We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Nearby Hotels
US$443
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$391
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$397
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,574
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,620
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,546
BanyanTree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$682
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$541
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$650
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$539
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,932
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,780
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,162)
Filter reviews
2,162 results
Traveller rating
1,669
315
101
47
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,669
315
101
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel doradobutler servicechef marketkids clubinfinity poolazul beachjade restaurantartificial reefwater poloroom serviceoutdoor showerbeach butlerpersonal butlerfamily resortdestination weddingbeach bedsgourmet food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,856 - 1,861 of 2,162 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We just came back from 11 days in Paradise. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had our 5 year old grandson and 8 adults and it was a great place for us all. We had two fabulous friendly butlers Urania and Andres who helped us with everything. Luiz was super fun as the coordinator of activities and he MC'd the shows each night, they were very good and family friendly. The waiters at the bar were also great, ready to make us any drinks we wanted. Our grandson loved to swim up to the pool bar each day and order his pina colada (virgin of course). One of the nice things about this resort is that it is part of 3 resorts. The other 2 are for adults only and if you want you can put your kids into the kids camp and head off for some adult R & R or dinner at the other resorts. They have golf carts if you don't want to walk. We even had a chance to learn to dance on the beach with Karina Smirnoff of Dancing with the Stars. It was a fabulous vacation, I am ready to go back!

Room Tip: If you would like to have your own pool the first 3 floors have them. They had outdoor showers in some units which I LOVED. You could shower inside or outside in your own private shower. I think these were only offered in some rooms. If you have kids with you who need to nap, then I would suggest staying on the bottom floor so you could swim out and still be there for them. Perfect resort for families.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NuSkinNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear NuSkinNancy,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It is always our pleasure to recieve big families like yours and making sure they have a wonderful time while in the Riviera Maya.

We annot wait to see you back at Generations!

Best,

Alejandro Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful four day stay at Generations Riviera Maya to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Overall, this recently opened all inclusive resort was terrific, but they still need to iron out some wrinkles that newer properties typically face.
First, the positives. We stayed in an infinity pool suite that was fantastic, there’s nothing better than enjoying morning coffee on your balcony and taking a dip in your private pool. The enormous bathroom, with two showers (one indoor, one outdoor) and a huge Jacuzzi tub was over the top.
The food at all restaurants was amazing and truly gourmet. We ate at Jade (extraordinary sushi!), Wine Kitchen (a six course food experience), Palms poolside grill (great burgers, guacamole and chips), and the Chef’s Market (great breakfast buffet with eggs and omelets made to order). Did not get a chance to eat at Haab, so can’t offer a comment.
The bars and lounges are stocked with top shelf liquor and if what you wanted was not there, it would be available in short order, either from another bar on site or one of the sister locations at La Casitas or Royale.
All of the waiters, servers and bartenders were terrific, all going out of their way to ensure you have a great time. Lilliani, the pool and beach server was incredibly friendly and quick to make sure you had everything you needed. Her partner at the bar, Victor was also great. David at Sling bar (and a star in some of the shows) was also terrific. Waiters, Francisco, Roger and the Sushi Chef at Jade (can’t recall his name) were especially accommodating.
Another plus was having the sister resorts right next store which allowed for more options and things to do. My wife and I enjoyed a couple’s massage treatment at Naay Spa over at La Casitas. Spa staff was friendly and skilled.
As far as negatives, the whole Butler Service is overhyped. Our butler greeted us and took us through the property and suite explaining everything clearly but that was the last contact we had with him or anyone else during our stay, unless we went to the main butler desk ourselves. There is a butler station at each of the three buildings but never anyone in Building 20 where we stayed. We were never contacted to see how our stay was going or if they could offer to do anything for us. The next contact we had was when the butler called to help us check out. We really did not mind this, but I mind paying for an extra amenity that a butler is supposed to offer and never receiving that level of service.
I guess because they are still new on the scene they are incredibly undersold. We were told that they were at only 20 percent occupancy during our time there. It was deserted and we literally had the place to ourselves. This was not a problem for us, but I could see others being upset with such a dead atmosphere and no much social interaction. At diner, there were never more than three or four tables with diners in restaurants that have as many as 20 – 25 tables. The upside is that you never have to wait for service or fight for a pool chair or beach cabana.
The beach is not a picturesque sight as they are building artificial reefs to protect the beach. This was not a huge problem for us as there is still enough room to swim around a bit.
As this is a new resort, there is still some construction going on which did not seem to bother us but may well be a problem for others.
Despite the shortcomings noted above, it really was a great relaxing stay and a property I would highly recommend. My wife and I plan to return to Generations Riviera Maya next year, this time with our extended family in tow.
, a wonderful property

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMCCSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear DMCCSC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we are happy you had a wonderful 30th anniversary with us however slightly disappointed the butler service fell a little below the level expected. I can assure you we will use your comments and work hard to improve the services offered in order to fulfill all our guest's expectations.

We look forward to having you back at Generations again and thank you once again for your review!

Best regards,

Alejandro Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A great place for the entire family to be pampered. Good restaurant choices. Having easy access to El Dorado Resort was a plus considering you have access to all it has to offer as well. 3 resorts in one. Room service was great, we had breakfast in our room every morning. Rooms are HUGE and gorgeous!

CONS-
The room stay damp the entire 4 days we were there. The bed sheets, the floor, our clothes always felt wet. Didn't like that.
Soundproofing was a bit of an issue too. It sounded like a rodeo above us at 7:00am. Hated that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear jetkaiser,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all your comments, both pros and cons but we will pay special attention to the cons and have maintenance check over the rooms ACs and the humidity issue.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

Alejandro Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What an excellent resort !
From the moment we were picked up at the airport, we were pampered and waited on like royalty !
Oscar #1 was wonderful and Ceci was our "butler" for the week, she made our dinner reservations and our getaways for us , THEN, would come and find us to let us know when and where we were supposed to be.
Everyone there makes an effort to know you by your name and you feel at home .
The food was AWESOME, I cannot say enough about the dining experiences. We cannot wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: swim-up rooms excellent all rooms are ocean view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear jamie s,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us and leaving us a wonderful review of it! We cannot wait to have you visit again.

Best regards,

Alejandro Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What an absolutely amazing place. The staff simply goes over the top to make sure you are well accommodated and your every need is met. The butlers (Ceci and Andres) checked on us continuously and went out of their way to make our stay unbelievable. The restaurants are amazing, some complain about the size of the entrees, but you are at an all inclusive resort...just ask for more! The food and the presentation were nothing but gourmet. The units are spacious and comfortable. Ours had two showers, one inside and one outside! The grounds are immaculate and kept extremely clean. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to any of my friends or family members.

Room Tip: Ask for an infinity pool unit. Breathtaking.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nole94alum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear nole94alum,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with fellow Trip Advisor readers we hope your recommendation will bring uslots of other travelers.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again at Generations Riviera Maya.

Best,

Alejandro Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews