We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good But Overpriced”
Review of Divan Erbil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Divan Erbil
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Erbil
Certificate of Excellence
Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Good But Overpriced”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is located in a good location and providing good services
There is a beautiful garden and on the 21st floor there is a delicious sushi and grill restaurant . many facilities such as a spa, gym, swimming pool
The rooms are comfortable and clean, but overpriced

Room Tip: Garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Araz-ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_DivanErbil, Guest Relations Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind interest in Divan Erbil and taking your time to share your experience at our property. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review and providing us with feedback as it will assist us in making adjustments to enhance our guest experience.We are looking forward to welcoming and service you in the near future.


Best Regards
Jasmine Elkadah
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    70
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
8
9
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Visited the Divan for lunch on the way out of Erbil for business. As expected, it was quite expensive for just a lunch and some drinks, but they can charge what they want it feels.

Staff was great, though the security had a mixed atmosphere of whether or not it was truly efficient.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Morgan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanErbil, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Divan Erbil as a place to have a lunch break. We truly appreciate your comment and very pleased to know that you enjoyed the service.
We want to ensure you that guest’ safety is our high priority in which purpose our security team strives to keep professionalism.

Please be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Martin Kolb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was booked into this hotel as part of an exhibition - 4 nights stay. Rooms were ready by about 10am, which was a welcome relief, but upon entering the room, i felt like it was a sauna i was entering rather than a hotel room. The ac did not continue to be effective for the entire duration of the stay, even after making several complaints - this was not only my room but the other room occupied by my colleague too. Amenities provided by the hotel were more towards a 4 star stay, things like turn down service which is a standard for a five star hotel were missing. Amenities were decent, but not complete in the bathroom. Staff at the check-in were quiet abrupt during check in and throughout the stay, to an extent that i found them to be a tad bit rude. I am not sure if it was the rush but they were not very well equipped to handle the rush.

Breakfast was a decent affair, rather similar choices on all days but it did the job. Staff in the breakfast room were much better and hospitable. Every request was catered to quickly. I had ordered room service which was delivered on time. Prices for food and beverages are on the higher side. There is a duty free store where you can find some good stuff to buy at cheap rates. There are a decent selection of television channels. Pillows and blankets were good.

The view from my room was the Park, which was brilliant. Another turn off was the electricity going on and off every now and then.

All in all - being the first time in Erbil, i don't know how the other hotels fare, but it was an average stay compared to international 5 star standards. Being close to the airport and the conference center it was convenient for us.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the garden view and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Taz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanErbil, General Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your appreciated comments and your acknowledgment of our services on Trip advisor.

We are truly sorry for disappointment and inconvenience you had with A/C in your room. We want to ensure you that every complaint is taken seriously, followed by action according to the problem.

During your stay our hotel was fully booked and if you felt that we did not provide you the best service, please accept our apology and be our guest again.

We will be delight to host you and we are looking forward to see you again.



Sincerely,
Martin Kolb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

It was a very good experience the staff was very friendly and proactive asking if I needed anything additional and giving advice on this city the food the transfer to the airport I know those things you need to know when you are in a new town . Very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable with a great view to the city ... Or at least the room I had on the 19th floor. Its a good option for business travelers.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have been in the Divan for business meetings and lunch only and the food, decor and staff are amazing. The hotel is quite large with a lot of a amenities for all customers and businesses. The decor is modern and contemporary and the food in the restaurants is the best I have had in many a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divan E, Guest Relations Manager at Divan Erbil, responded to this review, 17 November 2015
Dear Mr. Richard,


Thank you very much for your very positive review and comments of your recent stay with us at Divan Hotel Erbil.

I am happy to read about your experience with our hotel facilities and services. It is very pleasing to read how much you have enjoyed your time with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Jasmine El Kadah
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This a very comfortable and imposing hotel, no more than 20 minutes drive from Erbil International Airport.
The rooms are pretty expensive, not much available under $300, very clean and comfortable with helpful staff.
The restaurant is excellent but again very pricey, also a bar attached. Another eating place on the top floor, next to a sports bar
There is a coffee shop on the ground floor but service always seems to be very slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobinKurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel reminds me of Vertu phone: Extremely overpriced; yet no where as practical and useful as an iPhone. When it comes to basics of cleanliness; it is definitely doing extremely well. But here are my few reasons for not staying there again:
- Top reason: beds not very comfortable, at least for me
- Extremely overpriced; you have your "$37" lunch buffet with ONE friend; bill comes to $143. WHY? Because you had two cokes and two double espressos! "Yes it is crazy" the waiter replies.
- There seem to have been some incidents of non-paying visitors in the lobby cafe; hence, you see a waitress chasing you to sign the bill; when you chose to show a fried the garden; "my manager asked me; please sign the bill" -- waitress.
- Overall; Divan is designed for oil majors, most of whom have permanent residency at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank zagg_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erbil hotels
0.7 mi away
Erbil Rotana
Erbil Rotana
#1 of 66 in Erbil
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merci Hotel
Merci Hotel
#4 of 66 in Erbil
21 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ankawa Royal Hotel
Ankawa Royal Hotel
#3 of 66 in Erbil
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Van Royal Hotel
Van Royal Hotel
#8 of 66 in Erbil
50 reviews
3.1 mi away
Canyon Hotel Erbil
Canyon Hotel Erbil
#11 of 66 in Erbil
54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#5 of 66 in Erbil
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Erbil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Erbil

Property: Divan Erbil
Address: Gulan St, Erbil 44001, Iraq
Region: Iraq > Erbil Province > Erbil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Erbil
#2 Business Hotel in Erbil
#2 Spa Hotel in Erbil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Erbil 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Erbil is a 24-storey luxury hotel with 228 rooms and suites located on Gulan Street amidst 43,000 sq. Meters (462,700 sq. Ft.) Of landscaped grounds - just 10 minutes drive from both airport and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Divan Erbil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divan Erbil Iraq

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing