the trick. All in all a lovely relaxing holiday at a lovely Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ged570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torri del Benaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#13 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Porto
Hotel del Porto
#6 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Marina
Hotel Garni Marina
#3 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel al Caminetto
Hotel al Caminetto
#2 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benacus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benacus

Address: Via Gardesana 28, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torri del Benaco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torri del Benaco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torri del Benaco
Price Range: £35 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benacus 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Hotel Benacus Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing