We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful long weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Manor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Halford B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful long weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights from Thursday to Sunday morning. We had a lovely and relaxing stay. Our bedroom Underhill had its own glorious private bathroom and our bedroom was just as sumptuous. The owners were away but their stand in Annie was just lovely and took good care of us. We were welcomed each morning with a cooked breakfast or a variety of cereals to suit our tastes. While there we met Gertie, Boris and two little pups that Gertie had had 9 weeks previous. All the dogs were gentle and extremely friendly. To be honest they were the best part of our stay as we love animals so much! Boris was just visiting with Annie while the owners were away and the little pups had already been homed. Gertie would be the only regular, welcoming companion for future visitors. The grounds were beautiful (which included a tennis court!) and we were free to roam around at our leisure. This was a really wonderful weekend away with great nearby villages to explore. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Old Manor is a Cotswold cottage In a perfect setting along the Stour River in the small village of Halford. Our room was spacious with a most comfortable bed and fine linens. Beautiful antiques grace the tastefully decorated rooms. The garden and surroundings are picture perfect. Our charming hosts, Jane and William Pusey, serve a delicious and substantial English breakfast guaranteed to keep you going for a full day of sightseeing. The family greeter, Gertie, a gentle, sweet-natured retriever, introduced us to her 9 plump puppies (all sold by now, I'm sure) while we were there. Jane and William went out of their way to ensure our comfort, make recommendations and engage in interesting conversations. Jane even secured tickets to a London musical for us while we were out and about. We highly recommend this family-run bed and breakfast for your authentic Cotswold experience. Our thanks to Jane, William, Nick, Charlie and Gertie for a warm welcome to their lovely home.

Room Tip: Tell Jane what you need, and she will match you to right room. Our king room had a wonderful view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful two night stay on our whirlwind trip through the UK. The setting was wonderful and just bursting with character. Jane and William were wonderful - breakfast was great (especially the to die for mushrooms!) and the room was so comfortable.

Thanks, Jane and William! We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

After a long trip from the Continent and quite some delays, we arrived in this beautiful home where we were greeted with warmth and sunshine! The rooms were lovely and cozy, the sitting room was so inviting, and the litter of Gertie's 9 puppies was the icing on the cake for our daughters! Jane gave us great advice about where to go, where to eat, where to park and all of the details that make things nice. Breakfast was delicious ... still thinking about the mushrooms! We would love to return and recommend this lovely place wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mecweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberhausen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a most comftable stay in this beautiful old house. Jane and William were ever so helpful
and gave great tips where to go. They made us feel very welcome. Rooms and breakfast were
first class and to stay in the old manor was one the loveliest Memory we brought back from the cotswolds.

We do hope that Gertrud and her Little babies are still well and send our fondest regards to
the old "Lady" Martha.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very nice B&B set in lovely gardens. Very friendly welcome. Enjoyed stay but disappointed by a couple of minor items. We requested a room with en-suite facilities. The room had a private bathroom but access was from the landing and not from the bedroom. There was no means of locking the bedroom door either from outside or inside resulting in a lack of privacy. Also there was only one chair in the room resulting in one of us having to sit on the bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunderlandOracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldmanor, Owner at The Old Manor House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
What a shame that our guests misunderstood the room that they were being offered. The website makes it clear that the private bathroom and separate lavatory are not ensuite. In fact , they are the only rooms off a small, private and partitioned off landing, to which no one has access or sight of. In many ways this is better than an ensuite bathroom because of the advantage of a separate lavatory.
It is important that our guests understand that this is a private house, where we try to make them very welcome, and not a guest house, run purely for commercial gain. None of the rooms have locks: this is not the ethos of a private house. I am sorry that our guests were disappointed that their room only had one chair. They could, of course, have taken advantage of the large drawing room, which seats 12.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at The Old Manor House in September 2012. As a single Australian female doing a spontaneous road trip around the United Kingdom, I was extremely lucky to come across this beautiful guest house. I was greeted by Jane and their beautiful family dog, and I instantly felt welcome and safe. I had the joy of sitting in the garden for the afternoon and soaking in the idyllic English garden. Did not quite feel like reality. I only wish I had more people staying with me to help me eat the beautiful home made breakfast that was prepared for me using local ingredients! Bliss. Jane was also extremely helpful in providing advice as where to visit next and what I must see in the area! Thank you Jane, sorry it took me so long to put up a review! Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halford
9.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
The Old Kiln House Bed and Break...
#1 of 11 in Shipston-on-Stour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.2 mi away
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
#1 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manor House

Property: The Old Manor House
Address: Old Manor House Queen Street, Halford, Shipston-on-Stour CV36 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston-on-Stour > Halford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Manor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Manor House Halford, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing