We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely one night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Manor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Halford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at The Old Manor House in September 2012. As a single Australian female doing a spontaneous road trip around the United Kingdom, I was extremely lucky to come across this beautiful guest house. I was greeted by Jane and their beautiful family dog, and I instantly felt welcome and safe. I had the joy of sitting in the garden for the afternoon and soaking in the idyllic English garden. Did not quite feel like reality. I only wish I had more people staying with me to help me eat the beautiful home made breakfast that was prepared for me using local ingredients! Bliss. Jane was also extremely helpful in providing advice as where to visit next and what I must see in the area! Thank you Jane, sorry it took me so long to put up a review! Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Staying at The Old Manor House is the fondest memory of our trip to the UK. The entire Pusey family was delightful, informative, hospitable and friendly. The breakfasts were the best we had anywhere and it was all made even better by Gertie's morning greeting. William and Jane went to great lengths to make a particular picnic extremely special (my boyfriend proposed! Gah! I'm giddy!) and then took us under their wing and celebrated our big moment with us. Such a wonderful place to stay! I really can't say enough splendid things about it. All I want to do is plan my next trip back so I can revisit this hidden little gem and the fabulous people running it. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willowbug654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

WE LOVED this home!!! Jane was a fabulous host and made us feel right at home. The evening we arrived she made reservations for us at a restaurant that was not far....it ended up being the BEST gourmet meal we ate in England!! Back to the manor: Our bedroom was SO comfortable...with probably the largest bathroom we have ever had!! Of all the B & B's we stayed in, this bed was the BEST. So comfortable. Jane cooked a delicious breakfast and helped us make plans for the day. We most enjoyed the family style breakfast table in which we visited with all the guests. We didn't want to leave...Jane was now our new friend, so fun and easy to talk to. Many parts of this manor were built in the 1500's. It "oozes" with charm and history!! The grounds and gardens were PRISTINE!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Old Manor House for two nights. It is a delightful house, full of character and beautifully furnished. William and Jane were the most charming and accommodating hosts. William greeted us on our arrival and then brought us tea and biscuits while we relaxed in their beautiful garden, in which Jane was working hard; we were lucky to visit when the roses were in full bloom.
Our bedroom was very well equipped and the bed was really comfortable. The bathroom had an abundance of soaps and lotions.
Breakfast on both days was delicious; do try the mushrooms with the cooked breakfast. During breakfast William checked with all the guests that they had their plans/transport sorted for the day.
Jane and William made us feel really welcome and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenelopeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Janes' warm welcome and tea served in the drawing room overlooking the terrace was just a taster of four lovely days we spent in this beautiful Costwold manor. Quirky rooms with beams and wonky windows just added to the sense of stepping in to a dream world. Beautiful antiques alongside contemporary art indoors whilst the cottage style garden with seating areas overlooking the gorgeous countryside had us sighing with the relaxed pleasure of it all. And that is before we get to the perfectly cooked breakfast together with a good selection of fresh fruit and continental goodies. Nothing was too much trouble for our tireless hostess ably assisted by her charming son Charles and of course two very friendly dogs. I cant wait to stay in this lovely home again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Recently returned from a stay at The Old Manor House. We stayed in Underhill room and it is described as having en-suite facilities. However, the bathroom wasn't accessible from the bedroom i.e. it was in the corridor. Although bathrobes were provided we still felt uncomfortable as other quests were staying further along the corridor.

The house and grounds were beautiful and the breakfast was good although portions were rather small and very little choice of cereals.

Jane and William were very friendly and the dogs were adorable!

Room Tip: Ask for bedroom overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodgejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldmanor, Owner at The Old Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

What a pity that your stay here wasn't as expected. We try to explain to all guests who stay in this room that the landing area with adjacent bathroom is private to them. The door that is visible remains locked at all times. Thus feeling uncomfortable should not be an issue. I think that I make it quite clear from the outset that comfort for my guests is paramount. We provide a very large selection of cereals and guests often apologise for not being able to finish their breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My stay here was, in a word, flawless. It was absolutely prefect. Welcomed with a cup of tea and biscuits and two lovely dogs plus the biggest smiles from the owners. In every category that one might judge a B&B by, this excelled, cleanliness, comfort, decour, location, welcome, breakfast, honestly everything. I stopped here on the first night of the Shakespeare Way walk simply as a place to rest my feet but i now can not wait to book again for my girlfriend and I. Loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halford
3.2 mi away
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
The Old Kiln House Bed and Break...
#1 of 11 in Shipston-on-Stour
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Halford Bridge Inn
Halford Bridge Inn
#2 of 2 in Halford
237 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Norman Knight
The Norman Knight
#3 of 11 in Shipston-on-Stour
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manor House

Address: Old Manor House Queen Street, Halford, Shipston-on-Stour CV36 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston-on-Stour > Halford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halford
Price Range: £105 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Manor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Manor House Halford, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing