We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A nice mom and pop kind of place. Friendly staff, nice basic room, and a cafe across the street. The cafe's home made pancakes are excellent. No complaints other than no coffee in the room or lobby. Just a nice, simple room at a good price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DigitalBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Lucky we were only staying one night in this place, the room had a discreet smell of urine in it and the room was slightly dirty although air con machine very good. The cafe attached to this hotel although doesn't look like much, the food is good and very friendly and lovely staff. The location is good in terms of Camuy caves but there is no where to go to eat outside of this area as it is pretty much a ghost town so had to eat in the cafe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreeAlejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Beds are not good and roaches every where kept saying if we mess up we have to pay 50 dollars and asking how many towels I would say 6 they w say you could only have 4 so why ask ugly room and bathroom this should cost 50 dollars

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abianarosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel was fine. Check-in was great - communication was good and they even gave us some free drink vouchers for PR rum & beer to use at their café (we didn't use). The rooms are pretty basic/Spartan. We needed more towels so I phoned the front desk and the towels arrived within minutes. Pretty excellent service. The kids wanted to swim in the pool but for some reason it was closed so that was out. We ended up heading straight down the road behind the hotel and hit the beach. It was a pretty nice area and glad we found it otherwise we'd have been bored silly. Our room was in the hotel complex (not over the café) and was fairly quiet. The air conditioner helped drown out some of the traffic noise. The location was pretty convenient for us, as we were just using it as a stopover on route to San Juan.

Check out the beach if you go. Lots of neat birds, fish, crabs etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60degreesN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We booked one night here to see the Camuy caves, and this was close by. The room was on a very noisy street, and you could hear the thumping music from the downstairs cafe. The lamps were broken in our room. The rooms were very outdated. Would not recommend this place if you're looking for a good night's sleep.

The only plus: the staff was very friendly and the downstairs cafe was a convenient place to have breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Attending a conference in nearby Arecibo, I had the need of a room close to the local university. Having lots of experience with the Puerto Rican paradores, I decided to give El Buen Cafe Hotel a try. It was nowhere near the quality of others I've stayed at. Shabby furniture, a noisy location, and poor linen make this place a choice of last resort. Positives: friendly and attentive staff, good wifi, and cleanliness. Having their restaurant nearby is a plus, but it is no mesón gastronómica.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the main hotel, not over the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Ok lets get straight to the point..This is a hotel for people staying on buisness absolutely...nothing to do whatsoever...its not on a beach..you have a sams club in front and home depot on the side..its smack dab in the middle of the #2...Hotel restaurant was decent.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinchorrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatillo
0 mi away
Hotel Parador EL Buen Cafe
30.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
137 reviews
18.2 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Manati
Hyatt Place Manati
#1 of 1 in Manati
503 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel El Guajataca
Hotel El Guajataca
#1 of 2 in Quebradillas
162 reviews
13.2 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Address: 381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Price Range: £65 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run "Parador & Meson-Gastronomico" is the only located in the Hatillo area. Its spacious 49 rooms are fully equipped with the latest of services. The Parador also has a outdoor pool, free parking and front desk service 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Rico Parador
Hotel Parador El Buen Cafe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing