We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely interior and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erbil Rotana

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Erbil Rotana
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Erbil
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely interior and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Modern and relatively new, the Rotana in Erbil is located within a secure compound and easy to find. It is well presented and the staff and well versed, smart and accommodating. The food within the restaurants is some of the best in Erbil and although a little pricey, well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear SIr,
Thank you very much for visiting Erbil Rotana and the time taken to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
It was a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our services and outlets. Customer satisfaction is our highest priorities and we look forward to welcome you again.
Thank you once again for your support and the time taken to write.
Kind regards,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    102
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
11
15
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Ive stayed here twice. On the last occasions, I had a late check in and early departure to catch a flight. The process is they take your bags at the security post at the hotel grounds entrance, you then check in and your bags catch you up. They take every bag, even hand luggage. After 40 mins, my bags arrived in my room, I ordered room service then got a few hours sleep. I check out, when the airport and caught my flighs back to the UK. Whe I unpacked at home the next day, I noticed, $650, an Samsung S4 phone and other cash was missing. The only time my hand luggage was out of my sight was at the Rotana security. I returned to Erbil a month later and raised the issue with my companies security, who raised the issue with the n hotel. Their response was "tough" it should of been raised the same day...! We no longer use this hotel, as mine theft was one of many we had encounytered at this hotel. They know there is a theft issue withy hotel security, but obviously its not important to them

Room Tip: Do use this hotel...stay at the Divan nearby...better hotel and they don't steal things
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Sir,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your constructive feedback and bringing to our attention what you have experienced at Erbil Rotana.
Upon receiving your comments we have immediately investigated, however we were unable to find any reported incident prior to your dated comment.
We would like you to send us your full name, date of stay and contact details to the flowing email address erbil.hotel@rotana.com in order for us to investigate further.
We do apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused and we look forward to welcome you again to Erbil Rotana.
Yours Sincerely,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I think the hotel was just fine but not for these prices. There is absolutely nothing special about this place. The same hotel in San Fran or big apple would cost a fifth of what we paid here! The staff were great but the management thought they are the god's gift to mankind. SO FULL OF THEMSELVES.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank hamid g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your constructive feedback after your recent visit to Erbil Rotana.
It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests, We look forward to welcoming you soon and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.
Kind regards,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Erbil Rotana is a solid performer in the Rotana chain. I recently stayed here on a business trip and it has everything the business traveler needs. It is by no means a luxury Rotana like you find in other parts of the world, but all of your needs will be met. One of the best aspects of the hotel are the hotel transfers. They are not cheap at $65, but they are worth the expense as you will have expedited security clearance procedures. You'll spend less time on security, and more on your business. The staff at the Erbil Rotana are very friendly and helpful. The team in the bar is especially accommodating and take great pride in their work. I definitely recommend travelers to Erbil stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alleydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your constructive feedback and bringing to our attention what you have experienced at Erbil Rotana.
It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests, We look forward to welcoming you soon and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.
Kind regards,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Visited the hotel in April.Very nice hotel. Efficient staff. Good restaurants. Good location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Ten to fifteen minutes from the center of town. The executive lounge food is average but very helpful staff.Will stay there on the next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms on higher floors have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labeed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Sir,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at Erbil Rotana Hotel. It was a great pleasure indeed to have you as our guests.
It was a pleasure to read you have enjoyed our services and outlets. Customer satisfaction is our highest priorities and we look forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Apart from the scandalous room rates, the Rotana is I suppose the best business hotel in Erbil at the moment. Nice clean non-smoking rooms, good selection of restaurants and meeting rooms, professional and English speaking staff. You would think though that for the price you pay, that internet will be included but that of course is another fee (of course!). Strike whilst the iron is hot I guess, for it won't be long once the Marriott, Hilton, Kempinski and a bevy of other hotels open. In the meantime, Rotana is the benchmark of hospitality in Erbil.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for visiting Erbil Rotana and the time taken to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
It was a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our services. Customer satisfaction is our highest priorities and we look forward to welcome you again.
Thank you once again for your support and the time taken to write.
Kind regards,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Erbil Rotana is a business class hotel comparable to others anywhere else in the world.

Given the location (and clientele), security is fairly tight, which is reassuring for the first-time visitor.

There is a high class feel about the place and the rooms are comfortable.
The food in the restaurants was also very good.

Finally, the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tin586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Sir,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at Erbil Rotana Hotel. It was a great pleasure indeed to have you as our guests.
It was a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our services and outlets. Customer satisfaction is our highest priorities and we look forward to welcome you again and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.
Kind regards,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erbil hotels
0.9 mi away
Divan Erbil
Divan Erbil
#2 of 65 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ankawa Royal Hotel
Ankawa Royal Hotel
#3 of 65 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merci Hotel
Merci Hotel
#6 of 65 in Erbil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#4 of 65 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.7 mi away
Canyon Hotel Erbil
Canyon Hotel Erbil
#8 of 65 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cristal Erbil Hotel
Cristal Erbil Hotel
#9 of 65 in Erbil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erbil Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erbil Rotana

Property: Erbil Rotana
Address: Gulan St, Erbil 44001, Iraq
Region: Iraq > Erbil Province > Erbil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Erbil
#1 Luxury Hotel in Erbil
#1 Business Hotel in Erbil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Erbil Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erbil Rotana is a landmark five star hotel featuring 201 well appointed rooms and suites, five food & beverage outlets, one Grand Ballroom that fits for up to 1000 guests and 5 small meeting rooms for conferences and events. All the meeting rooms are equipped with the latest audio-visual equipments, translation system and high speed internet connection. The property is strategically located close to the business and diplomatic area of the city. Ten minutes drive from Erbil International Airport and fifteen minutes to the city center, the historical Citadel, bazaars and malls. Erbil Rotana is the appropriate destination for business travelers and corporate meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Erbil Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erbil Rotana Hotel Arbil
Erbil Rotana Iraq

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing