We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Nearby Hotels
US$443
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$391
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,574
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,620
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,546
BanyanTree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$682
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$541
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$650
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$539
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,932
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,780
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,530)
Filter reviews
5,530 results
Traveller rating
4,503
672
241
71
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,503
672
241
71
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach butleroutdoor showercasitas sectionhealth barpersonal conciergesanta fe grillour honeymoonbellini barbeach bum vacationscandlelight dinner on the beachwine pairingroom servicegourmet inclusiveartificial reefcasita suitepool bartenderbeach beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,729 - 3,734 of 5,530 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

If like me you trawl through the reviews prior to your holiday, after looking at previous reviews for this hotel you will be very surprised to see I have only given it 4 stars rather than 5? I am going to start with a couple of negatives and for these reasons only are why we have not given 5 stars.

Firstly coming from the UK, we believe a very important factor going to the Caribbean has to be white sandy beaches with warm crystal clear waters as it’s something you don’t get at home. Regretfully this hotels location doesn’t give you that. The beach is very rocky, if you go towards the Presidential Suites, you will find a small area of the beach which is better and a little less rocky. Also the view out to the ocean is spoilt by the huge rocks they are putting in. I understand why they are doing this, however it spoils the outlook completely. I do not swim in the sea as such, however part of our holiday is to walk along the beach and go for a dip to cool off, again it is very difficult to walk along this beach due to the shingle and small rocks along the shore.

My final negative is WIFI……why when you are spending £1000’s of pounds do you have to pay for WIFI…for each device! Coming from the UK, phone charges are premium whether it is calls or txt messages, therefore we rely on WIFI to be able to contact family and friends back home. Again if you do not want any communication with the outside world then this will not be a problem.

You may think I’m being very picky, however I believe when you are spending all your hard earned savings to come to a place like this, you need to make sure it ticks all your boxes so if you are not a beach person and you are not looking for panoramic views of the Caribbean sea then you will not have a single problem.

Apart from the negatives I have mentioned, I agree with all the other reviews, the hotel, the food, the staff, the grounds, pools are all excellent. The hotel is on a very large complex, which is great for you to have a walk round, you actually feel like you are in a small village rather than confined to a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Donkey1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear guest,

We really appreciate all your comments and opinions. For us is very important to know all our guests experiences.
As you said, everything depends on preferences however, we try to please every guest. That is our main goal.

We will love to have again the opportunity to be part of your holidays If you decide to give us another chance.

Thank you again for your lines.

Sincerely,


Joslin fuentes
Hotel Manager
El Dorado Casitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Without the wonderful help of Vucko, I would have been lost as to where to book dinner reservations, what were the scheduled events and best options available. His help was invaluable. Thank you so much!
The rooms, all facilities, location to pools and beach were excellent, along with the wonderful service provided by all personnel. It seemed like you only had to take a couple of steps before someone appeared offering you transportation to your destination. Of course, all personnel were so helpful and accomodating.
Sue Berry

Room Tip: I stayed in the Casita Suite on the second floor. The units contain 4 suites. Higher rooms had fabulous secluded balconies, while 1st floor were steps away from the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzejoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Mss. Berry,

Thank you very much for the beautiful comment. Certainly Vucko is a true gem for us, as many other employees, oriented always to provide a high quality service.

I am so glad you experienced an excellent time with us. I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,


Joslin fuentes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband surprised me with a trip to El Dorado Casitas for my 40th b-day. We used the same FunJet travel agent we always use and she recommended it. Let me start this review by saying our last trip was to a Sandals in St Lucia and we went all the way with full Butler service, so our expectations were probably a little high. With that being said, we were underwhelmed with the concierge service. It took us 3 different trips to 3 different buildings(on our first day here) to find where our concierge was(keep in mind it's 90 degrees) When we arrived, she was already gone for the day which didn't set well with us either. She did try and contact us, but we missed her so we just decided to do our own thing and catch her the next day. When we did meet Ruth, she was very friendly, but still we were a bit underwhelmed, especially when we asked her about getting us to the lobby for our 7am excursion the next morning(the shuttles don't start until 7am) and she told us oh you may have to walk. We were in Casitas building 32 and that is an extremely long walk. Probably over 20 minutes. I just feel like we should have been taken care of better. The people who booked the trip(Lomas Travel) made one phone call and the bell boy picked us up at 6:40. We never saw Ruth again after our first day. She did however make sure my room was decorated beautifully for my birthday which i appreciated very much. After that first day, our trip became wonderful!! We loved the shuttle drivers! Especially Edy and Leo. The staff from the check in people, bell-boys, wait staff and even gardeners etc were beyond friendly and always asked if we were having a great time. The turn down service and aromatherapy were a wonderful touch. Nothing like coming in after dinner to a clean room.
The food was AMAZING. There really wasn't anything to complain about. We ate at Cocatal for breakfast. They have a wonderful buffet and menu. JoJos was our favorite for lunch. Great view and atmosphere. We also liked to go there in evening to sit by water and have drinks. Had dinner there also. We had D'Italia, and Santa Fe for dinner. Both wonderful. The resort is beautiful from the rooms to the grounds. We were disappointed that it didn't have a water view. Totally blocked by palm trees. We were in 3224 which was a 2nd floor with infinity pool.I would suggest since most don't have water views anyway, if you want infinity pool, go with lower floor swim up. Pool is bigger and you have chairs in the pools. You have to be on the corner of a building to get a water view. The good def out ways the bad on this trip! You will have a wonderful time if you go. We just had a few hiccups along the way.

Room Tip: Casitas are worth the extra. Much quieter and very nice rooms. Just wish they had more water view rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Leslie H,

I would like to thank you for having chosen El Dorado Casitas for your vacation and especially to celebrate your 40th Birthday!

We really appreciate all your comments and opinions regarding your experience and we already took note of them. For us, it is very important to know our guest feedbacks because that is the only way to keep improving.

I truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again.


Warm regards,


Joslin Fuentes
Hotel Manager
El Dorado Casitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We went to Mexico on a whim because the weather at home was terrible. We booked on a Sunday and we arrived on the Monday. I have to say that our experience for the week was fantastic. We were upgraded to a Casitas which was great. The room was large, very clean and well appointed and had an outdoor and indoor shower. We we steps to the beach and had our own covered beach bed which we lounged on every day. There was never a need to rush to secure one as thee were plenty. The food exceeded our expectations and we particularly liked the Italian and Asian restaurants. What made the experience 5 star for us was the friendly and helpful staff. A big shout out to Cesar at bar 27 and Maggie, our beach attendant. They demonstrated every day what it means to provide exceptional service. They always had a smile. Our concierge Jorge was also very good and attentive. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen El Dorado Casitas for your vacations.

I am glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and our outstanding team of professionals as Jorge, Cesar and Maggie.

I appreciate all your comments. We remain at your service for the next time in Paradise.


Best,


Joslin Fuentes
Hotel Manager
El Dorado Casitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Casitas gave my wife and I the perfect spot to relax and unwind. It had the personalized service of a boutique hotel with all of the restaurants, activities and amenities of a giant resort. The entire staff of section 28 did whatever it took to make our vacation perfect. Isac poured drinks all day at the bar; regularly surprising us with shots. Cesar brought us appetizers, ice cream and anything else we needed to the pool and beach. Luis, our concierge, stopped by on a regular basis to make sure everything was going perfectly. On the final night, Ruth our room keeper, surprised us with a heart made of rose petals on our bed and rose petals all over the floor.

Since we were only there for 5 days, we didn't get to eat at all of the restaurants. Our favorite meals were dinner at D'Italia Casitas, lunch at Kampai and the Local Chef's night at Fuentes where we paired our meal with wine flights. A special thanks to MacDeil and Victor for keeping the Mimosas and coffee flowing at Cocotal.

Since the grounds are large, find a driver to buddy up with like Enrique. He may take you back by the crocs but be sure he drives you to the other side of the resort for a Coco Loco. While the resort is huge, it is beautifully kept. Our only disappointment was the beach. Even though it's a bit rocky in front of the Casitas, you can find some sandier spots over by the Royale. We look forward to seeing the beach after they finish Kan Kanán; the world's largest man made reef.

We had a perfect time eating, drinking, relaxing, meeting new people and getting pampered in the Naay spa. The El Dorado Casitas is surely a resort we will return to!

Room Tip: Casitas with number 28s are in the middle of the property. Upper levels offer more privacy while lower levels offer swim up access.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank deadmeatAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear guest,


Thank you very much for share this experience with us and with other travelers.

I am happy to know that you will return to this piece of Paradise.

At el Dorado Casitas we are committed to provide an excellent service, through the honesty, friendliness and our high quality standards.

It would be amazing to serve you again.


Best regards,


Joslin Fuentes
Hotel Manager
El Dorado Casitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews