We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no luxury like no clothing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Hidden Beach was a all new experience for us - and this was our honeymoon. Upon arrival in Cancun we took a private limo (not the newest and sleekest as you might expect - but still a nice Navigator stocked with Cuban Rum) to Hidden Beach. Check in was pleasant and we were shown to our room which was a swim-up suite. The room was smaller than I expected but it was clean and very romantic, with a large whirlpool tub beside the Kingsize bed. The food ranged from good to great. Our 7 day stay left us wanting a bit more to choose on the menu, but the ElDorado Suites next door were included in our all-inclusive price so we ate over there one evening in their Asian restrurant (which was very good) - the only problem with going next door is you must dress. And since it does not take very long to get used to the luxury of not wearing any clothing anywhere, anytime period - this seemed like a major inconvenience (imagine that).

Everone we met at Hidden Beach was friendly and (unlike some posters write) there was absolutely no swinging pressure. In fact it never came up at all. It was all we had hoped it would be - relaxed, nude, warm, nude, good food, nude, fun people, nude, polite, accomodating...and you do not need to pack heavily because you get to go NAKED ALL THE TIME!!

We can not wait to go back!!!

R&S, NC

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank rhaigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2008

The wife and I have heard about HB and how wonderful the place is, especially the food and spirits. It seems that sometime after this past April, the food is not what was expected. The grounds, room, pool area are wonderful. The staff is fantastic and we could not have asked for anything more. They treat you like you are a guest in their home and go out of their way to make you comfortable and that your every wish or need is given.
Now if only someone could improve the dinner meals, all would be fantastic, but alas, that is not the case. We were there for 10 nights, and about the only meal in the evening worth mentioning was the pasta and some of the fish. The meat was terrible. On the evening where they have the big meet & greet party on the pation, we didn't see one person even try to finish their meal. We could not even chew the beef, the fish was cold and hard.
All in all, if food is not your main concern, then by all means go, but for us, we won't be back. If liquor is you thing, you'll have a great time.
I must also mention that breakfast and lunch were very good which we enjoyed immensely. It's the dinner that was so disappointing. Other guests that were there on their repeat visit also said this is not what they've experienced over their last visits.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank sunnycpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us at the Trip Advisor portal with regards to tyour recent stay at our Hotel.

We are very sorry to read that you we did not live up completely to the expectations you have set before us and we truly hope that there is a possibility to have an opportunity and welcome you once more at our Hidden Beach Resort or one of our Hotels by Karisma.

Warmest regards,

Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

My wife and I just returned from HBR which was our first time to any type of au naturel resort.

For the first couple of days we mostly kept to ourselves and spent a lot of time at El Dorado. We were not initially confortable with the HBR concept.

The reason we booked with HBR was that we wanted to layout and swim in the carribean without clothes.

What we soon discovered about HBR and what kept us there instead of walking to El Dorado every day, was the excellent service. We had asked for lunch on the beach while at HBR, which they happily provided.

We then requested drinks be delivered to us on the beach every 20-minutes, which they did. The waiters knew your name and greeted you every morning.

After spending more and more time at HBR, we loosened up and relaxed to the point where we felt comfortable being naked around other people and around the pool.

El Dorado was also excellent, but due to the size of that resort, you did not get the personal attention like at HBR.

However, we would probably not go to HBR without having El Dorado next door. The additional restaurants at El Dorado and snorkling, etc., was a big plus.

The snorkeling equipment was free and I went everyday. The best coral is in front of El Dorado but you can find some good spots in front of HBR, and you can snorkel naked at HBR. I found a sea turtle in front of HBR where it apparanlty resides, because we ran into each other everyday.

I discovered that no sun screen is completely water proof and/or the water magnifies the UV, because while snorkeling, I got a little burnt on the bottom. (bring plenty of sunscreen because it is $20 a bottle at the resot).

The beach at HBR is short and rocky, but as much as I like the water and the beach I was fine with that. You can walk out in the water without shoes. There are patches of real good sand to stand or sit out in the water.

El Dorado has a longer beach to walk. My wife and I are runners and although it was difficult in spots, we managed to run down the beach every morning at El Dorado.

At HBR, we had a room upstairs by the disco which was fine. We did not feel as if we missed out by not having a swimup suite. You have more privacy with a 2nd floor room. However, the disco does run late and if you go to bed early, then request a 1200 level room.

We never had dinner at HBR but the breakfast and lunch were very good. Again, if you do not want to eat with naked people, then pre-order your food and have it delivered to the disco or beach or your room.

Again, my wife and I may have been the most conservative people to ever have stayed at HBR and by the end of the week we were having lunch either by the pool or in the restaurant, topless or nude.

At El Dorado we liked the Asian restaruant the most and disliked the Italian.

One day we took the shuttle downtown (about 20-minutes) to shop. Although the shops were nice and plentiful, we did not like the pushy shop owners and left. We thought the best shopping was in the Cancun airport. You can get anything you want right there.

We had a private car take us to and from the airport. It is about an hour ride which was fine going but coming back seemed long. I would recommend a private car. It was only $40 dollars more for both of us. Otherwise they put you on a shuttle which makes several stops and HBR is nearly the last stop.

It took us an hour to get through customs in Cancun which was a drag but mostly because the other two lines were moving and ours was not. Apparently we got in the line with the luggage scanner. Stay to the outside lines and you should be okay.

At the resort, they do not have change. Bring a lot of singles and fives for tipping. You can go the whole week without tipping and the waiters and staff never once, hinted at a tip. I just like to tip good service no matter where I am.

I definetly would not consider HBR a swinger-type resort and my wife and I never felt uncorfortable in that way. My wife is pretty , thin and has a very nice fiqure but you felt like family there and no one gawked or was inapporpriate.

For the last 3-days, we never wore clothes while at HBR. You wear a robe to breakfast and are on the beach or in the pool during the day. We would dress up for dinner at El Dorado. They did not enforce the long pants and closed shoes for guys. But everyone seem to be wearing nice clothes. After being naked all day we did not mind playing dress-up and having an elegant dinner.

After dinner we would either enjoy the El Dorado entertainment or come back the the hot tub at HBR.

We will return to HBR next year and try to make it an annual event.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank SeaTurtle143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2008

Just returned from third trip to hidden beach, had a great time. The service at the resort is just great (Jesus, angel , And anciento are un believable.) The food is good at the resort and next door at el dorado. The new disco is very nice, however if you want to be able to sleep request rooms in the 1200 building. Hope to return soon. Management must let the staff continue to interact with the customers, so they feel like they are at home again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rshan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards

Alfonso López
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

I don't know where Barecouple went for vacation, but their experience was nothing like ours. We have been to HBR 3 times and each time was absolutely wonderful. I have yet to find the staff member who did not go out of his/her way to make our stay great.

Sure, the beach is not too great, but everything else about the resort is beyond description. The staff are ALL great. The food is fabulous. The other guests are interesting and respectful of you.

HBR is a little bit expensive, but the experience is well worth the money. Especially for first time nudists, I would highly recommend this resort. You won't be disappointed, regardless of the occasionally negative review. Give HBR a try!

The swim-up rooms are worth the difference in price. Imagine getting up in the morning, going out and sitting in your own private swimming pool and having your coffee. Breakfast buffet (or a la carte if you prefer) is tasty. You can get omelets, fruit and yogurt, eggs, bacon, etc.. Whatever you want. And if you don't see it, they will prepare it for you. Lunch is either a pool-side buffet or you can order off the menu. Dinner is really great. You can even go next door if you want to get clothed. I can't understand how anyone can complain about the food.

There are towels everywhere -- as many as you want. The palapas on the beach are great. Activities around the pool abound. And the amazing guests! From all around the world.

HBR provides a wonderful vacation and you should go. You won't be disappointed, I promise.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ib4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Our trip to HBR was by far one of our best. The resort is truly as beautiful as every one of the employees. From the day we arrived until the day we left we were treated like royalty. We were always greeted by our names which they never forgot. Our room was always clean with flowers and fresh linens daily. The ala carte menu for all meals had many choices and was always fresh and flavorful, not like some buffets. The service at the swim-up bar was fantastic, I think I tried every specialty drink they offered. Esmirelda was always on the beach and by the pool taking drink orders at all times. She must put on alot of miles in one day. The waiters at the restaurant went out of there way at every meal seeing that whatever you needed was taken care of, and always with a smile and light conversation. There were so many, Jesus, Portipherio,Angel, and many more. Everybody at this resort works very hard, I only wish we could have stayed longer to be part of all the activities they had to offer. In all, we cannot wait to return next year, hopefully to meet up with all the new people we made friends with.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank luvCocoaMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Hidden Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

This was our first visit to a naturist resort outside Europe, and were a little disappointed with what we found at Hidden Beach. We booked direct with the resort and were surprised not to be able to negotiate a better price for our stay than the price ($215 per person per day) on their website, which is probably why the resort was only about 30% occupied during our 5 day stay. The resort is beautifully designed, but the fittings in the rooms are quite tired and the promise of a beautiful sandy beach was a let down, it is very course sand and the bay has artificial sand-bag reefs which make swimming in the sea virtually impossible as the artificial lagoon is only three feet deep. The swiiming pool has a swim up bar but is quite small, and the daily organised afternoon volleyball session makes lazy afternoons of sun bathing and swimming impossible, and forget trying to doze in the sun as they play loud music from ghetto-blaster speakers most of the day and only seem to have one CD of music...we were fed up with hearing Alice, Alice, who the **** is Alice 6 times a day! The food is good, perhaps gets a bit monotonous as the menu is limited and doesn't change and however good the chefs are they are limited by the quality of the ingredients they are given, in particular the meat which was always quite tough.
The staff are variable, some were fantastic, attentive and courteous, others quite sullen. It seems they are completely overworked; they mostly live in small barracks three to a room and exist there to work very long hours, one barman actually fell asleep one night on duty at 10.30pm...he told us he had started that day at 7am with only a short break and does that routine 6 days a week. One feature of the resort is the nightly entertainment whith some fantastic performers but the programme starts around 8pm when most people were eating at the pool retaurant some 50 yards away, or at the next door textile only resort which is owned by the same company, so you tend to miss the best bits.
Bugs are a problem here too, take lots of bug-off and use it! The resort fumigated our room one day without being asked so they know this is a problem.
We felt that the resort is very overpriced, the staff are exploited, and the claim that it is a great high quality resort for a relaxing naturist vacation was just one promise too far!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Barecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Director General at Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us at the Trip Advisor portal with regards to tyour recent stay at our Hotel.

We are very sorry to read that you we did not live up completely to the expectations you have set before us and we truly hope that there is a possibility to have an opportunity and welcome you once more at our Hidden Beach Resort or one of our Hotels by Karisma.

Warmest regards,

Alfonso López
General Manager
El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
22 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 99 in Tulum
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,625 reviews
0 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#56 of 396 in Riviera Maya
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,567 reviews
21.3 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#8 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,588 reviews
16.4 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma

Address: KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 460 Speciality Lodging in Riviera Maya
Price Range: £420 - £910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the only luxurious all-inclusive nudist resort in the Mexican Caribbean. Consisting of 42 beachfront suites, it is a secluded adults only property, perfect for couples and singles alike. Located just one hour and a half south of Cancun Airport, Hidden Beach Resort lies on a stretch of white sand beach offering spectacular views of the Mexican Caribbean sea. Hidden Beach blends signature services such as personalized check-in with a welcome glass of champagne or the exclusive concierge service with charming architecture to create an atmosphere of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club Hotel Riviera Maya
Hidden Beach Mexico
Hidden Beach Hotel Au Naturel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing