We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Pomys(Saint-Estephe)
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de Mirambeau(Mirambeau)
US$270
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
206
86
39
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
86
39
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscordeillan bagesgreat gymtwo michelin star restaurantsister restaurantleft bankwine chateauxexcellent propertybooked nightsthe hotel staffprivate terracest estephebordeaux regionwonderful stayfine hotelour honeymoonmerci beaucouphotel breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is quite a good property in terms of customer service with a great location. They somehow managed to get a 4 star rating which in my opinion shouldn't have been given even by European standards. It is indeed a good 3 star hotel with barely functioning shower, sink and other facilities. So overall, if they had stated it to be a 3 star hotel i'd be perfectly happy in it as the visit wouldn't have created a gap between expectations and reality. Other than that - great place.
The restaurant is decent, but imho quite overrated for a 2 star michelin location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ab2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my extended family clan. We booked 5 rooms but due to a family medical emergency, 2 members of the family could not make the trip. We informed the hotel 3 days prior to our arrival and explained the situation . A sister relais chateaux accepted that we cancel one room out of 5 rooms with no issues. They we're considerate and accepted the situation . I could not say we had the same experience with this hotel. Not only did they charge for the room they proceeded to charge my credit card for the canceled room prior to out arrival which I did not think was appropriate at all. In addition the hotel was not full at all . When asked the staff mentioned that it was not in their hands and that the manager refused to accept a 1 out of 5 room cancellation despite a valid medical reason - its not the money per se but the principal of what occurred that bothered me . In addition the hotel had no service that one would expect of a relais chateaux - there was no food available to feed the children at the hotel because we arrived on a Monday and Tuesday - the closest place to eat was a 15 min walk . I would expect at leAst the bare minimum during the peak summer season but it seems management can "get away with it " again this was a first time experience for me even at any relais chateaux the kitchen would be open at least for lunch or even dinner .

Again this is a management issue and not a staff issue . The staff were very caring and considerate and tried their best but as one member of the staff mentioned to me "their hands are tied"

It's a shame as the hotel has serious potential and very little competition in the pauillac region but when completion arrives and it will perhaps the management should become more attentive and rectify certain things that would make customers more content with its policies.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahmed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were fortunate to spend six fabulous days at Cordeillan-Bages in an elegant contemporary room in this former abbey. The service is impeccable on all fronts including housekeeping, front desk, and dining room. We were visiting nearby wine Chateaux in St. Estephe, Margaux, St. Julien and Pauillace and this luxury hotel is a perfect home base. Extras included Clarins beauty products and comfortable robes. The breakfast is well-priced considering the quality of fare which includes incredible viennoiseries (pains au chocolat, croissants, brioche) made in their very own village bakery in Bages. There is a beautiful sun room on the lower level, perfect for quiet reading time or a nice spot to enjoy an apero. THE spot to stay if you are spending time on the Left Bank of the Bordeaux region.

Room Tip: A terrace room is worthwhile if the weather is nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamkboet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Our second time there. Luxury in all aspects. Friendly helpful staff. Good lap pool with comfortable lounge chairs. Beautifully air conditioned. Breakfast very good but overpriced at 24 Euros. I just don't eat enough to warrant that expense. I think that it should be included in the room rate. Coffee in the room would have been nice,but the sweet waitress brought us coffee in the lounge,which was lovely.
Suggestion to the hotel: have self-serve coffee and tea at the buffet! It was often hard to find a server. Furthermore, eggs, either boiled or scrambled, should be made available at the buffet table, since eggs are included the price of breakfast but there was often no one around to take an order.

Room Tip: Some rooms have little terraces facing onto the lawn. Ask for that.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Relais et Chateau trip around the Medoc with stops in Bordeaux, Saint-Emilion and Mirambeau. This was our first stop after landing in Merignac. The drive took about 45 min and this hotel proved to be an excellent choice as it was quiet, relaxing and near many of the greatest vineyards. Keep in mind this hotel is not particularly close to any major village or town so you either drive or bike to see the area. About the only things close by are the Chateau Lynch Bages and the village of Bages, where we had a simple lunch on our arrival at the brasserie in the town centre. As mentioned by others, the hotel has bikes to explore further afield.
The hotel itself is not extravagant in appearance from the outside though it is certainly appealing and very well appointed. It was full during our stay with Butterfield and Robinson cyclists so no room upgrade was possible as a 5C RetC member. Still the room was top quality with a good view of the courtyard. The staff were incredibly helpful and pointed us to some small towns outside of Bages that were worth a visit. I have to say the area is rather quiet in spite of the tremendous visibility of the wineries-which was a bit of a shock. The staff assisted us on our first evening with a restaurant suggestion in Saint Julien that turned out to be very good and in organizing a last minute tour of Lynch Bages. So three cheers for all their help.
Breakfast was really top quality with a lot of choice and plenty of fresh fruit (a particular pet peeve of mine). Breakfast at this level of hotel is never inexpensive but this was decent value for money.
We managed to squeeze in a lunch at the outstanding restaurant at the hotel. By accident we arrived 25min late due to misjudging how long it would take to get back after touring around the region, so we had only 1h to complete a lunch in a 2* Michelin restaurant since we had an appointment at Lynch Bages. That is not an easy feat but we warned the Maitre d'hotel and he accommodated our needs with about a minute to spare. And he even had a sense of humour, not something easy to find in some overly formal top end restaurants. The food was spectacular both in terms of the presentation, quality and taste. The staff, including some new trainees, were all able to handle the challenges we put to them. The chef came out to greet each diner and we were sorry to miss him in our rush to leave. Seeing and tasting food from a top talent is always a special treat.
I have to give a special shout out to the General Manager. She was exceptionally pleasant and helpful and took the time to let the next hotel (St. James) we were on our way. She and her staff more than met all our needs. This is a great hotel to relax, bike the area or visit vineyards. And of course to eat superb cuisine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChemProf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews