We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Relax”
Review of Halford Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halford Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Halford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for a weekend break.
Very relaxed atmosphere.
Breakfast was high quality and do ask for fried bread with the full English.
The dinner menu wasn't extensive but enough choice for everyone and Jose is happy to ask the chef to adapt to personal preference and dietary restrictions.
The hotel is on a road which is very busy during the day but at night this changes so sleep (even in bedrooms at the front of the hotel) is fine.
Could do with a real lounge area as apart from the restaurant there are only tables in the bar area and it all feels a little too tight.
The outside courtyard is nice but has to be shared with smokers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartmart56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have often driven past The Halford when visiting parents, and thought it looks appealing. We recently needed to stay overnight in the area, the Halford rate for B&B is very reasonable and we enjoyed our stay very much. The building is beautiful and well restored, it feels well cared for with plenty of individual touches. The courtyard area is lovely when the sun shines, food was good and fresh, with generous portions, and breakfast offers fresh fruit salad and homemade marmalade, along with a good fry-up. There is a choice of good draught beers. The two disadvantages are road noise, most of the rooms appear to front on to the main road, and there are low doorframes ready to clout the heads of the tall and unwary.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greedymort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a beautifully restored old building full of character and original features. The staff were very welcoming and friendly on arrival and the service throughout our stay was excellent. Our bedroom was quite small but was clean, bright, comfortable, beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast the following morning was excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to dine or stay on the edge of the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwansolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the 'Shared Moment' suite.
The room was fantastic, spacious and very comfortable.
Breakfast was a joy with a good selection to choose from and the service was very efficient with very pleasant staff looking after us.
We had a meal in the restaurant on the first night which was good but felt that the menu could have had more variety and choice.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate in recommending the Halford to anyone who wishes to explore the surrounding areas especially Stratford and Warwick.
D & J -West Yorkshire

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We ate at The Halford today on our way back to the Midlands after a business meeting in Chipping Norton. We just saw the sign and pulled in which proved to be a great decision.

Great welcome, great service, great food and nice surroundings all very clean and well presented.

Not the cheapest place but really really good food so we don't mind paying that little bit more.
Food was plentiful, well presented, well cooked. Perfect.

We will be back as it is a great halfway house to meet up for lunch with some of our kids who live in London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwingSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

my headlights well one of them went together with one spot about three miles north of Halford last sunday evening about 9.20 . I seemed to remember a hotel/coaching inn in Halford and pulled up at 9.30.

i was greeted by a warm friendly smile supplied by Carrie (Kerry) and yes there was a room available. Hot food had stopped but would I like a sandwich, cheese and tomato i asked for and when it arrived it was a triple decker.

The room was lovely and warm, the ambience was lovely and Carrie (Kerry) was kind and made me feel at home.

The owner Melissa at breakfast was of the same mould too.

Thank you Carrie(Kerry) for being marvellous.

Martin Macpherson

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed for night on business. I prefer to stay in homely places rather than dull faceless hotels. A lovely welcome received by the Manager/Owner and promptly took me to my room in the courtyard. It was very spacious and nicely decorated but could do with reorganising. Please put the mirror above the dressing table.....so much easier for females to get ready rather than trying to lean over a sofa. The room had been converted as a disabled room and therefore the bathroom was huge but no heating other than a towel rail, cold even in March!

They happily provided room service, which was delivered promptly. I ordered the chicken and wild mushroom pie, they oddly used thigh meat? And to be honest rather tasteless.

I would stay here again as it had a lovely ambience, and loved the peaceful setting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halford
3.1 mi away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
85 reviews
3.1 mi away
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
#1 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
184 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Norman Knight
The Norman Knight
#3 of 11 in Shipston-on-Stour
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Manor House
The Old Manor House
#1 of 2 in Halford
78 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
The Old Kiln House Bed and Break...
#1 of 11 in Shipston-on-Stour
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halford Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halford Bridge Inn

Address: Fosse Way, Halford, Shipston-on-Stour CV36 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston-on-Stour > Halford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halford
Price Range: £58 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halford Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halford Bridge Inn is a 16th century coaching inn. Once known as 'The Bell', the name was change happened in the 1980's. It was renamed after the Roman Bridge 100 years down from the inn. Still to this day the original bridge still exists and so does the inn, offering bed & breakfast as well as a cosy pub classic meal to a unique dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Halford Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halford Bridge Hotel Halford
Halford Bridge Inn Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing