We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for our anniversary trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #26 of 386 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for our anniversary trip!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

HOLA! We had an amazing and romantic trip to the Casitas! The entire El Dorado resort is beautiful and well taken care of. We were surprised how many wonderful workers we saw working hard every day, and yet they paused to greet us as we walked by, making us feel quite welcome. Everybody there was amazing, including Martha and Luis (concierge who were always willing to help us, even when we locked ourselves out of our room. Luis remembered our names impressively well), Irving (beach butler who we loved to talk to and he helped us with our Spanish), Benigno (pool guy who told great stories even though he spoke little English...and he made us a cricket out of a palm strand), and Luis (at the #29 bar that consistently took care of us and asked how we were doing). We were in a swim up suite and it was wonderful to have the option to hang out outside our room, at the pool, or on the beach (we enjoyed the palapa roof huts for a late afternoon nap). The suite itself was quite large with wonderful amenities...loved the swan made out of towels and the outdoor shower. We also discovered we loved the Miami Vice and Mango Tango frozen drinks. Yum! The open air restaurants were great for lunch (Orlando at the Pizzeria was awesome), while we dressed up for our evening meals and had some delicious food. We were quite impressed with how quick the food service was every place we ate. The dinner on the beach was lovely and we definitely enjoyed being serenaded. The massage for two was a wonderful time to begin one of our days. We loved going down to Guacamayas for the evening entertainment (we learned EXCELLENTE was the only reply we needed to say), and headed back to the Casitas for quiet relaxation. Every day for us was a wonderful experience and we definitely plan on returning. Hopefully it doesn't take us another 25 years! Thank you for a great first impression. EXCELLENTE!!!! Hugs to all. We miss you already!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,799
    579
    206
    61
    38
See reviews for
249
3,723
61
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,828)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent our 2 weeks honeymoon at this apparant 5* gourmet all inclusive luxury resort in September and it's an experience we will never forget for all the wrong reasons. The whole resort was like a building site as there was major refurbishment of suites and restaurants underway which we were never pre advised of, and pneumatic drills every day was far from the relaxing romantic honeymoon we expected. We booked a swim up casita and in total had to move 3 times due to leaks inside and outside our suite and was refused entry to restuarants as we had no clothes that met the dress code as they were all being washed thanks to a leak in our suite that saturated our clothes. Despite giving many months notice of dietary requirements there was a complete disregard. If you are vegetarian or have any allergies then best of luck to you at this resort. Given fish in a vegetarian meal and products containing egg when they were fully aware of the advised allergy. After Jo jo's saying they had nothing that met the explained dietary requirements we left and headed to the health bar for them to say the same. The end result was a plate of dry lettuce, cucumber and tomatoe, not quite the 5* gourmet all inclusive resort advertised! Despite complaining on numerous occasions to Olgar and our concierge the food situation was never resolved. End result weight loss on an 5* all inclusive holiday! At the end of our 2 weeks of hell in this resort we were offered 5 nights free return stay providing we signed to say we wouldn't publish our experience or opinion on any public media site. As human beings we have a right to express our opinion and forewarn any prospective visitors to this resort, we therefore declined the offer of 5 nights free return stay and here we are exercising our right to complete a review. Quite frankly we would not go back to this resort if they paid us, not even for 5 minutes let alone 5 days! We paid £7000 for our honeymoon which was completely ruined and we will never get that time back. We have visited many countries and stayed in many different resorts from the cheap and cheerful to the extravagant and this was by far the worst experience we have ever had. Poor accomodation, poor service, poor food, poor cleanliness resulting in a cut foot in suite, foeces on our terrace, rubbish entertainment, crash in a buggy, harassment trying to sell massages.... We could go on. On the positive if you're on a weight loss programme or you enjoy wearing ear plugs and an eye mask then you're in luck, this place is definately for you! No doubt the site manager will respond to this review with some excuse, but sadly it is wasted as there were numerous opportunities for them to put things right when we were there. If everyone who was at this resort when we were left a review they would all say the same, we were not the only ones who had this horrific experience. They probably can't leave a review though because they're likely to have fallen foul of this resorts gagging tactics to prevent people from exercising their human right to give an honest opinion

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Zobo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is an incredible resort. My husband and I were amazed at how hard every single person on staff works!! From the grounds people to the concierge - every person is working their butt off to make sure your vacation is perfect! Upon arrival we got double upgraded to the Casitas!! That was such an incredible treat that WHEN we come back, we have no other choice but to book the Casitas Suites!! Our bar tender for our pool area, Israel, was awesome! He took good care of us! We went with a group that had lots of food allergies and every restaurant at the resort was very accommodating to each food allergy (gluten free and vegetarian). The food was incredible. Other places we have stayed at in Mexico have had more mediocre food but this place has incredible food!! Incredible food, service, drinks, pools, and rooms! The entire resort is gorgeous. If you are debating if you want to stay here or go with somewhere else, just choose El Dorado Casitas Royale! You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Casitas side are more exclusive and nicer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have been to the El Dorado resort 4 times and each time has been better than the last. We were in an infinity pool swim up Casita and it this was the best vacation my wife and I have ever had. This was our 7th trip to Mexico so the bar was already pretty high. The staff, service, room, amenities, food, entertainment and atmosphere were just amazing. We are very active and love to walk the resort, but others have said, if you are not into that, you will find yourself waiting for shuttles. The few times we did need to get across the resort quickly, a shuttle came by quickly and it was not an issue. The new restaurant Santa Fe was a nice surprise. The multiple course dinner is something to experience. Breakfast at Santa Fe is also very nice as it is quiet with beautiful views. We indulged in sunrise massages and the candlelight dinner on the beach. Both were amazing and exceeded expectations. I cannot say enough about the staff and friendliness of El Dorado. It is infectious and we met so many awesome people as everyone is a constant state of happiness!!! We will be going back to El Dorado for years to come.

Pros: Location (20 minutes from airport), Food, Staff, Quality of Amenities, Drinks, Bars, Pools, Room Quality, Friendliness, Cleanliness, Attention to detail

Cons: Large resort (not necessarily a con but could be for some people), Beach is a bit rocky and the artificial reef barriers are a bit unsightly (not a con for us but could see how some people could view it as such)

Room Tip: The Casitas are worth every penny. The service and quality of the rooms is like nothing I have seen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HuskerTraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful place. Great food. Friendly people. Incredible room. Best service and staff. Definitely go hang out with Cesar at Bar #28!!! Hands down the best service and coolest guy on the property! Tell him Mr. Chance said hello... We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We LOVE El Dorado Royale!! This was our 4th visit to this resort and it literally feels like our home away from home! We became "Exotic Members" last year at the entry level which is the Sapphire Level. We are so glad we did because we plan on coming back forever! When we checked in we were told we all were upgraded to Casitas at the Ruby Level (there were 3 couples). The added benefit to Ruby is we all had swim up suites, and we were assigned a Butler! We've stayed in Casitas once before and I will never stay in the Villas side again! I am just too spoiled by the Casitas pools, the rooms, everything. The only drawback is that is IS a huge resort so YES you will need to use the shuttle golf cart system but they run all the time and your Concierge will call for you on the Walkie. So if you don't want a large resort this place may not be for you. The service is impeccable, the food is amazing and I can't say enough about it. Our favorite restaurants are Kampai, which is Pan Asian, Santa Fe Grill which is very new, and D' Italia which there is one in Villas section and one in Casitas. You can use any restaurant on the resort no matter where you stay. By the end of the vacation you feel like the staff is your family! Beach beds on the beach are awesome too. If you do stay in the Villas section the rooms are equally as nice just smaller. The ONLY complaint I had was that the lighting in the bathrooms of the Casitas rooms (or at least ours) was horrible! I did leave it as a comment upon check out so hopefully they will do something about that. Love love love El Dorado Royale and Casitas and I would recommend it to anyone!! And I agree with Marci F!!!

Room Tip: If you want to splurge Casitas is the way to go!! Each section as a private pool that anyone in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ShellSeveney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Upon arrival at El Dorado Royale, they offered us an upgrade to their Dorado Casitas. After taking a mini tour of one, we decided to splurge and do it. You only honeymoon once! We were glad we did it. The Casitas offer a great view, its a great room, and it offers additional amenities that we were very happy with. The service and food at this resort is superb. We stayed 10 nights there and hit every restaurant (7 of them), bar, and lunch spot they offered. We only had one meal that we didn't care for. We ordered room service a couple of nights and that takes a little while to get to you (45 mins to an hour), but was great when it did. We had breakfast brought to us 5 of the days and went out for breakfast the other 5. Part of the Honeymoon package is a candlelight dinner on the beach. That was really excellent. They offer an upgrade to a lobster meal. I thought it was a reasonable charge for how much lobster they give. It was impressive. Everywhere we went the staff was friendly, some were joking, and most were helpful and timely. I didn't much care for our concierge, he was awkward and not very helpful, but there were others around that were more capable. As you'll read in other posts, they make an attempt to sell you on a package. We sat through it but declined. We never felt any pressure to do it and were never asked about it again after we declined. The resort is sizable, so people talk about walking a lot. I don't know... I'm not lazy, and you eat so much food it's probably good to walk, yeah? I feel like the complaints on here are people really reaching. There are shuttles around the resort that come by randomly, sometimes you catch it, sometimes not. I personally liked everything not being stacked on top of each other. Being spread out makes certain areas of the resort more private. We were able to hang out with people or get away from everyone when we wanted to. It was really quite nice. The beach left a little to be desired. If you're laying out on it, theres plenty of space. If you're swimming, its rocky getting in. Rooms are clean. We got maid service everyday and a turn down service every evening. Everyone's perspective is different. Overall, we found the place to be fantastic! We didn't talk to anyone that was unhappy with anything while we were there either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
9,800 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.3 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
1,165 reviews
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#16 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
#25 Green Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing