We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A walk into the past.

I was working as a defense contractor working in southern Iraq. This place was right beside our Air... read more

Reviewed 11 October 2017
bradcocinero
,
Omaha, Nebraska
Mesopotamian Historical Site

The ziggurat at Ur dominates the desert in this southern area of southern Iraq, standing near the... read more

Reviewed 22 July 2017
CzGw
,
Woodbridge, Virginia
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
4
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ziggurat iraq area site desert
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 28 March 2018

amazing that the stair case on this place is in such good condition for how old this place is. a good distant view of the Euphrates River and where the rivers edge used to come up to.

1  Thank lukeandsarahmiller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I was working as a defense contractor working in southern Iraq. This place was right beside our Air base. (Talil AB). I recommend seeing it if you have the chance. Also near the Ziggurat is Abraham's boyhood home.

1  Thank bradcocinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

The ziggurat at Ur dominates the desert in this southern area of southern Iraq, standing near the nearby town of An-Nasiriyah. Historically & culturally interesting to visit if in the area.

Thank CzGw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

The ziggurat was probably the largest we saw in Iraq and although no where near as large as the pyramids, was still impressive on the flat plain.
Walkways dictate where you are allowed to go so not all the site is accessible including the royal burial pit which has been fenced off.

Thank hondo533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

An Iraqi pyramid that his a little worse for wear but still an impressive ancient monument. Access must be pre-arranged and you will need a security team to take you there and get you through the airbase security cordon.

1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

I was on my way to Basrah from Baghdad, and we stopped at a little rest stop for gas and tea, then got back on the road, but I did get a glimpse of this ancient ruin from the road as we passed by. the area was not safe or secure to stop for a tourist walk around, but hopefully one day it will be. there is a lot of ancient sites in this country, and people from around the world should enjoy them without fear.

3  Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Site is amazing, entire area is filled with history, and the locals are great people. Hopefully Iraq can get stable soon so the entire world can visit and see the wonders Iraq has to offer and the rich cultute the people have to show to the world

6  Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Traveling through Iraq is an interesting experience now, especially as a tourist. We were a small group of 8 people, accompanied at all times by military and police security guards.

The country is facing very difficult times. The government has little budget to protect historical sites. When most sites have been damaged during the recent wars and are not protected now, UR is still kept in good conditions.

You can climb to the top of the ziggurat and have a great view of the area. A few kilometers away, there was a very large US military base.
There is also a very interesting pre-historic area next to the Ziggurat.

6  Thank sipivu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

beautiful, surreal place on the desert plains. can climb to the top of the ziggurat, which was largely refurbished by Saddam Hussein. awesome views from the top. pre-historic settlement beside the tall ziggurat. so much history here. had a chance to visit here as a journalist. hope someday the place is safe enough and accessible for all. lots of damage and looting.

6  Thank badgeridaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews