We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$420
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$467
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$392
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$556
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$501
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$650
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,618)
Filter reviews
5,618 results
Traveller rating
4,578
680
244
73
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,578
680
244
73
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach butleroutdoor showercasitas sectionhealth barpersonal conciergesanta fe grillour honeymoonbellini barbeach bum vacationscandlelight dinner on the beachwine pairingroom servicegourmet inclusiveartificial reefcasita suitepool bartenderbeach beds
Filter
Updating list...
5,272 - 5,277 of 5,618 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

we went here on our honeymoon and from the moment we got there to the moment we left it was paradise...the staff were helpful,always smiling and generally could not do enough for you and nothing was to much trouble,special mention to alexandro the bar man who made our stay that much better by showing us bar tricks and always being there making us laugh, the food is simply amazing whichever restaurant you choose and the service is quick and polite, we stayed in 2824 cassita and the room was stunning as was the rest of the resort...simply the most amazing place and we will be going back in the future.we had a day trip out to cancun and if benidorm is your sort of thing then cancun will suit you but if you want a pampered relaxing holiday then riveria maya is the place..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulandlisa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This was our third trip to this resort, and our expectations were high; as previously we had very few complaints. However, upon arriving and expecting the Casita welcome; the hotel failed us. According to the front desk we were not registered; and the staff stalled us at the steps; not allowing us to go into the lobby until this was checked out. After travelling all day, and feeling hungry, and tired, this was a shock! Fortunately my husband carries all papers relating to the hotel registration, and we had to produce these to the staff who in turn provided the papers to the front desk staff before they would consider calling the Casita check-in to confirm our registration. The hotel had us registered in as December 30, and not January 30 (date of arrival); therefore as far as they were concerned we had been there already. This took time for the Casita check-in to confirm our registration; and allow the staff to take us down to register. The Casita check-in staff reassured us that the mix up was at the front desk; not at their end; but I am not so sure; as they appeared to be surprised to see us. That being said I would like to point out some areas that the hotel can improve upon.
l. Our room (2900 block) needed an upgrade in linen, and towels. At times we were using wash cloths for towels as none were provided. The bed skirt around the bed was stained, and the duvet was worn. Pillows were worn. The pretty netting above the bed was torn, and required replacing.
2. Nothing to sit on other than two upright chairs in the room. A suggestion would be to put a small couch in the room, or two comfortable chairs, with good reading lights. Found that during rainy days; the room was dark. The outside patio chairs need replacing as were rusted, and worn.
3. Television needs upgrading to a flat screen; also it is in a closet which is hard to watch. Expect for the price of the room more of an upgrade in this area.
4. Sun chairs on beach require replacement; as worn out (sagging, and very uncomfortable). Chairs around pool require new cushions; as worn. Last year the sun chairs around the pool; had towel covers on them; noticed these were missing this year.
The hotel still continues to show their grounds off with beautiful flowers, and landscaping. We enjoyed our walks every day, and evening as this is a feature which brought us back for a third time.
The restaurants’ have varied their menus from the year before; but are still exceptionably good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fortpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I have never written a travel review before, but since the reviews were very helpful in our selection of this particular resort, and the fact that our overall experience was outstanding, I thought I would take a few minutes to help those trying to decide on a resort.

This is easy -- pick this resort and you won't be disappointed!

At the top of our list would have to be the service - there are so many staff members available for whatever you need, you'll never wait for anything. Each of them has a smile, and a friendly 'hola' for you each and every time. In particular, I want to recognize our conceirge team of Claudia and Flor - 2 amazing ladies who showered us with pampering and affection the entire week. We also loved Juan at the little beach bar not far from our room - he went out of his way to teach us some Spanish, and educate us about the local culture... we'll see you again Juan!

Our room was stunning. Spotlessly clean, with an amazing outdoor shower that was incredible, particlarly at night under the moon light. The deck, with the outdoor bed, table and chairs for drinks or breakfast and last but not least, our own private infinity pool (well worth the cost of the upgrade). We stayed in building 31 - I would highly recommend this set of suites as they are newer, and at the very most quiet end of the resort.

The entertainment was great - the K team was full of energy and provided a lot of laughs and enjoyment.. the only show we were disappointed in was the Michael Jackson show .. disappointing with bad lip synching!!

The food was very very good... we loved the fact that Casistas visitors were able to make reservations for dinner, with the help of the conceirge, and the golf cart service to drive us throughout the resort whenever we didn't feel like walking .. outstanding. Room service selections were terrific, delivery was quick and efficient.

We are definitely going back .. we miss it already and would highly highly recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic, quiet and completely pampered vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sauve824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

From the time we arrived until the time we left, it was excellent. The service was fantasic. They try to accomodate everything you request. We stayed in the 3100 series Casitas. The pool, bar, room service, concierge, etc., were fantastic. Extremely helpful and accomodating. Room service seemed like they delivered anything I requested. The drinks and food were superb. I would definately go back. I didn't hear a single complaint from other guests. Solid Seven gold stars in my book.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My boyfriend and I were traveling here for a friends wedding. I don't think either of us considered ourselves "resort people" but the El Dorado completely changed our minds.

We ended up upgrading to one of the Casitas Suites and were absolutely thrilled. The location of the suite couldn't have been better and the rooms were amazing. The sounds of the ocean and the open air shower were huge selling points. We also loved the swim up bar below the room and the lounges on the beach. Everything was conveniently located and easy to get to.

The resort was remarkably quiet for it being the busy season and we never felt annoyed or overwhelmed. We didn't have a chance to enjoy many of the restaurants at the resort but we loved the breakfast buffet and the one restaurant we did try.

We had to travel between other hotels and transportation arrangements were much better at the El Dorado as the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. We had great service throughout the entire stay and the staff really made us feel welcome.

We did not attend our orientation to learn about check out and our shuttle back to the airport (oops) but in our rush, the staff was wonderful in making sure we checked out and made our shuttle, all within about fifteen minutes.

The resort was beautiful and clean and I'm only sorry that we were unable to enjoy it more and try out more of the amenities. I guess we'll just have to go back :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ouheeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews