We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #239 of 402 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I went to barcelo palace and is the best place for a vacation,the service is excelent and they treat very well the tourist.
I really recomend this place to do snorkeling is sorrounder by coral so you can see a lot of fishes even a sea turtles.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Recepción at Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Gabriel R

In name of all the staff of the hotel, we thank you for recommending, our hotel, our service, our facilities.

We would honor to host you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I just stayed from August 3rd to August 10th in room 8824 Junior Suite deluxe I don't know how the other rooms are but this room the beds are horrible . asked to upgrade to premium room and was told no as it was all full.make sure you ready to walk because there is alot of it ..it was my sixteenth wedding anniversay requested a fruit basket and champaign and instead i got a plate with grapes..also asked for a room close to the pool or ocean all requests ignored.Food was boring the food was the same all day everyday. And if you are hungry after 10:30 you are out of luck have to wait until the morning as there are no snack bars available.entertaiment could of been better..Make sure you bring lots of sunscreen unless you want to pay $35 a bottle.The beach had alot of rocks and kelp..For the amount of money we paid for this trip we expected paradise.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank tinkz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Recepción at Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Tinkz03

Please accept my apologies, the dates mentioned, is still high season therefore, free up grade is a bit difficult to honor. As far as the food, most of our guest find the varatie much of their appreciation.

Thank you for given us your feed back

Warm Regards..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just returned from this beautiful hotel. I was impressed with how clean everything was. The food was excellent, the pools sparkling clean, the rooms nice and cool. Such a beautiful area with 4 (?) other hotels in the complex . They are all on the same grounds, which are gorgeous. We would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Our room was in the center of the complex and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suzannejcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Recepción at Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear suzannejcm.

Thank you for letting our future guest, how awesome it was.

If you decide to come back, please do not hesitate and contact us.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband, 2 teenage boys and myself stayed at the Barcelo Palace Deluxe July 12-17. It was a beautiful resort. Staff was friendly, place was clean and food was good. The breakfast and lunch buffet was great - fresh seafood, meat and fruit all the time. Would recommend this resort to friends. BUT, I was not impressed with the "free" wifi you received when you paid extra for the club premium package -- they gave you free wifi only for ONE phone at a time. This is very cheap. Marriott hotels has no limit and even when we stayed at the Fairmont Hotel in Bermuda there was no limit. Also, there is a dress code for the nicer restaurants which we followed. Wasn't ideal to have men/boys wear pants in hot/humid weather, but understood. Well, this dress code was NOT in force. At the restaurants there were people in jeans, shorts and t-shirts. They looked like slobs. Fan in room didn't work and did ask to get fixed, which it never did. Also, lighting in the jr suites is bad. Very hard to see, put on makeup, etc. Having the shower open in the same area of the sinks is not smart for a suite that a family uses. A lot of walking is required, but after all the eating and drinking that goes on, worth it. Having a private adult only pool is a good idea.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Mrs. Barbara.

I have carefully read all your comments and first of all I want to thanks the time you took to write all your good and no good experiences, it is important for us to know your feedback thanks to them makes us constantly improve.

About the extra charge for wifi, we are analyzing whether it could be included in the all inclusive package.

Thank you in advance for choosing us and I hope in the near future give us the opportunity to visit us again
Yours sincerely

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barcelo Maya Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We just returned from a very stressful vacation at The Barcelo Palace. We frequently travel to Mexico and are familiar with the way the all inclusives work, but this hotel was extremely disappointing. To start..you must make reservations to eat anywhere other than a buffet and when you go to the concierge (no phone reservations allowed, you must make a 20 min hike to the lobby to make a reservation, also the same hike must be made to cancel a reservation, if you don't cancel all of your other reservations will be automatically cancelled), the concierge we talked to could not have been less kind or helpful if she tried. The Hotel is VERY loud, if you are looking for a relaxing vacation, do not go here. Room service had an extra charge. There was no bar service at the adult pool. The poor bartender at the pool was responsible for handing out towels, renting cabana's (lengthy paperwork), making drinks and ordering pool side food (if you choose to not hike 20 mins for a crazy loud and busy buffet, but you must pay). The bartender was very kind, but extremely overworked, as he worked alone. Customer service was virtually NIL, but I don't blame the workers..they tried but they all seemed very overworked with the huge number of guests. We will never go back!!!Prepare for long line ups no matter what you are doing..checking in, bar service or getting a table at the buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Cathy

I am very sorry you had a bad impression of our service, so I offer you a sincere apology.

Your comments about of the service of front desk are very important we will further efforts to improve our guest service and about distance, it is a big hotel but with many facilities and beautiful areas where you walk no more than 10 minutes.

Thank you in advance for choosing us and I hope in the near future give us the opportunity to visit us again.

Best regards.

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barcelo Maya Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My first time at this hotel was in September 2008, it had just openned and we really enjoyed it. This time around it was completely full (adults and lots and lots of children) things have changed since my last trip. First of all make sure your room is not in the "Oxaca" building as this building is very, very far from every single place you will need to visit in the hotel.(restaurants, lobby, pools) Instead ask for the "Michoacan" building, if you can, because I was told that rooms are not assigned until you check in. Unlike my first trip, there were a few items that needed to be taken care of in my room, such as ceiling fan not working, safe not working, one light not working. These were taken care of rather quickly. Beds are "super" hard, so ask for a pillow top as you check in. Perhaps you will be lucky to get it that same night. Be advised that there is hardly any place to seat either by the pools or by the beach that offers any kind of shade. The chairs placed under some shade are "reserved" by people who put their towels over the chairs very, very early and then show up whenever they want. Sometimes not using them for the whole day, I asked management about this because it seemed unfair to me that these chairs could be empty for hours, they said that is the way it is. We discovered that the best beach (with plenty of shade and little noice is at the last hotel. Take the traint (small shuttle) and get of at the very last stop, (not the Maya Beach lobby stop, there is an additional stop) and "voila" you will see a beautiful cypress right on the beach, since you are staying at the Palace, you can go to any of the other hotels, which means you can get your beach towels there and also drinks. The food at this hotel's beach front restaurant is very basic but worth the lovely beach, talk to one of the waiters by the pool, tip them nicely and they will be bringing your drinks right to the beach for you! We met a wonderful waitress that checked on us every hour or so and brought whatever we wanted we did this for 7 days and left in the afternoon to go to the Palace pool late in the day when things had quieted down a bit. You can also walk on the beach and it will only take 15 minutes or so. The Palace was full of drunk teenagers in the pool, screaming like there was not tomorrow. On a good note: service continues to be excellent, all waiters and waitresses were excellent with wonderful attitude. The buffets at the Palace offer great variety, my only complain would be that the air conditioning does not work well at the buffet restaurants.
The food at the restaurants that you need reservation for is acceptable, not award winning, but acceptable. Be sure to make reservations as soon as you get there. They only allow you to make reservations for 3 days at a time (before you could do them for your whole stay) The lines at guest service (where you make reservations was terribly long).
And last but not least, it continues to be a very good value for your money. I don't think I will be coming back again. Make sure you make reservations for your transport (airport hotel, hotel airport) with companies that work with the airport. You can go to the Cancun airport web site, pay ahead with paypal and pay half what Barcelo will quote you.
Watch out for restrooms by the pools, they were discusting, there are clean bathrooms right behind the check in desk at the lobby. The beaches still continue to be beautiful and Mexican people wellcoming and nice. Did not get the wify access because it is $14 per day and everyone I saw complained that it did not work. Better to check e mails using computers at the hotel which cost around $3 per every fifteen minutes, if you must.

Room Tip: "Oxaca building" .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martycaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Mr. Martycaso.

I appreciate you taking the time to send us your comments and I offer a sincere apology for the inconveniences.

I am very sorry you had a bad impression of our service, we wish you had expressed to us your comments during your stay, this way we had corrected immediately any inconvenience, since one of our goals is to get the total satisfaction of our guests.

Yours sincerely

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barcelo Maya Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A friend recommended, went on an all girls week booked thru Apple they pick us up at the airport, drove us to the resort, one thing to avoid is the porters at the airport just walk right pasted them, the resort was great, food was out of this world. Also got to use all the other resorts connected to this one since we stayed at the prem. resort. This is an all inclusive resort. Dolphin swim is right there at resort. If you book any excursions use your travel agents people located in basement level (cheaper). There is also a kiosk down there that sells soveniors & he does take cash. Anything u purchase at the resort is charged to the room & u pay when u checkout. Save yourself some money pack your self a cheap raft & make sure to pack you snorkel mask turtles &fish r right there

Room Tip: If you need adjoining rooms please be specific, we had two rooms next to each other but not ajoinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranC107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Mr. Franc.

On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for the time you took to write these comments.

About our facilities, we are honored to know that we could make your stay a memorable moment, and we hope you can be like came back to this hotel.

Thank you for contacting us through our social media.
Sincerely,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
5,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, 77750, Mexico (Formerly Club Premium Deluxe at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 402 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Price Range: £274 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new hotel, included in Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, consists of 144 luxurious and modern rooms. Let yourself be seduced by these rooms designed to offer you an unforgettable stay. In addition, the Club Premium Deluxe guarantees you an endless range of exclusive services such as check-in & check-out in a private lounge, with canapes and premium drinks, international newspapers and a concierge a ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Barcelo so you can book your Premium Level at Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing