We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended - but manage your expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Cordeillan-Bages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauillac
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Recommended - but manage your expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The property is fabulous. It has all the ingredients to make a great luxury hotel in the french wine countryside including the architecture and the service but is lacking the final touch of the interior design found to be overly simplistic. Still this would surely be a hotel I would visit again with an adjustment of expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louayac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    78
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
41
177
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a fantastic boutique hotel. The family Cazes runs the property and is immediately next door to Lynch Bages.

One of the best breakfasts of my life. Gorgeous views while having amazing coffee, croissants, etc.

Will go back when time permits for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chugs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Recently enjoyed an all-too-brief (1-night) stay here, though it seemed longer since I was in contact with the staff so much prior to arriving. I went to this area mainly to visit wine producers, and while I speak french and have a few connections, had difficulty getting appointments even 2-3 weeks in advance. It seems that many chateaux now have daily 'quotas' for visitors and once these are filled, that's it. Thankfully, Clemence and other hotel staff here seem to have some connections and were able to secure appointments at some places that had ignored my emails and faxes. I've had similar experiences in Italy, where local hotels can also help to book visits, but it is probably even more valuable here since visits in this area seem hard to come by.
Contrary to what a few other reviewers have said, this is a lovely hotel. My room, although next to a service elevator, was dead quiet and beautifully furnished. The buffet breakfast here is one of the best I have had anywhere, the common rooms are elegant, and the staff is very professional and polite. So what is to complain about?
The restaurant here is also excellent, albeit expensive, so perhaps think lunch, not dinner. My only problem was that it did not offer the property's wines (Lynch-Bages or Cordeillan Bages) by the glass, which does not make any sense. Many wine producers in Italy have restaurants on the property that feature their wines, and this one should as well.
When I return to Bordeaux to visit more producers, this will be my base. Must book well in advance, however, since it is small.

Room Tip: Doubt that there is a 'bad' room here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoptravelscams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a difficult review for me as the hotel itself has all the makings of a fine one, but is lacking. Our room was comfortable, as was the bed and it's bathroom more than adequate but it was missing a great deal.

In the first instance the TV satellite system was not working and, during our 6 day stay, remained that way.

The hotel does not offer any facility to eat a light lunch and whilst every effort is made by the staff there was an amazing lack of consistency. Coffee each morning was served in a different way. Some mornings with a biscuit, some with a croissant, some mornings in a cup without a jug of milk!

We sat by the pool on 2 occasions, each time ordering tea. That was served with olives???

The room decor was 'vacant'. Warmth was lacking.

As for the restaurant I regret we were bitterly disappointed. Our meal was lacking in flavour, served cold and not worth the cost attached to it.

I do not favour writing bad reviews but this one needs listening to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
240 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in the hotel and one night was for a wine and dine experience. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. It was luxury with a country feel. Service is good and warm with helpful suggestions of where to have good meals and directions to chateaux. The hotel had also helped me secure appointments with 2 classified chateaux. The wine & dine experience was truly wonderful and included 2.5 hrs visit to the chateau with blind tasting wine class which we enjoyed a lot. The dining experience was very good. 4 wines were served which included the 2003 Chateau Lynch & Bages wine. Food quality and taste have a lot of Wow factor! Wished the chef would come out and meet us - after all we are here to experience his best creation. The chateau has a nice swimming pool and small gym. Only thing I must add in terms of improvement is that the hotel staff appears to be confused with what's included in the Wine & Dine experience and it is advisable to print a copy of the program confirmation and price to ensure you get what you paid for. As has happened to us, a few errors were made which thankfully some were clarified and addressed to satisfaction.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

As a member of Relais & Chateaux, hosting a two-star Michelin restaurant, and being owned by one of the grand names in the Pauillac wine fraternity, Cordeillan-Bages may not need a positive review. Virtually everything about our stay was in keeping with this, from the staff to the room to the ambiance of the little Bages community. We had dinner in the restaurant and this too lived up to its "star" status. Two minor issues. The wifi network was erratic. It worked in some parts of the hotel and not in others. It worked in some parts of our room and not in others. And breakfast, while very good by French standards, was expensive. I would note that dinner was far more expensive and worth every penny. Hotel breakfast ought to be a la carte, especially in an area where there are no cafe alternatives. The town of Pauillac is forgettable, but then one comes an hour outside Bordeaux because of the vineyards and the wine. Cordeilla-Bages is ab ideal anchor for such a voyage!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stopped here hoping for a rest stop and coffee on our return to Bordeaux. Our coffee was enjoyed by the vines, and we were treated to an unexpected aerial display by French jets, practising for a National event. People came from their homes to witness this fantastic sight,which added a breathtaking experience to our coffee break. It's a beautiful place, quiet and exclusive, with the aerial acrobatics a priceless addition.

Room Tip: Near the vines
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauillac
10.3 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau Pomys
Chateau Pomys
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Chateau Grattequina
Chateau Grattequina
#1 of 2 in Blanquefort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
16.6 mi away
Golf du Medoc Resort
Golf du Medoc Resort
#1 of 2 in Le Pian Medoc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin
Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin
#1 of 1 in Gaillan-en-Medoc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Cordeillan-Bages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Cordeillan-Bages

Property: Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Address: Route des Chateaux, 33250 Pauillac, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pauillac
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Cordeillan-Bages 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the route of the châteaux, close to Château Lynch-Bages, grand cru classé of Pauillac, this 17th century charterhouse invites you to discover true art de vivre. Around a garden, the bright guestrooms with their muted, timeless décor, the pool, the sauna and the terraces near the vineyards create a haven of well-being. In the dining room, Chef refines the products of the South West and proposes a delightful dialogue between a contemporary cuisine and the Bordeaux grand crus. Visits to châteaux, tasting classes, elaboration of own wine, strolling with the family in the village... Share the savoir-vivre of Epicurean Médoc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Cordeillan-Bages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages Hotel Pauillac
Chateau Cordeillan Bages Pauillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing