We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Education has never been so much fun”

Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Loire Wine Tours specialises in wine tours in the Saumur and Anjou vineyards of the Loire valley France. Join Simon Grainger an experienced trade professional and have fun visiting the small, family run, independent vineyards. Meet the passionate winemakers and enjoy lunch at a winery. From half day to 4 day wine tours we can customise a tour for you. Wine tours available from Manoir de Gourin, Angers or Saumur.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Education has never been so much fun”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I were collected by Simon from Saumur from the Hotel Anne d'Anjou as recommended by Karin - great recommendation and a beautiful city.
Simon drove us and another couple to our first vineyard. Everything was passionately yet patiently explained in clear terms. No questions unanswered. We walked the whole process.
I learned so much. We were given pen and paper to make notes - I wish I had.
I do remember that the vines are not watered because that would dilute the juice ... that was my big ah ha!
Of course we sampled the wines and may have bought a case or two.
Then to lunch at the Manoir wonderfully prepared by Karin.
A short lecture later we were off to another vineyard. For more education and tasting.
You'll be glad to know that despite threats there was no test at the end.
A great experience. If you're not sure about it then just do it you will not be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Your review sets out the day's itinerary so well. Sorry there was no test at the end. Could it be that Simon felt that you'd learnt enough (or drunk enough) to make it unnecessary!!
Thank you for booking the tour and for taking the time to write such an informative practical review.
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Way To Spend An Afternoon.”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

What a fab way to spend the afternoon. We joined Simon's wonderful Wine Tour under clear blue skies. The whole afternoon was perfectly balanced, plenty of interesting/informative information mixed with laughter & fun . Our visit to the Vineyard was delightful, actually seeing & understanding the process, really brings the taste alive !. Now , back home, when we open one of our Loire bottles, not only do we enjoy the taste , but can relive the experience. Go on, book that tour.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank GabrielleBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
WOW what a great review! You obviously entered into the spirit of the tour and went home with wines you enjoy and appreciate. Simon and I hope your fond memories of the wine tour will long continue.
Many thanks
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Trip to l'Enchantoir to learn how the wine was produced and to taste the excellent wines was great.
It was just a pity that we could only get 6 bottles in our two seater. Perhaps next time we will go in a bigger car!

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank rogparsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Simon and I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review.
At L'Enchantoir you will have tasted around 10 wines; whites, pinks, reds and sparkling. Such a shame you couldn't buy more then. If you'd like to buy more in the UK we currently have some great offers on our gfwine site.
Sante
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, Zeeland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Winetasting at Domaine de l'Enchantoir”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We enjoyed our afternoon wine tasting and lecture from Simon about the different regions and types of Loire grapes/wines. We went to Domaine de l'Enchantoir were Brigitte van den Boom took us to the vineyards. Afterwards we had a lovely winetasting in one of their tasting rooms.
Fabulous sparkling and light red wines to be bought!!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Simon always enjoys lecturing.. I mean talking about Loire wines!! It's been his passion for the past 6 years and he specialises in importing Loire wines into the UK.
Domaine de L'Enchantoir is a small family run vineyard producing award winning wines and warmly welcomes our wine tour guests.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A delightful, informative tour”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at Le Manoir for a week and joined Simon on his wine tour on the third day. We found the whole afternoon enjoyable, lots of valuable information provided and a good tour of the wine making process at a small vineyard. We also bought a significant amount of wine after the tasting session and it has all been excellent so far. The red is laid down until next winter and we shall see what that is like then! Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank SteveWA4246SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin G, Owner at Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Simon and I are so pleased to hear that not only did you you enjoy the tour but are still enjoying the wines you bought from the vineyard.
The Saumur / Saumur-Puy-Notre-Dame reds will keep well for a few years - if you can resist opening them!
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 
Saint-Germain-sur-Vienne, Chinon

Been to Loire Wine Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing