We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauillac
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Wonderful, romantic getaway”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The Cordeillan-Bages is a superb location to take a break from the world. The staff is very accommodating and can book last minute reservations for you at local wineries and restaurants as the hotel owner also owns most of Bages Village. The pool and spa are set back in an area that allows for long leisurely afternoons in preparation for dining at the hotel's phenomenal restaurant. Do take a walk up the street to visit the wineries and shops that are also affiliated with the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Pauillac.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alleydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    83
    39
    15
    5
See reviews for
45
199
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Heard and read much about this restaurant, now we could find it out ourselves. One word: excellent! we had a lunchmenu: first a foie gras with a sorbet of figues, wonderfully delicate taste.Maincourse : a daurade meticulously cooked with a "peau croustillant" and a cochon noir (black pig) also extremely well cooked , both very delicately seasoned. The plates were for the eye as for the tongue a miracle.and no complaints about the quantity as some critics say. Only the dessert was a bit "one taste" only and a bit heavy (a caramel"construction"), but for caramellovers probably nice enough. We must not forget to mention the very very good price-quality-ratio, this menu was inclusive an aperitivo and 2 glasses of wine,
The personel (in abundance!) was extremely "attentive" as the french say and very friendly and helpful, so that's why we say all thumbs up for this restaurant!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gert J. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Having spent a weekend at Cordeillan Bages, we came home very refreshed. The service is outstanding, you really feel that you are being very well looked after.
The garden is beautiful, the rooms very calming, and the restaurant is one of the best I have been to.
There is a lot of team work, and the service provided by the people working there can not be faulted. There is never a no.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Tine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Here you will be on walking distance to many of the greatest wines on the planet, so this is sacred grounds. It feels good to be there.
The hotel is comfortable, and we had great service. Our room though had a problem with the air conditioning that was probably chronic, since the room had an air refresher (works with a fan, but adding water to it). The pool and spa are not special, but who cares, you go there to eat and drink.
My average grade, unfortunately, was due to the fact that the food was not good enough and the portions extremely small. My main dish, for example, was quail. It was just a small soap size. Since the food is not great, this could be an advantage, but than again you go to sleep kind of hungry.
We also had some maintenace problems that were partially solved.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was like staying in a modern city hotel despite the chateau tag but the rooms are not being maintained to the C&R standard.
More like a business hotel environment than a personal holiday experience.
Door handles falling off and peeling paint around window frames not the look you would expect.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stan658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The hotel is a Relais & Chateaux so we expected it to be of the highest quality. The price was high; the amenities were lacking. The hotel was a former chateau but the decor inside had no relationship to its former life. The furniture in the public rooms was hodge-podge. The furniture in the bedrooms was minimalist, ultra modern, and without a drawer in the room. For $400 plus per night, it provided plastic glases in the bathroom. The staff was peasant. Overall, the hotel certainly did not merit its R&C rating or its price. We believe that it subsists on the "Bages" name and the high quality restaurant that is part of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rndavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed during a wine trip with a group of friends. The service was exceptional. The restaurant is outstanding with as you would expect an outstanding wine list. Cannot understand why some complain about breakfast it was excellent. Excellent all round and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiltern_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauillac
10.3 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
4.1 mi away
Chateau Pomys
Chateau Pomys
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
16.5 mi away
Golf du Medoc Resort
Golf du Medoc Resort
#1 of 2 in Le Pian Medoc
522 reviews
15.8 mi away
Chateau de Mirambeau
Chateau de Mirambeau
#1 of 1 in Mirambeau
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Cordeillan-Bages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Cordeillan-Bages

Property: Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Address: Route des Chateaux, 33250 Pauillac, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pauillac
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Cordeillan-Bages 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the route of the châteaux, close to Château Lynch-Bages, grand cru classé of Pauillac, this 17th century charterhouse invites you to discover true art de vivre. Around a garden, the bright guestrooms with their muted, timeless décor, the pool, the sauna and the terraces near the vineyards create a haven of well-being. In the dining room, Chef Julien Lefebvre refines the products of the South West and proposes a delightful dialogue between a contemporary cuisine and the Bordeaux grand crus. Visits to châteaux, tasting classes, elaboration of own wine, strolling with the family in the village... Share the savoir-vivre of Epicurean Médoc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Cordeillan-Bages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages Hotel Pauillac
Chateau Cordeillan Bages Pauillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing