We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for the Marathon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France et d'Angleterre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pauillac
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for the Marathon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We lucked out, this place was feet away from the Marathon starting and ending, which came in handy when your legs are about to give out between the finish line and a hot shower.

The staff were friendly and very accommodating both in person and by email when we booked a room for 3 adults in February, before we even could register for the race! Board included 4 nights, two dinners and a breakfast. The dinners were great (gizzard salad with leeks, yum) and they were so nice to keep the kitchen open a little past closing when we made the last train into town and hadn't eaten since Lyon.

We stayed in the Chateau Rauzon Gassies room, it was clean, fit all three of us and had big windows to let in the French air. Not sure about staying in Pauillac outside of the marathon, but there is a great cheese and wine store and patisserie and a couple good restaurants with in a block or two. And of course you're surrounded by fantastic wines. The walk from the train station was longer than we though, but the hotel looks out onto the quay. Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    56
    41
    22
    8
See reviews for
17
68
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Forget the glossy photos of the Medoc region vineyards and the sumptuous chateaux, the workers have to reside somewhere and towns such as Pauillac serve that function. This is blue-collar territory surrounded by great beauty (a metaphor for the whole country?!). The hotel is perfectly situated overlooking the estuary and has a pleasant terrace at the front (where we had dinner and breakfast). Our night's stay was impacted by the 'biggest storm in a generation'. Electricity power went down across the town. Even so, breakfast took place (almost) as normal and there was a certain impressive 'Blitz spirit'. Our car, parked for free across the road from the hotel, fortunately avoided the falling trees. Dinner the previous evening was fine; not special, but certainly enjoyable with an excellent Haut-Medoc at €32. I was impressed by the staff's willingness to go that extra mile (a point I note in others' experiences too); a room was found in which my bike could be safely stored overnight (as it turned out, vitally important!). Good cycling country by the way. Would we return? Yes, but there isn't much else in Pauillac.

Room Tip: For an extra €4, the view over the Estuary is worth it (especially when a hurricane comes through!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed for one night, bed and breakfast, so can't comment on the dinner. It's two hotels in one (one is three star, one is two star). We had a room in the three star bit, which is a modern building behind the one in the picture. The room was standard with nothing particularly memorable, it had a balcony looking over the car park at the rear.

The front of the hotel is attractive and overlooks the wide estuary. We had breakfast on the front terrace, which was a standard continental buffet - although they kept the coffee pot closely guarded and we had to wait ages for a second cup.

We ate in a restaurant a couple of doors along (can't remember the name, but it had a pink awning and decor), the food was ok but we felt overpriced (a la carte).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor Co. Down
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

There are a great number of restaurants along the Quai Albert- Pichon, in Pauillac. My wife says I have a "nose" for picking a winner when faced with such a choice. Having selected the Hotel de France for lunch it did not disappoint. We ate on the sunny terrace, a superb, inexpensive, beautifully cooked and presented meal, washed down with a bottle of a splendid house white, as recommended by our most helpful waitress. As a better table became free, she moved us without any fuss.One of the signs I look for when making a choice of restaurant is to walk through, get a feel for how busy it is, and do the diners look as if they are enjoying themselves. The de France was very busy!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This hotel is located along a boulevard that overlooks a moderate sized boat dock. This is the 'tourist" area of Pauillac with other hotels and restaurants on this road. The hotel has two buildings, one old, the other new. The old seems to be dated to the late 1800's or early 1900's. The old rooms are on the small side and a dated in decor. However, you could request a room with view of the water front. The back building looked recently build, maybe in the last ten years. I did not see these rooms, but the are most likely to be more spacious and perhaps newer decor. People at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The restaurant also had nice ambiance and good food.

Room Tip: Try the new building if you would like a nicer room. However, new building does not have water front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ravenspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent the night there last week. When we arrived at the hotel, we encountered a snotty lady at the reception who didn't even care to look at us while she checked us in. The room we were given was rather tiny, which would have been okay for one night. The disgusting bit about it was the extreme odour of old cigarette smoke. The fact that smoking in French hotels was prohibited 3,5 years ago didn't really make it any better.

Dinner at the hotel was quite an interesting experience too. When we asked the waiter, whether a table for 2 was available, he told us to wait, disappeared and didn't show up anymore. Were were glad to be seated by a friendly waitress - the first and only pleasing experience at the hotel. There was a 4-course tasting menu with 3 choices for each course, so we decided to go for it. The food was presented in a pretty haute cuisine fashion, but every single course was a disappointment to the core. I believe that most of what was served must have been convenience food. I cannot imagine that the tastebuds of any chef could possibly be that miserable.

We were happy to leave the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munchqin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

We booked this hotel on arriving in Pauillac and seeing that it was overlooking the water. The building from outside looked nice enough. Our room however was nothing short of rubbish, it was a box room at the back overlooking the gardens. I think the decore was from the 1970s and the paintwork was very tired. The shower had no curtain which resulted in dicing with death every time you got out the shower as the floor was a mini ocean. Worst part though was that we were kept awake by other guests right underneath our bedroom after midnight drinking at tables. We phoned reception twice who apologised and said they were on the case. In the end we had to tell them to be quiet and they left for their rooms on the other side of the garden, being most abusive. It was not a relaxing stay and we had no sleep. Definitely avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ng1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauillac
0.7 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
3.6 mi away
Chateau Pomys
Chateau Pomys
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
10.8 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Le Pavillon de Margaux
Le Pavillon de Margaux
#2 of 2 in Margaux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
6.2 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
12.1 mi away
Hotel Les Landes
Hotel Les Landes
#1 of 1 in Castelnau-de-Medoc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
Address: 3 quai Albert Pichon, 33250 Pauillac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pauillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pauillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France et d'Angleterre 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de France et d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing