We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of India Gate

India Gate
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Erbil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Erbil, Iraq
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

While the service is slow, the Indian food is really the best - has all of the old favourites on the menu. I have eaten here many times over the past two years and never had a bad meal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    82
    27
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Indian Foods in Iraq”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is located in Erbil, Kurdistan region near to MAXI MAAL, in Kurdistan- Ankawa-two side road. you can enjoy all variety of Indian meals here except IDLY!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jthatparan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basrah, Iraq
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Find any good Indian Restaurant in Erbil, India Gate and Mumtaz Mahal were Horrible !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I am very familiar to Indian food. I am very much used to it in the gulf. I visited India Gate and Mumtaz Mahal rest. in Ainkawa in Erbil and hated the so called Indian food provided there. A normal Indian guy can cook better than both of these restaurants. If you are looking for Indian food in Erbil, "forget it" . You better cook by urself or find an indian mate.

U can enjoy delicious Iraqi food in Erbil You should be preferring tht and u take Indian food in India not in Erbil hehe

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Divakar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macugnaga, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a piece of India in Kurdistan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

.
The food is delicious, so good that i went there 2 times in 3 days.
The place is nice inside, while outside is on the road with traffic,pollution. The service is great. I am vegeterian and my collegue is intollerant to milk/cheese and chilli...well they found the perfect solution for both of us. Price, around 15 USD ( you can pay in dollars or in local money, 1 USD = 1200 iraqi dinars). Enjoy it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013Deborah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, very poor hygiene and maintainence”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

In a way, i would say its like eating in the slum restaurants of India. Where the food is awesome and most delicious, but then dont ask about the surroundings and upkeep of the place.

In the beginning this restaurant did very well and had very good reviews. I like the food here, but my main complaint about this place is that the owner doesnt care about the upkeep of the place. Cockroaches crawling on the walls, mosquitos, mouldy and smelly. The service staff are amazing and very patient, but working with one or two staff alone slows things down, which as a result slows the service and delivery of food immensely.

As for the food, its probably the only place in the city where youd get Indian food from across the country. Both north and south indian food is served and i must say its delicious and worthy.

Tip: order take aways if you want to eat indian and make your orders by phone otherwise you will be waiting endlessly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yegeneley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Gate also viewed

 
Erbil, Erbil Province
 
Erbil, Erbil Province
Erbil, Erbil Province
 

Been to India Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing