We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Davenport”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Davenport's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Davenport's Cottage
Open-plan living area with woodburning stove Open-plan living area with dining table (seats 6)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Welcome to Davenport's Cottage
Open-plan living area with woodburning stove
Open-plan living area with dining table (seats 6)
Master bedroom ensuite
Open-plan living area with kitchen in background
Twin room
Cottage with sunroom and large gravel outdoor area
Single room
Culdaff Bay
View from around cottage down to Culdaff Bay
Sea view within walking distance of the cottage
View of cliffs a short walk from the cottage
View of nearby headland
Sunrise from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Culdaff, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natasha M...
1 review
“ Davenport”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a fantastic stay at davenports cottage as a family of 7.
We arrived to the big woodburning stove lit with freshly baked cookies on the table and a full basket of turf. The cottage is perfect and has everything you would need for a break in donegal rain or shine. The location was beautiful with sea views. We throughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return and will recommend it to our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamandBar...
Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting from the moment you step through the door!”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We all loved this cottage. Arrived on a cold rainy day, and Alan had the house warm and cosy with a fire in the wood heater, cookies on the table, and fresh eggs from their hens in the fridge. Lovely comfortable sunroom - wonderful place to relax for a chat or read a book. Alan and Jennifer are lovely, obliging hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The farm dogs were friendly and gentle (and smiling!), and we enjoyed driving out past the farm's black faced sheep with their new lambs every day. McGrorys is a great local pub with music. Lovely cottage, lovely hosts, lovely location. Couldn't recommend more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming atmosphere of the house and the friendliness of the owners without being intrusive.
Liked least: Had some trouble working out the cooktop.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneeLyn
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a great stay at the cottage!! Alan was kind enough to meet us at a local pub to direct us to the cottage. We walked in to find a roaring fire in the stove as well as delicious cookies on the table. They even supplied some fresh eggs for our first morning's breakfast.

The cottage was exceptionally clean and a perfect size for the 5 adults and one child. The view from the top of the hill and all the windows in the cottages was amazing. We enjoyed walking down the hill into the town of Culdaff. Great jumping off point for exploring my family heritage in Carrowmenagh as well as visiting Malin Head and Culdaff Beach. We even took a day trip into Northern Ireland to see the Giant's Causeway (only about 1.5 hr by car).

We enjoyed our stay and certainly recommend this beautiful cottage to anyone in wanting to stay in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views were spectacular
Liked least: wi-fi was spotty
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlo_27
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful location - perfect for a relaxing family break”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent 2 days at Davenport's Cottage in April 2016 and had a wonderful stay. This cottage seems to have consistently rave reviews and I can really see why. We are a family of 4 (2 children aged 7 and 5) and my mother also came along with us. The cottage is in a gorgeous location - a 5 minute drive from Culdaff centre, in beautiful countryside with glorious views over Culdaff bay.
The cottage itself is spacious and has a lovely homely feel - beautifully decorated with lots of little touches that make it feel like a real home from home. It is immaculately clean and well equipped with everything you could need. We arrived to a blazing fire in the wood burner and some delicious home baked cookies, a lovely treat after a few hours driving from my mum's house!. We were also kindly left with a large basket of logs to burn during our stay.
The cottage is well laid out, with a large master bedroom + ensuite to one side of the living room, and the other 2 bedrooms (and another bathroom) to the other side of the living room. As well as the large comfy living room (with fire and good big table for meals), there is also a lovely separate sunroom with sofas, a perfect place to enjoy the evening sun (even in April!) and relax with a glass. of wine.
The cottage is on a working farm (although you would hardly know it as it is so quiet and peaceful), which our kids were delighted with - it was lambing season and the owner Alan very kindly let them see some baby lambs, and they also loved playing with the 3 dogs Cindy, Mia and Sky - they are still talking about them! There is also a great games room in a separate outbuilding near the cottage, which has a table tennis table and pool table . Our kids loved it, and I imagine it would be great for teenagers too.
We were very lucky with the weather during our stay, as they few days before had been showery. We were able to walk around Malin Head, which has a great coastal path to follow with stunning views, and we also spent an afternoon on Culdaff beach which is a beautiful sandy beach where the kids had a great time clambering over the rocks and making sandcastles, There is also a great little playground right next to the beach. On our way home we visited Doagh Famine Village, which is only around a 20 minute drive away and is a great place to visit if you are interested in Irish history.
We ate out in McGrorys pub in Culdaff and Simpsons in Carndonough the two nights we were there - both had delicious food and very good value.
We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone looking to visit this area - it is definitely one of the best we have ever stayed in, and there is so much to see and do in the surrounding area, we all wished we'd had longer. A huge thank you to Alan and Jennifer for making our stay so comfortable and for being so kind to the kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views from the cottage
Liked least: Havng to leave!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori O
1 review
“A beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage was just perfect for our stay and I loved the evenings beside the stove after the long days sightseeing! Alan thank you for making us feel so comfortable and we look forward to our return visit to see you, the dogs and glorious Culdaff again.

P.s. The boat ride from the pier down the road is a real treat -we where up close and personal with basking sharks and dolphins! Great memories...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy homely feel of the cottage
Liked least: No bank machine in village....shop does cash back though
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alivenkic...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No need to search anymore for a holiday home in Culdaff; you just found it!”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Could not fault this house. Beautifully presented in a relaxing scenic area. Few minutes driving distance to Culdaff centre or 10-15 minute walk. Immaculately clean! Everything you need provided and wonderful, welcoming hosts who cannot do enough to make your stay as comfortatble and enjoyable as possible. Highly reccommended and would most definitely return. Just waiting for that lottery win so I can book out the the entire summer!
Just book it! You will not be dissappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ger M
1 review
“Nicest rental we have ever stayed in on Inishowen.”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Culdaff is a good location in the context of it being by a really nice blue flag beech and McGrory’s for food and drink, and having good access to the other main attractions on Inishowen … Moville for its’ really good coastal walk, Carn for getting provisions and nice cafés, Ballyliffin for beach and nice hotels for eating in, Clonamany for the August festival and also reasonable access to Buncranna also.
We brought a 4 and 5 year old so there we’re playground at all the above locations. We also took a week in the pool at Ballyliffin lodge as the weather let us down a bit on our visit … even by Donegal standards, we were a bit unlucky with the weather.
The cottage itself is in a stunning location. It’s immaculately clean and really nicely furnished and equipped. The attention to detail included the eggs, cookies and fire provisions provided on arrival. There are the extras like the pool and table tennis table games room.
No reflection on the Cottage itself but we did a lot of commuting to Clonmany to visit relations which was a downside for us personally. Also, we were a bit paranoid about the kids doing damage in the house.
Overall, this is a cracking rental and a credit to the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the house
Liked least: Nothing to mention
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing