We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a boutique hotel”
Review of Commercial Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dargaville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Commercial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Dargaville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I wanted to find somewhere that wasn't your standard motel style experience and the Commercial hotel fitted the bill.

The rooms were relatively small but had character about them. The hotel was quiet with few customers. Nice view from the rooms of the river, although the view wasn't particularly interesting. There was a lounge room with a TV and DVD player. It felt like sitting in a stranger's house, looking at family pictures. Felt homely I guess.

Breakfast was good. Lots to eat. If you pay a little extra you got a cooked breakfast, although the cooked items were Kumura, eggs and bacon.

A few items were missing from the hotel. Somewhere to hang or put your clothes in the shower room and also the rooms were lacking space to put suitcases and bags.

The owner was nice and friendly. The price was good also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HartleyHareII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We participated in a humber car club overnight trip to this grand old b&b/ hotel. Wonderful warm and welcoming hosts, As the club had booked the whole hotel out and we were a little late booking our room we didn't get to stay in the hotel but we were not in the least disappointed. We had a garden unit with shared facilities all recently refurbished, had the most comfortable brand new bed. Plenty of room in the hotel to spread out and enjoy . Had a great evening sitting around the fire on comfy old sofa,s watching a movie on their dvd / television. Lovely dinner and full breakfast cooked by our hosts. Not licensed so remember to BYO. Plenty of off street parking. Quiet location perfect for the Sunday morning sleep in. Excellent venue for a reunion, club event etc,. Really made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddeleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Ulrike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank vio1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dargaville
1.4 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#2 of 4 in Dargaville
40 reviews
24.1 mi away
Waipoua Lodge
Waipoua Lodge
#1 of 1 in Waipoua Forest
428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hobson's Choice Motel
Hobson's Choice Motel
#1 of 4 in Dargaville
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Northern Wairoa Hotel
Northern Wairoa Hotel
#3 of 5 in Dargaville
33 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dargaville Motel
Dargaville Motel
#4 of 4 in Dargaville
14 reviews
6.5 mi away
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 12 in Dargaville
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commercial Hotel

Address: 75 River Road | Mangawhare, Dargaville 0310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Dargaville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dargaville
Price Range: £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic waterfront pub now run as a boutique B&B on river front, 2km from town. Upstairs 4 en suite rooms with King/twin beds, some with river views. Four shared facility rooms Twin/double. Garden cottage with three double rooms with shared facility. Large lounge downstairs with fireplace /pool table. Dining room overlooking river for breakfasts /functions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Commercial Hotel Dargaville, North Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing