We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon experience - can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #25 of 387 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon experience - can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I booked our honeymoon through our travel agent, Jennifer, from The Tropical Travelers. We received the upgraded Honeymoon suite & package plus travel transport through Lomas, which is on site at El Dorado. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with the best, most friendliest service. Our room was impeccable; we had 2 functionality issues: outdoor lights & pool light wasn't functioning and the DVR was broken. I placed a call to the concierge and they were both replaced almost immediately. Later in the week, our refrigerator wasn't getting as cold as it should have been and they also replaced it immediately.
The spa services, especially the water treatments, were fabulous and we visited the spa almost daily.
Food was high quality and very fresh, which can be uncommon at a standard all-inclusive. Portions were on the smaller side, but it was expected and I enjoyed having sensible portions so you could taste a little of everything.
Same goes for the quality of alcohol and drinks. The staff was incredibly attentive and kind; many bartenders remembered our drinks and were always in good spirits.
We enjoyed that the resort was broken up into two parts so we could have our taste of everything: if we wanted a quieter scene, we stayed at the Casitas and our section's swim up bar/pool; if we wanted a more "happy hour party" scene, we took a quick walk over to the El Dorado Royale side to the main pool.
Our experience was wonderful and we are already planning our return for our 1 year anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Christiana R,

It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients expectations.
We'll extend your comments to the department of housekeeping in order to reenforce the job done in the rooms before our guests check in.
Comments like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests’ satisfaction.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.

Best regards,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,846
    585
    208
    63
    38
See reviews for
251
3,769
61
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,853)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My Husband and I went her for our honeymoon the first week in July. It can not say enough good things about this place. I had read almost every review on here before we went so I had some reservations, but It was AMAZING. One of the restaurants was closed while we were there, and we didn't have time to make it to all the open ones. We loved to food. Keep in mind it is Mexico if you are expecting USA 5 star quality, you are not going to get it, but it is much better than any other food I have had in Mexico, and in the States. We Loved Kampai and Santa Fe. Those both you need reservations for because they are crowded. The food everywhere else was excellent also. We had an excellent bartender in the 31 section, he always made sure we were taken care of. We also had a waiter that was always so cheerful and would greet us by name every time he saw us. So if you go to breakfast at Santa Fe and Lunch and Kampai say hi to Hemberto for us! We had a infinity swim up casita and it was worth it! We loved laying in our pool in the mornings then heading out to the pool bar. The castias are mostly couples so the pool tends to be pretty low key. The hotel has tons of amities and stuff to do so you really do not need to leave at all unless you are someone that doesn't sit still well. A couple of recommendations, make sure to bring your own sunscreen (at the store it is like $35), insulated cups (great for frozen drinks, but be careful sunscreen and pool water can make you tumblers foggy), and a raft for floating in the pool (esp if you have a swim out room). This Place was wonderful and we want to go back and would love to go with our family!

Room Tip: The upgrade to the casitas is worth it, and you need to at least have a swim out room (the infinity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wmmuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear travelers,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you to El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.
We are delighted to read that you spent a most wonderful honeymoon with us and found the accommodation, staff and ambiance of the resort very pleasant.
Thank you for the compliments and recommendation about our resort and we look forward for the opportunity to serve you again soon in your Mexican home!

Kind regards,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great 5 days at this resort and really enjoyed our experience. The staff was incredibly friendly, the food was AMAZING throughout every single restaurant we tried (which was most of them), the shows at night were pretty great, we loved having our swim-out pool and the resort was gorgeous -- and impeccably maintained.

Because the resort was so large, they really tried to make you feel special by assigning you a personal concierge (for your area), as well as a reception desk. This was certainly nice but perhaps a little overboard with the amount of times we felt we had to "check in" with our concierge, solidify our departure time and details or be told different things. The initial check-in happened very quickly so it was a lot of details at once, some of which we heard and some of which flew over our heads. The problem was that we were told a lot of things that really were not very pertinent to our visit while a lot of other important things were skipped, which we had to continually ask about. We stayed at the resort 5 mornings and, on 3 of them, received an [unsolicited] wake-up call from 3 different people working in our Casistas area, with questions related to our departure date/time -- even though we had relayed that information the day after we arrived. We also were shut out for dinner on the night that we had booked a shuttle for Playa del Carmen because we had to eat early and we were not explained that Jo Jos would be the only place open, but because we had no reservation, it was too crowded to eat there. This would have been the kind of thing we would have enjoyed understanding from our concierge, who booked us on the shuttle. Little things like that.

Overall, we had an excellent vacation though, but it would be great if there was more communication between the people working at the resort so that we were not woken 3 different times to have to think about our departure, of all things, and the communication that did happen with us was happening a little more efficiently.

Great resort overall! Food was incredible!!! Excellent for a luxurious trip!

Room Tip: While there is a beach at this hotel, it is not necessarily the type of beach that you swim in, fish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank atlantagirl313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for such a wonderful , well formed review. It is very rewarding to know that you have enjoyed every moment of your vacation at the Resort . In addition , your comments are motivating as there is nothing more satisfing that to receive the praise of our valued guests.


We truly regret your negative experience with the concierge staff we are very sorry to read that we were not able fulfill this expectations. I will ensure that your comments are passed along to the chief concierge in order to make the corrections necesary.
We only hope you may honor us once again with a future visit.

Best Regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were upgraded to Casitas and the room was great- large, nicely appointed and very clean. The Casitas part of the resort is quieter than the Villas side which suited us. We tried all of the restaurants - the food was of a very high standard and the staff attentive. The portions were small however it was no problem to order more than 1 dish each at a time. The staff across the resort made the holiday however; our concierge Luis and Martha (block 29) were wonderful- Luis in particular going above and beyond what was expected of him. I am pregnant and we are very grateful for all the efforts he went to to make sure that I was comfortable, well and had everything that I needed - Luis thank you! Our bar tender Luis (at Quetzal pool) was attentive and remembered our drinks, even bringing them over without us having to ask. Irving, our beach butler, was fantastic - wonderfully polite and attentive. The only thing that could possibly let the hotel down is the beach - sea defences have been put in place to protect the resort in the event of a hurricane. Whilst I understand why the defences have been put in, they are unsightly and make finding a large area of sea to swim in quite difficult. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose Casitas for a more chilled out holiday, the ability to pre book all restaurants for dinner an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Amy R,
Thank you for recounting your experience in such vivid detail. I thoroughly enjoying reading your feedback and happy you had a great vacation here with us. The fact that we have many fishes around that area is more than a demonstration to all of us that the sandbags are for a benefit to nature.
We truly appreciated the constructive feedback regarding the beach all comments are more than welcome.
We only hope you may honor us once again with a future visit.

Warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Arrived at hotel, bags taken away at main reception. Taken to casitas reception, welcome drink, told where room was. No one took us to our room, we got lost, finally found it, 3 calls and 2 hours later, bags arrived.
Dress code. Not in forced except at breakfast...
Food . Good. No complaints except...we don't have any food allergies.asked every time we ate
Staff. Very good. Tipped the maid and mini bar guy 50 pesos each day
Drink. Kept us going and some
Grounds. Kept really clean but do they have to attack the foliage every sunny day?
Hola......hate that word now
Pool guy really creepy, why clean all day long and as soon as you are outside your room dash over, really creepy.
Lizards...fell in love with them, fed them flowers all the time
Check out..chaotic...lost bags...we certainly had issues with our luggage

Thomson reps...crap

Would we recommend this hotel...yes

Would we return...no, we could have been anywhere in the world

Room Tip: Swim up a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2007paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Paul T
We very much appreciate your review which points out some interesting matters, like the address.
Thank you for your review and the recommendations i am sure that many future travelers will greatly appreciate this.
Thank you so much for your contribution.

best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

By far the best place I have stayed at. I am a travel agent in Toronto and have travelled every where in the Caribbean... The property has everything you are looking for, the beach is not the greatest I must say, but the amount pools they have and service makes up for it, believe me! Shout outs to Issac (bar tender) at the Swin-up Bar "Pelicanos Bar" - You are the man! He understands service, he is the man! He made us feel very comfortable and welcomed. Shout outs to Ricardo Mora (Inside Sales Executive), he provided us with a beautiful tour of this property and the newest edition of Generations Resort next door. Ricardo you made our vacation and I want to thank you for your hospitality and professionalism! Food, Service, Rooms, Staff and Facilities are TOP NOTCH PEOPLE!!! SANDALS? Please... No, no way! Trust me, this is better and I know what I am saying, believe me! Book this place now and stop worrying about your choice, you will love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank dj-serrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear friends from Toronto

It has been a great pleasure to receive your warm review describing your most recent vacation at our premises.
It shows it´s your heart speaking.
We thank your compliments to our staff, services, facilities and atmosphere and I hope you give us the honor of another visit pretty soon.
Looking forward to welcome you again for another memorable holiday,

Best Regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldordoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having just returned from 2 weeks of sheer bliss - am wanting to go back.

Hotel and staff excellent - Casitas Suites absolutely gorgeous. Could not fault at all. Our cleaner Conchito was always smiling and room always left clean with clean towels and bedding every day.

Caesar, our Pool Bar Barman was excellent - always on hand with drinks. Our Beach Butler Javier was also a credit. Always there with towels, bottles of water, appetizers and ice cream/lollies. Coconut Ice Cream to die for.

Our Concierge Patricia and fellow colleagues were very helpful and friendly. Nothing was a bother to them.

Definitely recommend this Hotel - Absolutely Fabulous is all I can say!!!!!

Room Tip: Defintely stay in Castitas Side of Hotel - much quieter than main Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyD131964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guests from United Kingdom

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed review on our resort El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

It has been a real pleasure to have you here especialy for two weeks.
We hope we can welcome you once again and provide you a more pleasant vacation.

Kindest regards,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
9,923 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.3 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
1,173 reviews
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#17 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
#26 Green Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing