We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be sorry to leave!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Paquerie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limeray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Paquerie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Limeray
Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will be sorry to leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Wonderful stay with Brian and Therese. Comfortable room hewn into the limestone. Hospitality and helpfulness were outstanding, and we really enjoyed breakfast in their beautiful home. Merci!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

My 12yr old daughter and I stayed in this terrific b&b for four nights. Organizing the booking was easy , and the owners provided plenty of advice ahead of our trip. Therese (a marvelous and generous host) helped out when our rental car got a flat tyre on the way to the house and made us feel very welcome when we ( eventually) made it!! breakfasts were great. Views across the Loire valley in the afternoon light were superb, the yellow sunflowers nodding their heads as the sun started to cool. Accommodation is in a 'cave' , which does not explain the charm of this room hollowed out of the soft limestone of the hills in the area. Variously used for hundreds of years as a home, a wine cellar and now a guest room, this cave is unique. Beautifully furnished, the room is comfortable and the beds provide a great nights sleep. We will come again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamplemousse8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and I, both over 60's Australians, stayed 6 nights at La Paquerie and found it thoroughly enjoyable and different. Different in that it was the first and possibly the last time we will stay in a "cave" where the temperature was constantly comfortable thus we slept wonderfully. Brian and Therese, the hosts, remarked how most of their guests seemed to find they sleep well in the cave. The B & B, modern facilities, roomy, welll appointed and demonstrated Therese's wonderful taste. As a previous review detailed it is separate to Brian and Therese's home thus affording absolute privacy. The premises are are idealy located to tour the Loire and handy to facilities, a 5 minute drive to the supermarket and petrol station. The garden provides an ideal place to enjoy the view over the fields below and an afternoon or evening drink. Brian and Therese are excellent and worldly hosts, Brian an ex pilot and photographer and Therese a very accomplished artist, potter and pianist, both of who are extremely interesting and have a wealth of knowledge of the area to share. Breakfast, taken in Brian and Therese's home, were a delightful time during which to review the previous day's and the day's upcoming events with them. We certainly will recommend La Paquerie to friends and tripadvisor readers alike.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burrowsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, CA.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at La Paquerie which was a guest house carved into the hillside by the original owner. It is now adjacent to a charming house owned by Brian and Therese Morgan who go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Even though we still had the chill of winter nipping at our heels, this was a quiet haven after 11 days in hectic Paris. I only wish we could have been there when the garden was in full bloom. Our hosts were charming and easy to communicate with and they sent us to great restaurants including one of our best meals in France at the Auberge de Launay in Limeray. We shared our bottle of champagne with them on their patio that overlooks the valley. Our cottage had its very own little patio and it was great to just sit, relax and watch their two cats chasing after birds. Once you got the hang of the nearby roundabout, it was a 5 minute jaunt into Amboise and the enchanting chateau of Chenonceau and others were very easy to get to. If you like the ambience of the French countryside and yet want to be close to Amobise, then I highly recommend this place. You will love dining in Therese and Brian's breakfast room and taking in all their lovely souvenirs from places they have lived all over the world. They are a well respected and loved couple in this part of the Loire and we were honored to share their home! Thanks Trip Advisor for recommending this place to us.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MClavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

A great place to stay after a full day exploring the Loire.
This property is a B&B about 5 mins drive from Amboise. It is seperate from the proprietors dwelling and offers privacy.
The property is set high on a ridge which overlooks farms towards Amboise.
The location is ideal for sunset sippers - watch the hot air ballons and listen to the bird calls - Just the best!!!!!
The room consists of a large bedroom/sitting area and a generous bathroom all of which is tastefully furnished.
I should mention the room is located in a cave/troglodyte which adds to the ambience of the property.
The hosts Therese and Brian were very helpful with suggestions of what to do, see and where to eat.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we intend to return.
If you visit Chenonceau try Restaurant L'Orangerie - We found it outstanding and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetA1too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limeray
0.9 mi away
Auberge de Launay
Auberge de Launay
#1 of 2 in Limeray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Relais du Silence Domaine des Thomeaux
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
4.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paquerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paquerie

Property: La Paquerie
Address: 80 rue de Poce, 37530 Limeray, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Limeray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Limeray
Number of rooms: 195

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing