We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glory of the Past, but a beautiful place.”
Review of Hotel Gardesana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gardesana
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Torri del Benaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2010

A very wonderful hotel, at one of the most beautiful places at the Lake Gardesana. The last renovation was quite some time in the past (especially the bathrooms). A very delightful personal welcome. Privat parking space. Beautiful restaurant with outstanding service. The food makes more promises than it can keep, but it's good. Sadly the refridgerator in our room was empty.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BraunschweigAnemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

Torre del Benaco is a beautiful small town with many nice small restaurants. Tables and chairs are set up in the central square, depending on the day and weather, for people watching. Two of the evenings we were in Torre there was entertainment in the square in the evening, music and singing. Most of the tourists are either Italian or German. We were among the few Americans.

The Hotel Gardesana is family owned and operated. It has nice rooms, European sized, with attractive hall ways and common areas. The staff is friendly and the owner seems to be always present. There is a private car park.

There is a second floor restaurant in the hotel which has good food but you might be happier out on the street in several other restaurants. The street level restaurant that is owned by/affiliated with the hotel has good food and a great view.

All and all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertckelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Several years ago we had an excellent stay at Sirmione on Lake Garda so wanted to return to the area. So last Fall, my wife and I returned to Torre del Benaco on Lake Garda and stayed at Hotel Gardesana for 3 nights in a wonderfully appointed and comfortable room with a balcony view overlooking the small medieval port and castle, Castello Scaligero, and Lake Garda. After 6 weeks of independent traveling by car throughout Croatia, Slovenia and other parts of Italy, we found Torre del Benaco a wonderful place to totally relax and recharge our batteries before returning home from Milan. The entire staff from Manager, Dr. Mirko Lorenzini, reception, housekeepers and the waitstaff were professional, courteous, friendly and helpful. There is private secured parking for guests. The buffet breakfast was a bounty of anything you would want. Attendants insured the food was fresh and satisfying. The area and hotel ambiance is romantic with a choice of many outdoor and indoor dining venues on walkways bordering the lake and are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The time of year was perfect. Being post tourist season. there were few tourists, mostly Germans and a few Americans. We took a very pleasant public ferry ride to Limone, which was very busy with tourists, and back viewing all the beautiful villages along Lake Garda. We also sunned on the terrace in front of the hotel where we would enjoy Italian wines and an Italian drink of aperol, prosecco, and club soda which most guests were drinking and was new to us. I highly recommend this lodging to you. We discovered it through Karen Brown's outstanding lodging books. We use her reviews frequently and have never been disappointed us in any of her or Trip Advisor recommendations. Our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer but will return as this is a place one will want to re-visit.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWithZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Hotel Gardesana has it all; great location overlooking Lk Garda, nicely appointed rooms, outstanding service from all staff from manger to maid service. The rooms are a delight, the views amazing, the breakfast is lavish (can't think of anything not offered), had some difficulties with internet access and the manager went over and above the call of duty to make sure it worked for us.
In addition to all of the above, the costs were modest. Gardesana is rated a 3 star (it far exceeds expectations), the next hotel we went to was also a 3 star and probably deserves only 1 star (maybe even not that much - see my review of Villa Belvedere, Lk. Como)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciao-bg5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Hotel in idyllic location on harbour in small intimate town of torri.Reception very friendly and lakeside balcony room more than adequate.whilst the hotel is 3 star,it is really 4 star in ambience.It only lacks facilites for residents such as residents lounge/lying out area which might be a drawback in hot weather.Would definitely return.Our only disappointment was meal in main dining restaurant which was expensive for what was produced and service very slow-waited 1.5 hours for second course!We had a much nicer meal in trattoria bel arrivo across street.Otherwise a quality place to stay and owner and staff very polite.Tori itself is lovely and not over touristy although very few boats stop there apart from car ferry.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dermotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed here for a week at the end of August. (2nd Time) Absolutely adore this hotel. Don't think its in any of the brochures, which suits us fine. Unlike the other 'touristy' spots, it's virtually unspoilt. (Very few English).

Staff are very friendly and helpful. We were fortunate to have lake views, with small balcony, overlooking the harbour and castle, which in the evening was magical. The food was excellent.

Night time entertainment consisted mainly of live music by the harbour, and the hotel itself.

I think the only reason this hotel is rated three star, is the fact that it does not have a swimming pool, fitness centre, etc. In all ather respects it should be rated higher, witness the fact that many famous people (including King Juan Carlos) have stayed here.

Can't wait to return. Love it............

Pat Weetman

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatWeetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We only stayed here one night but this was the place I would like to stay the longest the next time we visit Northern Italy. The hotel has the prime location of the village, private parking, refurbished rooms and excellent service. I rarely give full points to a hotel but this stay deserves it.

The room was stylish and spotless, not that big but we had a nice balcony with flowers chairs and a partial view of lake Garda (see picture). The parking is across the street and a little hard to find if you are here for the first time.

Yes, there was a show and music by the pier by the hotel and you could count is as a positive or as a negative. It won't continue the whole night, though.

The hotel has a terrace bar and restaurant and another restaurant inside. We had a meal at the terrace. The food was ok, but nothing to write home about. However, the breakfast was excellent and you could eat it on the balcony. Water pressure in the shower was of sufficient Italian standard although not what we are used to in Scandinavia.

The hotel will give you beach towels should you want to take a swim in the lake. It is a short walk to a small beach. The hotel is not cheap but they aim for perfection. I am not sure if the terrace restaurant is actually owned by the hotel or not.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fin_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torri del Benaco
20.2 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,234 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel del Porto
Hotel del Porto
#7 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel al Caminetto
Hotel al Caminetto
#2 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#13 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
57 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardesana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardesana

Address: Piazza Domizio Calderini 5, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torri del Benaco
Price Range: £116 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardesana 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gardesana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardesana Hotel Torri Del Benaco
Hotel Gardesana Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing