We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #27 of 389 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were upgraded to Casitas and the room was great- large, nicely appointed and very clean. The Casitas part of the resort is quieter than the Villas side which suited us. We tried all of the restaurants - the food was of a very high standard and the staff attentive. The portions were small however it was no problem to order more than 1 dish each at a time. The staff across the resort made the holiday however; our concierge Luis and Martha (block 29) were wonderful- Luis in particular going above and beyond what was expected of him. I am pregnant and we are very grateful for all the efforts he went to to make sure that I was comfortable, well and had everything that I needed - Luis thank you! Our bar tender Luis (at Quetzal pool) was attentive and remembered our drinks, even bringing them over without us having to ask. Irving, our beach butler, was fantastic - wonderfully polite and attentive. The only thing that could possibly let the hotel down is the beach - sea defences have been put in place to protect the resort in the event of a hurricane. Whilst I understand why the defences have been put in, they are unsightly and make finding a large area of sea to swim in quite difficult. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose Casitas for a more chilled out holiday, the ability to pre book all restaurants for dinner an...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Amy R,
Thank you for recounting your experience in such vivid detail. I thoroughly enjoying reading your feedback and happy you had a great vacation here with us. The fact that we have many fishes around that area is more than a demonstration to all of us that the sandbags are for a benefit to nature.
We truly appreciated the constructive feedback regarding the beach all comments are more than welcome.
We only hope you may honor us once again with a future visit.

Warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,828)
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,152 - 3,158 of 4,828 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Arrived at hotel, bags taken away at main reception. Taken to casitas reception, welcome drink, told where room was. No one took us to our room, we got lost, finally found it, 3 calls and 2 hours later, bags arrived.
Dress code. Not in forced except at breakfast...
Food . Good. No complaints except...we don't have any food allergies.asked every time we ate
Staff. Very good. Tipped the maid and mini bar guy 50 pesos each day
Drink. Kept us going and some
Grounds. Kept really clean but do they have to attack the foliage every sunny day?
Hola......hate that word now
Pool guy really creepy, why clean all day long and as soon as you are outside your room dash over, really creepy.
Lizards...fell in love with them, fed them flowers all the time
Check out..chaotic...lost bags...we certainly had issues with our luggage

Thomson reps...crap

Would we recommend this hotel...yes

Would we return...no, we could have been anywhere in the world

Room Tip: Swim up a must
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 2007paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Paul T
We very much appreciate your review which points out some interesting matters, like the address.
Thank you for your review and the recommendations i am sure that many future travelers will greatly appreciate this.
Thank you so much for your contribution.

best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

By far the best place I have stayed at. I am a travel agent in Toronto and have travelled every where in the Caribbean... The property has everything you are looking for, the beach is not the greatest I must say, but the amount pools they have and service makes up for it, believe me! Shout outs to Issac (bar tender) at the Swin-up Bar "Pelicanos Bar" - You are the man! He understands service, he is the man! He made us feel very comfortable and welcomed. Shout outs to Ricardo Mora (Inside Sales Executive), he provided us with a beautiful tour of this property and the newest edition of Generations Resort next door. Ricardo you made our vacation and I want to thank you for your hospitality and professionalism! Food, Service, Rooms, Staff and Facilities are TOP NOTCH PEOPLE!!! SANDALS? Please... No, no way! Trust me, this is better and I know what I am saying, believe me! Book this place now and stop worrying about your choice, you will love it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank dj-serrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear friends from Toronto

It has been a great pleasure to receive your warm review describing your most recent vacation at our premises.
It shows it´s your heart speaking.
We thank your compliments to our staff, services, facilities and atmosphere and I hope you give us the honor of another visit pretty soon.
Looking forward to welcome you again for another memorable holiday,

Best Regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldordoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having just returned from 2 weeks of sheer bliss - am wanting to go back.

Hotel and staff excellent - Casitas Suites absolutely gorgeous. Could not fault at all. Our cleaner Conchito was always smiling and room always left clean with clean towels and bedding every day.

Caesar, our Pool Bar Barman was excellent - always on hand with drinks. Our Beach Butler Javier was also a credit. Always there with towels, bottles of water, appetizers and ice cream/lollies. Coconut Ice Cream to die for.

Our Concierge Patricia and fellow colleagues were very helpful and friendly. Nothing was a bother to them.

Definitely recommend this Hotel - Absolutely Fabulous is all I can say!!!!!

Room Tip: Defintely stay in Castitas Side of Hotel - much quieter than main Hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyD131964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear guests from United Kingdom

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed review on our resort El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

It has been a real pleasure to have you here especialy for two weeks.
We hope we can welcome you once again and provide you a more pleasant vacation.

Kindest regards,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everything about this resort is beautiful. The property is very well maintaned, not once did I ever find a ciggarette butt, or paper towel, or even a leaf floating around! I figured with property maintenance was ran by ninjas.
Our room was always maintaned, although we had 'do no disturb' on the door, which actually was wonderful to stumble through the door too. We got upgraded to a casita suite and now when I go back ill have nothing less. The staff was very responsive to any task not waisting any time to serve your needs. The activities on the property are endless I really enjoyed painting the ceramics it was def a cool memento to take home. over all the best thing was the people, I met people from every which corner of the globe and even got some email addresses. The worst part of this vacation was not being able to call room service when I returned to the states.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear George E,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an energteic review of your recent experience at our premises. It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it.
Looking forward to welcome you back at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma

Yours sincerely,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

this place is phenomenal!! The room...the food...everything!!! The service was excellent. Even had the Executive chef Erik make a special, personally delivered dessert for me and my guest! Would go back over and over!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aglosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Valued guest,
It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients expectations.
It will be a great pleasure to extend your gratitudes to our executive chef and to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.

best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I went to this resort 9 years ago for our honeymoon. We ventured back and it was so much nicer and the service overall was outstanding! The resort has grown so much and that is both a pro and con, depending on what you like. They do have shuttles to transport you throughout the resort, however if you want to see the entertainment in the main building at night, it's tough to get transportation back to your room and it's so late (and most likely you will have had some drinks) so it's a REALLY long walk back to the casita side. We liked the privacy and having our own casita pool/bartender/butler at the beach so the distance never bothered us.

There are more restaurants than you can even eat at while staying there. All that we tried were fabulous! I highly recommend making a reservation for dinner every night or else you will wait about 45 minutes at the nicer restaurants. The service and food at Santa Fe were the best of any that we tried. It's in the casita side between 31 and 32 blocks so can be quite the walk if you're on the opposite side of the resort. If you have the choice of staying in the casitas, I highly recommend spending the extra money to do it. We had an infinity pool on the second level and we used it every day. We spent our mornings at the beach, afternoons at the pool, and late afternoons in our private infinity pool.

We also spent 3 of our days at the spa, which was very top notch. Our beach front couples massage was by far the best of the 3 spa experiences. The breeze from the ocean and the sound of the waves made it unforgetable. We did an 80 minute hot stone massage and it wasn't worth the extra money. It didn't last the full 80 minutes (and we were there 45 minutes early so it wasn't b/c of time), and the massage was just par.

Overall-we would absolutely go back to this resort! We almost bought a timeshare but decided the cost didn't make sense for us.

Room Tip: Casita Rooms with infinity pools on second level have the most privacy! If you like privacy, ask to...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BrianLaurenSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Brian Lauren Simpson,
Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay. It is very special and there is no better reward than to hear about your wonderful experiences at the Hotel.
We very much appreciate your review which points out some interesting matters, like the address.
Thank you for your review and the recommendations i am sure that many future travelers will greatly appreciate this.

I enjoyed reading your feedback and can assure you that your comments will be shared with all staff.

Thank you again and I look forward to your return.
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
10,058 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.3 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
1,181 reviews
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#17 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
#26 Green Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range: £342 - £755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing